A June Book Haul | I Went to the Bookfest

Hi everyone! So in last week’s Friday Reads post, I said I would be going to the bookfest -called boekenfestijn in Dutch- on Sunday. I also mentioned I’d be posting a haul if I bought some books. AND I DID. The point of the boekenfestijn is that all the books are incredibly cheap. I’m talking €0.5-€6 max. It travels around Belgium and the Netherlands and comes to the big cities around the same time every year.  Some might not be in the best condition, but most are! So here’s what I bought this time around.

IMG_20150630_171552

Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #2) by Laini Taylor // So, I don’t own the first book in physical copy, but I saw this one for like €3 and I couldn’t pass it up!

Gravity by Tess Gerritsen // I love this author! She writes an incredible series called Rizzoli & Isles which was adapted into a TV series -which I also love. But this is a standalone about NASA and a virus on a spaceship, I think.

Rome: The Emperor’s Spy (Rome #1) by M.C. Scott // I had literally never heard of this before but I love Ancient Rome and this sounded like a great read.

Rome:The Coming of the King (Rome #2) by M.C. Scott // Yes, I bought the sequel in a series I had never heard of before. But it sounded good, and they were each €3.50 so I couldn’t really pass it up, couldn’t I?

IMG_20150630_171640

Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2) by Cassandra Clare // YES. I own the first book in this trilogy already, but someone spoiled me on PART of the ending. So I didn’t feel like paying a lot to buy the next two books if I already know part of how it ends. And then I found these. They were each like €4 and are in perfect condition! Plus, they match my first book. IT IS HEAVEN.

Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3) by Cassandra Clare // See overjoyed story above.

IMG_20150630_171956

In the Hall of the Dragon King (Dragon King #1) by Stephen R. Lawhead // Also never heard of this series before, but I’ve heard quite a bit about the author in the fantasy genre. So I’m curious.

Emperor: The Gates of Rome (Emperor #1) by Conn Iggulden // Another Ancient Rome historical fiction. I have read something by this author before, years ago, and really enjoyed it. So I’m hoping for a good historical fiction read here!

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini // I couldn’t believe it when I saw this one! It’s in great condition and was less than €3. WHAT? I haven’t read it though.

Wars of the Roses: Trinity (Wars of the Roses #2) by Conn Iggulden // I scored the first book in this series at a similar bargain price in January so when I saw the sequel for €4 I couldn’t resist taking it with me. Again, I haven’t even read the first book. But if I love it, I immediately have the second book! (ridiculous reasoning, but oh well)

So I bought all of these books for around €40. WHAT? I’m so pleased! I love going to the boekenfestijn. Have you read any of these books? Tell me all about it!

10 thoughts on “A June Book Haul | I Went to the Bookfest

  1. Funny thing. I went to Boekenfestijn on sunday too. And somehow I overlooked a lot of these books you bought. I suppose there are just too many. Although I found enough as it was. (a) Nothing is more heavenly than buying good books for less than €3!

    Like

  2. The Infernal Devices is really good, even if you weren’t a huge fan of TMI! The second book was my favorite, but the third has been known to make some people cry. I hope you enjoy them!

    Like

    • Thank you! That’s good to hear, because I really didn’t get along with TMI… But I did enjoy Clockwork Angel. I just never continued because someone spoiled a part of the ending for me.

      Like

  3. Days of Blood and Starlight for 3 euros? *checks Boekenfestijn’s agenda* Damn… I’ll have to wait until November again before it comes close to me 😛

    Like

  4. I haven’t read any of the books listed here, but I’m currently reading The Mortal Instruments and am anxious to start The Infernal Devices soon after! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

