TV Recommendations: Ongoing TV Shows I have loved for years

This is a bit of a different post for my blog, as for once it is not book related. I am not only an avid reader, I also adore watching TV shows. Some might call it an addiction, but we will just disregard those people. Well hey, it could’ve been worse, right? So today, I’ll show you some of my absolute FAVORITE ongoing TV shows I have been watching for years. I won’t be including cancelled or finished shows, or shows I have recently discovered but if you all would want to see that, I’d be happy to write a post about it too.

P.S. While I am completely caught up on most of these, I won’t be on all of them. So don’t include spoilers in the comments! Even if you don’t spoil me, it may happen to some poor soul who read your comment.

Criminal_Minds_S10#1: Criminal Minds

IMDb description: The cases of the BAU, an elite group of profilers who analyze the nation’s most dangerous criminal minds in an effort to anticipate their next moves before they strike again.

Okay, anyone who hasn’t watched this show needs to go and do so right now. It’s about this team of profilers who solve serial killer cases and catch them. IT’S FANTASTIC. I also love the cast. The characters are amazing, and the longer you watch this show, the more you’ll get attached to them. If I’d had to pick a favorite character –or two– I’d go for Garcia, who is the most awesome hacker and she looks amazing, or Reid, who is SO adorable.

For those of you who love to binge-watch shows: it has 10 seasons already! ALL OF THE BINGING.

supernatural

#2: Supernatural

IMDb description: Two brothers follow their father’s footsteps as “hunters” fighting evil supernatural beings of many kinds including monsters, demons, and gods that roam the earth.

I don’t even know where to start with this one. First of all, I’m half a season behind guys! So no spoilers. This show is incredible. And it gets better and better every season. I am so attached to these characters -well, to Dean and Castiel most of all. It’s about these brothers hunting all of these supernatural creatures, while fighting one disastrous apocalypse scenario after another. IT IS EPIC.

Again, a show that will appeal to all my fellow binge-watchers out there, as it also has 10 seasons out.

P.S. I just started re-watching from episode 1, as I have been stuck in bed for a while with my wisdom teeth surgery. One of the removal spots got infected, so the healing has been a bit slower than usual.

teen wolf poster

#3: Teen Wolf

IMDb description: A somewhat awkward teen is attacked by a werewolf and inherits the curse himself, as well as the enemies that come with it.

I know the title may sound silly. But this is so worth watching! I fell in love after the first few episodes -especially with Stiles- but when I look back now, the progress of this show, the actors and the characters is amazing. Each season is better than the one before. Each season is so much darker than the one before. Even if you don’t love the first season, it’s worth to keep watching. You think it wouldn’t be able to get any darker after a few seasons. But then the new season starts, and boy, were you wrong.

game of thrones poster

#4: Game of Thrones

IMDb description: Several noble families fight for control of the mythical land of Westeros.

As you may know, I am a huge fantasy fan. And yes, I have already read the 5 books released in this series. But the show! Guys, it’s SO GOOD. It’s probably one of the best adaptations I have seen –especially the first two seasons. It may even be worth it to watch and episode or 3 before you start reading, as it will help you keep track of the characters -there are quite a lot, and being able to put a face to the name helps. I haven’t seen the last season though. I have no clue why, I guess I am saving it for a rainy day.

Do not watch this if you don’t like graphic scenes. Violence, sex, it’s all in here. It’s HBO, so what did you expect, right?

once upon a time tv

#5: Once Upon a Time

IMDb description: A woman with a troubled past is drawn to a town in Maine where fairy tales are to be believed.

Again, I haven’t watched all episodes from the latest season. If you love fairy tale retellings, you should be watching this. They get twisted and turned, and it’s so much fun! My favorite retold character –I think I may have made that term up– is Peter Pan. I LOVE HIM. They keep introducing new characters, and thus new fairytales. Again, great cast. Peter Pan and Hook are my absolute favorites.

bones tv

#6: Bones

IMDb description: A forensic anthropologist and a cocky FBI agent build a team to investigate death causes. And quite often, there isn’t more to examine than rotten flesh or mere bones.

Well, I’m about 2 seasons behind on this one. Yet I regularly rewatch the seasons I have seen. So maybe I should get on and catch up! Anyway, this is one of the first TV shows I ever fell in love with. I love Bones and Booth. And the squints! Great show.

Again, there are like 10 seasons out already, so great for a binge-watch.

arrow tv

#7: Arrow

IMDb description: Spoiled billionaire playboy Oliver Queen is missing and presumed dead when his yacht is lost at sea. He returns five years later a changed man, determined to clean up the city as a hooded vigilante armed with a bow.

Again, half a season behind. UGH. I love these shows, but the year at university has been so hectic I haven’t been able to catch up with all my shows. I love this adaptation of Green Arrow! Most of all, I love Felicity Smoake.

If that’s not reason enough for you to watch, here’s the greatest one. Stephen Amell plays the Arrow, and he is pretty much an amazing human being. He often connects with his fans through Facebook, and regularly holds campaigns to raise money for charity. His last one was the Sinceriously campaign. Honestly, look him up. AND he has the cutest daughter.


There are several other shows I have been watching for a long time and do love, but I can’t mention them all of course! I will make a recommendation post on TV shows based on genres or even books soon.

Tomorrow, I’ll be showing you my favorite ongoing shows I have discovered recently! There are too many, guys. Tell me, have you seen any of these shows? Do you love them? GUSH IN THE COMMENTS. Or if you don’t like them, let’s talk about it!

10 thoughts on “TV Recommendations: Ongoing TV Shows I have loved for years

  1. OMG I LOVE TV SHOWS!!! I don’t watch them an awful lot because hehe, I’d rather be reading. xD But they’re so nice just for flopping back and devouring a few (thousand) episodes. Omg, I avoided Teen Wolf because it looked and sounded so dumb, BUT AJFDSLK IF ITHAT ISN’T ONE OF THE BEST SHOWS OUT THERE. I’m going to wait until S5 is all out before I start it though. >_> It look ssoooo scary and awesome.
    And Supernatural is like my FIRST TV show fandom and my heart is totally all wrapped up in it. :’) Those boys. THOSE WINCHESTER BOYS.
    I love Game of Thrones too, but I prefer the books. xD
    I’d love to try Arrow and Criminal Minds someday!!

    Like

    • I know! I think it’s the title alone that sounds dumb: “Teen Wolf”. BUT IT IS SO FREAKING GREAT. And oh, season 5. Well. No words so far. How does it get creepier and darker every season?
      I think Supernatural may have been my first true fandom as well. Love the #SPNFamily. And Dean. I shall always love Dean.

      You definitely should try them! Like Teen Wolf, Criminal Minds gets better every season. Although maybe not quite as darker every year.

      Like

  2. I so agree with yoy saying GOT is by far the best TV adaptation. I mean, it’s so accurate and you can really feel the brutality and all. I’m excited for the next season. If you’re into fantasy, post-apocalyptic stuff, I also recommed The Walking Dead. It’s a good one 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh my gosh, Jolien, we must fangirl together! I love, love, love Arrow (not an exaggeration). Felicity is my girl and Stephen Amell should not be so attractive. I love Once Upon a Time too, how could you not love Killian Jones? And Teen Wolf is my new obsession, I spent the last six month binge watching the series and finally caught up. Stiles Stilinksi is an adorable little cupcake and I just love him so much. Okay, I’m done, that was a lot of gushing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

