The Coffee Book Tag

I was tagged for this one by the lovely Kayla @ The Bookish Owl. If you are not following her blog –which I am sure you are– go over and do so right now! I love her blog. 

P.S. The covers will lead you to the Goodreads page.

Coffee Tag Black

“Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans”

the knife of never letting go

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) by Patrick Ness

This series has an incredible amount of fans. So does the author in general. But I just couldn’t get into it. It was all too chaotic for me –see what I did there?

Coffee Tag Peppermint Mocha

“A book that gets more popular during the festive season”

book of dares

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

I’m planning on reading this one during the holidays or winter myself. I don’t know what it is about this book that makes me think about the festive season. The snow on the cover? But I always see this on holiday TBRs during Christmas and so on.

Coffee Tag hot chocolate

“Your favorite children’s book”

harry potter 7

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (HP #7) by J.K. Rowling

The Harry Potter series is one of the first real books/series I ever read. And while I wasn’t truly a “child” anymore by the time the 7th book was released –I think I was around 13-, it’s my favorite of the series.

Coffee Tag Double Shot

“A book that kept you on the edge of your seat”

the lies of locke lamora

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards #1) by Scott Lynch

I absolutely love this series. There is so much plotting and scheming and HOW IS THE CON GOING TO GO. WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN. I got hit hard in the heart by this one guys.

Coffee Tag Starbucks

“A book you see everywhere”

all the bright places

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

I have been seeing this book everywhere. It’s on the blogs, it’s on the booktube videos, it’s on instagram. IT’S EVERYWHERE. And I haven’t read it yet.

Coffee Tag Hipster

“Shout out to an indie author/book!”

paladin

Paladin (Paladin #1) by Sally Slater

I chose this one even though I’m not 100% sure it counts. I believe this story was on Wattpad for a while but now it is getting republished by Perfect Analogy Publishing. So I guess she used to be an indie author? Anyway, I am counting it here. I absolutely loved this book -I read it in a matter of hours- and I am so grateful to the author for contacting me and asking me whether I wanted to review her book. So glad I got this opportunity!

Coffee Tag Decaf

“A book you expected more from”

maze runner

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner #1) by James Dashner

Yes, I am well aware that that is the movie poster. But you get what I’m saying here. This was really the first booktube-hyped-book that disappointed me. I had only just started watching videos and reading book blogs and this one was everywhere. And while I did like it, I ultimately was left somewhat disappointed. I just expected… more.

Coffee Tag Perfect Blend

“A series that was bittersweet but ultimately satisfying”

the lost hero

The Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan

I absolutely love this series. I love anything Percy Jackson related. So the reason this was bittersweet for me is that I loved reading these, picked them up immediately when they were released but ultimately had to face the fact that this is the end of Percy’s story. A story I have been reading for so many years now.

Coffee Tag Green Tea

“A book that is quietly beautiful”

the song of achilles

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

GUYS. I have raved about this book since the beginning of the year -when I read it. I include it in all of my favorites lists. Why? Because this is one of the most beautiful books I have ever read, but it isn’t much talked about.

Coffee Tag Chai Tea

“A book/series that makes you dream of faraway places”

the summer of chasing mermaids

The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

The main character in this book was born and raised in Tobago. And during the book, she describes Trinidad & Tobago so wonderfully. The food, the culture, the feasts, the panorama and so on. It all made such a beautiful picture and now I want to visit.

Coffee Tag Earl Grey

“Your favorite classic”

fellowship of the ring

The Fellowship of the Ring (Lord of the Rings #1) by J.R.R. Tolkien

I haven’t read many classics. Being born and raised in Belgium means that you don’t have to read the English/American classics growing up. That also means I am terribly behind. But this story. Guys, I carry Middle Earth in my heart. It’s one of my favorite stories of all time -no matter the medium. It makes me sad to know there will never be a new story set in this wonderful world.


So those are all my picks for this Coffee Book Tag! I really enjoyed doing this so thank you so much for tagging me Kayla! I am tagging every single person that is reading this post. Feel free to do this tag, I AM TAGGING YOU. It’s so much fun, trust me. 

8 thoughts on “The Coffee Book Tag

  1. All the Bright Places!!! I caved into the hype and bought it. (currently awaiting its delivery). I’m sure it’s going to be a good one, or I hope it is 🙂

    The Maze Runner was a disappointment, I agree. I won’t be completing the series any time soon..

    Great post!♥

    Jumana @ Books by Jay

    Like

  2. Heh, I actually thought Knife of Never Letting Go was very easy to get into! Well for me anyway, I think I was just too amused by Manchee (was that the dog’s name?? GOSH I need to reread this series ASAP) And yes, excellent choice of The Lost Hero! It felt bittersweet to me as well.

    Lovely post, girl <33

    Like

  3. Maze Runner is really a disappointment. I didn’t know how I got to the third book! Haha. Btw, that’s a wonderful HP7 cover. Haven’t seen it before 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

