My Favorite Ongoing TV Shows: “Recent” Additions

Yesterday, I wrote about some of my favorite TV shows that I’ve been following for years. So today, I’ll show you some more of my favorite ongoing shows, but ones I have discovered recently. By that, I mean in the past year or year and a half -or two. You know what I mean! Most of these shows don’t have that many seasons yet. The same rules apply a yesterday: don’t put any spoilers in the comments. It may ruin my -or someone else’s- experience of the show. And I’m not including finished or cancelled shows here either! Let’s get started.

The 100

#1: The 100

IMDb description: Set 97 years after a nuclear war has destroyed civilization, when a spaceship housing humanity’s lone survivors sends 100 juvenile delinquents back to Earth in hopes of possibly re-populating the planet.

I’m going to be honest, I wasn’t expecting to love this. I’m not really a scifi lover… BUT THIS SHOW GUYS. It’s so good! In my opinion, it’s also much better than the book -of which I have read only the first one. I can’t believe this isn’t coming back until 2016! WHY? So even if you don’t love scifi, give it a try! This show has quickly become an obsession for me, I can’t wait for the next season.

P.S. Bellarke is alone reason enough to watch this.

the flash

#2: The Flash

IMDb description: Barry Allen wakes up 9 months after he was struck by lightning and discovers that the bolt gave him the power of super speed. With his new team and powers, Barry becomes “The Flash” and fights crime in Central City.

This show has stolen my heart. From the first episode, released last fall, I was hooked! First of all, I loved Grant Gustin from Glee already so when I read he was playing the Flash, I knew I would love it. I love that it has cross-overs with Arrow and the cast of characters is incredible too. Really, give this one a try. Grant Gustin/Barry Allen will steal your heart too.

how to get away with murder

#3: How to Get Away With Murder

IMDb description: A group of ambitious law students and their brilliant criminal defense professor become involved in a twisted murder plot that promises to change the course of their lives.

I have only one word to describe this show: INSANE. It messes with your mind. Basically, someone was murdered. Okay, multiple people were murdered. WHO DID IT? WILL YOU EVER KNOW? You just think you know! So much intrigue, so many lies and backstabbing. I can’t even. Definite recommend. 

scorpion

#4: Scorpion

IMDb description: An eccentric genius forms an international network of super-geniuses to act as the last line of defense against the complicated threats of the modern world.

As you may have gathered already, I quite love crime shows. But this one comes from an entirely different perspective. It centers around Walter and his team called Scorpion. They are all geniuses -aside from Paige- but all in a different way. Like Happy, a woman who is a genius with mechanics. Or Toby, a genius/psychologist with a gambling problem. But they have so little social skills, which is where Paige comes in. I have religiously followed this show, episode after episode since it came out. I enjoy it so much!

reign#5: Reign

IMDb description: Mary, Queen of Scots, faces political and sexual intrigue in the treacherous world of the French court.

Okay, I haven’t seen the last like, 4 episodes. But I love this show. AND the costumes. Mary’s dresses are always so gorgeous. Anyway, it’s historical fiction. Which means that no, it’s not entirely historically correct, as so many critics point out. Who cares? I’m not watching a documentary, am I? Filled with drama, intrigue, politics, powerful ladies and power-hungry others. Every season, I have a character I root for. I am not a Francis-girl. Another set of characters I love are Mary’s ladies-in-waiting. Especially Greer.

outlander

#6: Outlander

IMDb description: Follows the story of Claire Randall, a married combat nurse from 1945 who is mysteriously swept back in time to 1743, where she is immediately thrown into an unknown world where her life is threatened

So this is the adaptation of Diana Gabaldon’s famous Outlander novels. Also a very good adaptation in my opinion! I am a few episodes behind, but I love this historical fiction show. I would say to not watch –or read– this is you’re not comfortable with sex scenes. It is very much an adult romance story. But really well done! Plus, how incredibly handsome is Sam Heughan? I am even considering to not read the following books anytime soon and just watch the show evolve. The books are intimidating, okay! Even after I read the first one.

agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

#7: (Marvel’s) Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

IMDb description: The missions of the Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division.

