Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Love to See as Movies or TV Shows

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, we’re all talking about 10 books we would love to see as either movies or TV shows. When I think about this topic, I tend to associate contemporaries with movies, and fantasy series with TV shows. .TV shows need to have the option for several seasons worth of quality content, while a movie needs to be a good 2 hour long solid story, and end there.

The titles will take you to their Goodreads page.

TV Shows

ttt2-06p1

The Gentleman Bastard series by Scott Lynch // I think the Gentleman Bastards would make for an incredible TV crew. I already know that if this ever becomes a TV series, it will get a fanbase comparable to Supernatural’s!
The Others series by Anne Bishop // This is one of my all-time favorite book series, and if this ever gets turned into a movie or show, I think I will probably cry. From happiness, of course. I not only adore all the main characters, but the side characters as well, which is perfect for a show!
The Legend of Eli Monpress series by Rachel Aaron // Again, a fantasy series that isn’t talked about enough. I can imagine seeing all of Eli’s shenanigans on screen. I would pay GOOD money for this one as well.
Penryn & the End of Days trilogy // I recently finished this trilogy, as End of Days was just released and I love it. It’s one of the only angel series I have ever enjoyed. So combine this with Castiel-like angels? YES. Fierce warriors and an apocalypse. Why not?
The Riyria Revelations series by Michael J. Sullivan // Again, an amazing series. I would love to see Royce and Hadrian on screen. YES TO FANTASY SERIES. I may have gotten too into this topic, here. Forgive me for yelling at you in Caps Lock.

Movies

ttt2-06p2

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover // I was having difficulty choosing between Maybe Someday and Confess. But then I thought how incredible the music aspect would fit with a movie. And I knew I had to go for this one. I didn’t include Ugly Love, because that’s already being made into a movie (and the teaser is incredible!)
Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma // I would sob during the entire movie. I know it. But I still want it. MAKE IT HAPPEN.
The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller // This would make for an interesting retelling of the Troy movie as well. Yes, I know that’s already a retelling of the Iliad. But while I was reading this, I couldn’t help but picture the actors from the movie -as I have seen it so many times. This would make for an incredible movie.
The Paper Magician trilogy by Charlie N. Holmberg // I want to see these incredible forms of magic on the big screen! The paper magic sounds incredible, and a movie could truly make it come to life.
The Assassin’s Curse duology by Cassandra Rose Clarke // This is such an enjoyable middle grade fantasy, and I believe it could make an equally fun movie. I feel like this duology isn’t mentioned all that often? Which is a shame, as it’s really worth some more publicity.

What do you think of my choices? If you have made a list, let me know!

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Love to See as Movies or TV Shows

  1. Forbidden and The Song of Achilles would both be interesting! I think it would be fun to bring a classic story into theaters. Forbidden would be really sad too and it would be interesting to see reactions from people who haven’t read the book.

    Like

  2. I think we have two the same this week. The GBs and Angelfall. I would be so worried about the casting for the GBs though!
    The Song of Achilles is a great choice – I wish I’d thought of that one.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  3. I totally agree with you on The Paper Magician. I’d love to see the magic from the book on the screen because it was so inventive and I just loved it. Yes (a big YES) to The Legend of Eli Monpress and The Riyria Revelations series as TV shows. I love The Riyria Revelations but, because I totally agree with you on it being a better show than movie and I did strictly movies this week, it didn’t make my list. I would be thrilled though, if it ever got made into a TV show. And, while I’ve only read the first book from The Legend of Eli Monpress (I know, I need to read the rest) I’m really enjoying the series and it would be fun to see it as a show too.

    My TTT

    Like

  4. Oooo love your picks! The Gentlemen would make an insanely good tv series, I would sell pieces of my soul for that one! I hadn’t thought of The Paper Magician as a movie, but you’re right that would be amazing!
    My TTT

    Like

  5. ZOMG, WE JUST EPIC HI FIVE HERE BECAUSE I SAID THE EXACT SAME THING ABOUT ANGELFALL!! Complete with it needs to be directed by the Supernatural people because YES to Castiel-like-Raffes. xD I want it so badly I could scream. SOMEONE MAKE THIS HAPPEN.

    Like

Leave a Reply

