Top Ten Tuesday: Cry Worthy Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, I’ll talk about 10 books I found cry worthy. And by that i mean that while I was reading these books I either teared up, let a single tear fall or had an all-out sobfest. ALL of these books are truly wonderful and I hope you’ll give them a try!

The titles will lead you to their Goodreads page

tttpart1

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Cry-meter: A few tears escaping
This book guys… This book is a gift to humanity. It shows a different side to WWII but most importantly, it is narrated by Death. So many lives lost during those years, yet I felt so incredibly sad for this particular girl’s life events.

The Blood of Olympus (Heroes of Olympus #5) by Rick Riordan
Cry-meter: Nostalgic, blurred vision
The nostalgia got to me, okay?

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
Cry-meter: Cry-fest
Well, the synopsis already says it all: a love this devastating can’t have a happy ending.

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover
Cry-meter: A few tears escaping
Such a beautiful story. Slowly getting to know Miles’ story was captivating -it’s sort of like an accident happening. It’s terrible, but you just can’t look away.

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
Cry-meter: Inconsolable sobbing
I can’t even tell you how beautiful this story is. WHY HAVEN’T MORE PEOPLE READ THIS BOOK?

tttpart2

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Cry-meter:
Blurred vision

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Cry-meter: A few tears running down my cheeks
To anyone who hasn’t read this: where have you been, and what are you waiting for?

The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass #0.1-0.5) by Sarah J. Maas
Cry-meter: Broken heart, a few tears running down my cheeks
Out of all the Throne of Glass books, this one was my first real emotional shock. Yes, I also got punched in the heart during Heir of Fire, but the emotions were so strong in the Assassin’s Blade. I knew what would happen from the beginning, yet I stubbornly tried to believe it wouldn’t.

Harry Potter (entire series) by J.K. Rowling
Cry-meter: Nostalgic, blurred vision
I don’t need to explain this to you, right? I feel happy every time I return to Hogwarts, and sad at the same time because I would love the chance to rediscover the world entirely. Like read it again for the first time.

Winger (Winger #1) by Andrew Smith
Cry-meter: Blurred vision -and terribly shocked
That ending. All I’m saying.

What do you think of my choices? If you’ve made a TTT, feel free to leave the link with your comment!

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Cry Worthy Books

  1. Perfect choices! I’m weird in that I don’t tend to cry at books, I feel really sad but I don’t cry-I cry more at movies because you have the visuals. The Book Thief……so sad. I have to admit Blood of Olympus kind of peeved me off a lot, so despite the nostalgia, I was more angry than upset. Harry Potter…..the last two books hit me hard (not saying that the rest of them didn’t but the last two were especially tough). I still really need to read Assassin’s Blade.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/19/top-ten-tuesdays-5/

    Like

  2. Such a great list – I loved and read Winger, The Book Thief, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe and Secrets of Being a Wallflower. I will definitely be checking out your other titles!

    Like

  3. I’ve actually never cried while reading a book because I’m a heartless bastard but The Book Thief brought me VERY close. The only reason I didn’t burst into a flood of tears was because I was at my grandparents house and it was St. Stephen’s Day, so that would have put a bit of a dampener on the mood. The Deathly Hallows was also a difficult one.

    I havne’t read the others but I’ve been meaning to for a while. I’m pretty interested in The Perks Of Being A Wallflower and Aristotle And Dante Discover The Secrets Of The Universe because I’ve heard loads of amazing things about both of them, so hopefully they’ll turn out all right whenever I do read them.

    Like

    • Haha, I love your comment! I don’t cry often either, these books however, had a way of getting to me. I really hope you’ll enjoy them! Especially Ari and Dante -that book is a gem in my opinion.

      Like

  4. I really love your topic choice, even though I don’t really cry on books, like ever. I nearly cried on Forbidden because that book broke my heart into a thousand pieces. I knew that the story can’t end well but still.. it was way more sadder than I expected. I nearly cried on HP when certain people died, in book 5, 6 and 7. The seventh was obviously the saddest.
    Lovely list. 🙂
    Veronika @ My TTT

    Like

  5. I totally almost did this topic too! I feel like I always cry at a Colleen Hoover book. Aristotle and Dante definitely had me crying in a good way at the end. I will have to check out some of the other ones one here – Great list!

    Like

  6. I’m about to read the Song of Achilles, and I am now NERVOUS FOR THE TEARS. But also kinda even more excited about reading it. Recent tear books would be ‘The Game of Love & Death’ by Martha Brockenbrough, that ending, I cried so much. And ‘The Last Leaves Falling’ by Sarah Benwell. I started getting a bit sniffly from the half way point and there was no recovery from then on. Tears. So many tears.

    My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

