Personal Post & Discussion | Anxiety about the future

Hi everyone! Today, I’m writing a personal post, which I think can also be looked at as a discussion. Why, you ask? I’m pretty sure that absolutely everyone has experienced anxiety about their future before. I firmly believe that discussing anxiety or something that stresses you out with others who have experienced the same can help you deal. So here I am, talking to you about the fears that have bubbled up in the past few months. 

So, last week I got some exciting news: I graduated and received my bachelor’s degree in Business Administration. YAY! I can’t believe it’s been 3 years already. Now, in Belgium it is usual to do a follow-up master’s degree immediately after finishing your bachelor. And I am doing that. However, I realized that the master for my degree only takes one year. So this time next year, I would have to start looking for a job. HOW TERRIFYING IS THAT?

Now, here are some reasons as to why I am so afraid of that next chapter in my life:

1. I don’t even know what kind of work I would like to do. With my degree, I can go in so many directions! I could work in a bank, which I don’t want to, work in any marketing, human resources or management departments and so on. There are so many options! How am I supposed to know which one is for me? I am going to do an internship this summer in London -which is SO exciting- and I’ll be working in the publicity department of a publisher. I’m so excited for it, and maybe it will help me decide on a course.

2. Then there is the big question: WHERE do I want to work? I don’t know. As some of you may know, I am born and raised in Belgium and still live there. However, I want to work in a country where English is the native language. I am quite sure I want to work in publishing, and English just feels more natural to me. I know that’s weird as Dutch is my native language. But there is just something about the English language that makes it easy to express yourself. I’m going to be honest: I would love to live and work in the US. If that’s not possible, I’ll happily take the UK though.

It’s the big question of where that gives me most of my anxiety. Because how do I even start looking for a job in the US? Should I move there first and then look? Or secure a job first and then move? And how does that work? Another thought that haunts me is why any American employer would hire me, while there are so many equally qualified people already in the US? I mean, English isn’t even my native language. ALL OF THESE QUESTIONS HAUNT ME. I’m on to my hopefully last year of studying and I haven’t figured out an answer to any of these questions. It scares the hell out of me every single day. 

I feel like there is so much pressure on young people. We have to decide in high school already where we want to take our lives. In Belgium, you have to choose between a certain set of set programs. For example, I took Latin for 1 year, then Greek-Latin for 1, than Latin-Science for 2 and finally Modern Languages-Science for the last 2. We kind of count 6 years as high school, from 12-18. When you have chosen a program, your courses are set. There is no choosing. However, now I have studied a bachelor’s degree in economics at my university. How was I supposed to know what I wanted at 12 or even 16. That’s a big decision!

So here are my questions for you. Have you ever experienced anything like this? I’d love to talk about it –but don’t feel like you HAVE to share, if you don’t want to. Do you have anxiety about your future? Or do you have any tips for me? Let’s talk about this, peeps!
10 thoughts on “Personal Post & Discussion | Anxiety about the future

  1. I’m graduating high school this year and soon I’ll be off in a university pursuing my passion which is making music. I try to avoid the question that everybody doesn’t ask when I tell them my dreams: how will I make a living with this? To which I inwardly say – this is what I want to do. This is what I love. And my only advice to you is if you love what you’re doing and you believe this career is for you, then you shouldn’t worry! Opportunities will present themselves in the future if you try hard at looking for them. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your advice! First, let me say congrats on graduating high school this year! And I wish you all the best of luck in the music industry!

      You’re right though. I shouldn’t give up on something I love because the road there might not be easy!

      Like

  2. First of all, congrats on graduation! I really feel this way a lot. It’s exciting to be moving onto a new chapter, but it’s also really scary because you don’t know what the next one contains. I think working in the US would be a really good opportunity and if you are more qualified than some of the other candidates, I’m sure you would be able to find a job! Good luck with everything in your future! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much!

      You’re right, it’s exciting but scary at the same time. And the US can lead to so many opportunities! I don’t want to miss out on those jsut because I am scared.

      Like

  3. As a person with anxiety who sometimes overcomes it, I can feel your struggle. First, I’d like to congratulate you on graduating! Seriously, this post hits right at home. I’m currently taking my bachelor’s degree in Literature and boy it is hard. Staying in this course is definitely a struggle. From a person with anxiety, these are the tips I’d like to give you. Always follow your passion, but keep in mind that the choices you should make would be beneficial to you. Trust your gut and never fear rejection and failure. It is better to try and fail than fail to try. I know its hard to remove the uncertainty regarding your future, but remember that it is you who controls it. Best regards to you!

    Like

    • Thank you so much! Good luck with your bachelor in Literature, that sounds so interesting! It may be a struggle -it was for me at times as well- but it felt so rewarding and it’s definitely worth it.

      Thank you so much for your tips! They are truly inspiring. You’re right though: it’s better to try and fail than fail to try. I’ll definitely keep that in mind!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You are definitely not alone in how you’re feeling. First of all, congratulations on graduating! I finished my Masters in Publishing and then graduated in January and still don’t have a job. My first choice of departments to work in, has always been editorial, but then because of my lack of confidence, I started to talk myself out of it and find it difficult to apply for jobs. I’m my own worst enemy. I’ve also always wanted my own business as well, so I’m focusing on that at the moment.

    Yay, you’re coming to London. Which publishers are you going to work at? Ever been to London before? I think maybe the internship will help you decide what you want to do.

    Like

    • Thank you! Oh no 😦 It’s true that you first have to believe in yourself before anyone else can truly believe in you. You shouldn’t talk yourself out of it! An own business? That’s so exciting!

      I’m getting a two-week internship at Pan Macmillan! I’m SO excited. I have been to London twice, but have never worked there. And I’ve only done the touristy things so if you have any suggestions, feel free to let me know!

      Like

  5. I think it’s definitely worth pursuing your master’s degree and then start looking for a job in the States. I agree it would be harder to get in, as they’d have to pay for a work Visa to get you into the country, but it’s worth a shot! I completely understand about English being more natural — I feel the same way, and would also like to move to an Anglophone country.

    Like

    • YES! It would be incredible -and also an awesome coincidence- if we would move to the same country/places. Dutch-speaking people for the win. Thanks! I am definitely getting my master’s, it’s only one more year after all. I’ll give it a shot, I just don’t know how to start applying for jobs in the US!

      Like

Leave a Reply