I’m only a few episodes into season 2 here, but I got hooked. I think I started it in May or June and watched the whole first season in a matter of days. The characters are so incredible! Full of surprises. I laughed while watching this, I sat on the tip of my chair in anticipation and became sad at times as well. Really worth the watch!

the originals tv

#8: The Originals

IMDb description: A family of power-hungry thousand year old vampires look to take back the city that they built and dominate all those who have done them wrong.

I HAVEN’T WATCHED SEASON 2. I’m a terrible fan, I know. Sorry. But the first season blew me away. I have liked The Vampire Diaries over the past years, but recently lost some of my love and interest in it -I haven’t season the latest season either- and so I didn’t have much hope for The Originals. But it is so incredible! I don’t think you need to watch TVD first to watch this, although you can do that. I love this Original family, AND it’s set in New Orleans, a place I have always wanted to visit.

bitten tv

#9: Bitten

IMDb description: When she left Stonehaven – ‘for good this time’ – Elena Michaels thought she had left the world of supernatural behind. Until the night she got a mysterious call from her pack leader asking her to come back. So now she is heading back, away from her normal life as a photographer in Toronto and back into the world of werewolves, full of rules about protect the pack and a man she had spent years trying to forget. As if things were not bad enough, Elena also happens to be the only living female werewolf.

Again, I’m about almost a season behind. Guys, I don’t have enough time to catch up! I do love this show and its cast. I’ve always been fascinated with werewolves –see my love for Teen Wolf– and this is an incredible show about them. It’s based on a series of books of which the first one is called Bitten, but I honestly like the TV show a tad better. Does that make me a bad book blogger? My favorite character? Probably Nick.

baby daddy

#10: Baby Daddy

IMDb description: A 20-something bachelor bartender becomes an unlikely parent when an ex-girlfriend leaves a baby girl on his doorstep.

If you want to laugh out loud and just watch without having to think about anything, this show is for you. Every time I watch an episode of this, I find myself laughing and smiling. It’s hilarious. So Ben finds out he is a father when his ex-“girlfriend” leaves their newborn at his door. Suffice it to say, that Ben isn’t the most grownup person ever. But he cares for Emma, his baby, and it’s just fun to watch all of their drama and craziness unfold. Favorite character? Probably Bonnie. She’s insane.

So those are some of my favorite ongoing TV shows, that I have discovered in the past year -or two. LET’S TALK IN THE COMMENTS. Do you watch any of these? Tell me what you have recently discovered, and fallen in love with!

9 thoughts on “My Favorite Ongoing TV Shows: “Recent” Additions

  1. I have an odd relationship with The 100. It annoys me at times, but it’s kind of addicting. I’m like season behind on The Originals. Apparently both shows aren’t doing well in the rating for CW, so I wonder how long they’ll last. I love Outlander, and agree, they did a good job adapting. I heard they’re going to veer quite a bit from the second book next season. And I plan to start watching Bitten once I’m caught up with Supernatural. Have you tried Humans? It’s only 5 episodes in, but I’m really liking it.

    Like

  2. I agree with so many of these! Agents of SHIELD has become my summer obsession – I’m a couple episodes into season 2 (like you) and I have so much fun with that show. I love all the little Marvel references. The 100 and Reign are both on my list of shows to watch on Netflix and I’ll probably start one or the other after I finish AoS.

    Like

    • I’m having so much fun watching it too! It’s really a great show 😀 I hope you’ll enjoy Reign and The 100! I was unsure after the first episode of the 100, but a few episodes in I was hooked.

      Like

  3. I have an unhealthy love for one Bellamy Blake. Talk about character development, I used to hate the guy! And Octavia is so amazing! Of course, being a fan of Arrow, I’ve also taken to watching The Flash. Barry Allen is a part-time puppy dog and every time someone hurts him, it kills me.

    Like

  4. OMG The 100 is amazing! I read the first book only too, but the tv show absolutly trumps it lol. For a while I was thinking it was coming on in Spetempter and I was so excited, but then I saw it wasn’t on the schedule. One thing led to another and I found out it’s coming on after CHRISTMAS. It sorta crushed me lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

