June Wrap Up

The end of June equals the end of my exams. YES! Now I am fearfully awaiting the results. But that’s not what this post is about. The end of June also equals a June Wrap Up post, to show you what I read during the month. I am surprised by the amount of books I read during June! Considering I had exams until the 23rd, I’m honestly proud of myself. Let’s get into it!

Read in June

june15wrapup1

Saga Vol. 4 by Brian K. Vaughan (4/5 – ★★★★) // Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop (5/5 – ★★★★★ ) // Family of Lies: Sebastian by Sam Argent (2/5 – ★★ ) // Making Faces by Amy Harmon (4/5 – ★★★★ ) // Match Me If You Can (Chicago Stars #6) by Susan Elizabeth Phillips (4/5 – ★★★★ ) //

june15wrapup2

Slightly Irregular (Finley Anderson Tanner #4) by Rhonda Pollero (3.5/5 – ★★★ ½ ) // Bargain Hunting (Finley Anderson Tanner #5) by Rhonda Pollero (4/5 – ★★★★ ) // Succubus Blues (Georgina Kincaid #1) by Richelle Mead (5/5 – ★★★★★ ) // Succubus On Top (Georgina Kincaid #2) by Richelle Mead (4/5 – ★★★★ ) // Succubus Dreams (Georgina Kincaid #3) by Richelle Mead (4/5 – ★★★★ ) //

june15wrapup3

Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid #4) by Richelle Mead (4/5 – ★★★★ ) // Succubus Shadows (Georgina Kincaid #5) by Richelle Mead (4/5 – ★★★★ ) // Succubus Revealed (Georgina Kincaid #6) by Richelle Mead (3.5/5 – ★★★½ ) // The Upside of Stress by Kelly McGonigal (5/5 – ★★★★★ ) // Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3) by J.K. Rowling (5/5★★★★★ ) //

june15wrapup4

The Master Magician (The Paper Magician #3) by Charlie N. Holmberg (4/5 – ★★★★ ) // Jesse’s Girl (Hundred Oaks #6) by Miranda Kenneally (5/5 – ★★★★★ ) // Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4) by J.K. Rowling (5/5 – ★★★★★ ) // Blood of My Blood (Jasper Dent #3) by Barry Lyga (4.5/5 – ★★★★½) //

Reviews written this month

1. Last Year’s Mistake by Gina Ciocca – 3/5 stars – here
2. From Italy With Love by Jules Wake – 4.5/5 stars – here
3. The Upside of Stress by Kelly McGonigal – 5/5 stars – here

Some statistics

Books read this month: 19

Books read in 2015: 74/90 –my Goodreads goal is set at 90

DNFs of 2015: 2

Media used:
– E-reader: 2
– Kindle app: 2
– Scribd: 12
– Audio: 2, 1 of which through Scribd
– Physical copies: 1

Best book of the month: Aside from my rereads –the Harry Potter books, Written in Red and Match Me if You Can- I think I loved The Upside of Stress and Jesse’s Girl the most.

Surprise of the month: The Upside of Stress! I was expecting it to be interesting, but I wasn’t expecting to learn as much as I did. And certainly not from the scientific point of view. But I did! And I heard some awesomely inspiring stories through it as well.

Worst book of the month: Well, this one goes to Family of Lies: Sebastian. I was really looking forward to this one! I wanted to try out a “new version” of fantasy, well, new to me. This is a fantasy book with an M-M romance. And it has really good ratings on Goodreads! Unfortunately, I was disappointed. I will write a full review on this, but in short: the fantasy was lacking, and it is not a romance novel but more erotica. Which I usually don’t have a problem with, I just didn’t understand the “love” here.

Accomplishment of the month: The amount of series I have finished! I finished the Finley Anderson Tanner series, the Paper Magician trilogy, the Jasper Dent trilogy AND started and finished the Georgina Kincaid series. WHUT? I’m so proud of myself.

What have you read this month? Also: tell me all about your preferred medium! For me, it depends on the month. Sometimes I read only physical copies, sometimes -like now- it’s all electronic. I’m curious!

12 thoughts on “June Wrap Up

  1. Congrats on getting so much read.
    I just got my copy of The Master Magician in the mail! (I’d pre-ordered it and another book that didn’t release until last week, back in May.) Very excited to finish the series and happy to see your 4 star rating on it. (I’m often nervous about the last book in a series.) So glad I gave Family of Lies: Sebastian a pass. Can’t even remember why I did, but I’d heard something about it that made me go ‘not my kind of book’.
    I prefer physical books.I’ve got a kindle for those books (usually self-published) that I can’t get any other way, or that are a lot cheaper as e-books. For me though, physical books are just easier. (And I LOVE putting them on my shelves.)

    Like

    • Thank you! I do hope you enjoy The Master Magician. I thought Ceony made some pretty ridiculous and reckless decisions, but if you can get over that, it was very enjoyable.

      Yeah, I wouldn’t suggest Family of Lies: Sebastian either… I’m going to write a review about it but… I don’t know. Wouldn’t recommend it really.

      I do love physical books! But there is just something so convenient about ebooks when you have to spend a lot of time on trains or traveling or something. 😀

      Like

  2. Hm, I usually jump between the two – I get my review copies and most of romances as ebooks, but I have a huge backlog of physical books to read – I’ve accumulated so many I really need to get through them soon because I’m a bit embarrassed.
    I’ve been thinking about giving the Succubus series a try for a while now… Looks like it’s good 🙂
    I’m currently re-listening to the HP books, too! Have you seen this: http://www.lunar-rainbows.com/2015/07/harry-potter-month-1.html ?

    Like

    • Oh, I hadn’t seen that! Thank you for showing me! Don’t be embarrassed, I have too many unread physical copies too. I think it’s a consequence of being a book lover -and blogger of course. I really like the Succubus series. I was surprised how different it was from her YA series, even though I knew it was adult already. Are you listening to the Stephen Fry version? Or Jim Dale? (or others possibly?) 😀

      Like

  3. Wow! How do you do this?! How do you manage to read so many books? Are you a magician? Agh! Teach me your wayssssss

    these are amazing! HARRY POTTER♥

    I don’t know any of these, but Saga!! I need to read these graphic novels. I’ve been seeing them everywhere lately! I know everybody loves them 🙂

    – Jumana @ Books by Jay

    Like

    • Haha, thanks! Here’s my secret: I have several minions reading for me!

      I kind of wish that was true. I read a lot of e-books though, and I’ve noticed that I read those faster than I do physical copies! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

