Top Ten Tuesday: Celebrating Diversity

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, I’ll be showing you my favorite books that are diverse. I haven’t truly done a Top Ten Tuesday in a while, but I really loved this topic, so here it goes!

TTT diversity 1

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller // This book has been in every single favorites list I have made this year. I can’t spread word about this enough. It’s a retelling of the Achilles/Troy story, only from Patroclus’ point of view. It’s also and LGBT retelling. I didn’t know whether it would work for me because I already knew and loved this story. But this LGBT version made me love the story even more.
The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns #1) by Rae Carson // This is a fantasy story, but it has a very pronounced Hispanic influence. I loved it! The main character, Elisa, is also not the typical YA fantasy heroine. She is a bit overweight, has little confidence and so on. More characters should be this realistic.
Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma // A story about a brother and sister who fall in love.
None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio // A girl discovers she’s intersex. This story opened my eyes to a topic and theme I barely had any knowledge of. It’s so good!
The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler // This contemporary story tells the story of Elyse, a girl from Trinidad & Tobago who loses her voice, and with that her promising career in music. SO BEAUTIFUL.

TTT diversity 2

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth // A very slow read, but definitely worth your time! It’s about a girl who discovers she is gay but it’s set a few decades back. It’s heartbreaking to see how intolerant everyone used to be. Still now, humanity has a long way to go.
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire SΓ‘enz // No explanations needed here.
Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli // Very cute LGBT read!
Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer // Yes, this is a dystopian-scifi read. But it is set in New Beijing! For once, it is recognized that when the world ends, it’s not just the USA. Seriously. Where are the dystopian novels about Europe -and I don’t just mean the UK? Or Africa? Or Oceania? I’m curious.
Schizo by Nic Sheff // As you probably have deducted from the title, it’s about a teenager who suffers from schizophrenia. Such an interesting read!

So those are my 10 choices for this week’s topic! Have you read any of them? Let’s discuss it in the comments. Feel free to leave a link to your TTT as well.

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Celebrating Diversity

    • I don’t think many people realize it! It’s almost exclusively the US and UK, because those are also the countries that publish the largest amount in English. I don’t know, I hope to read a dystopian in Asia, or Europe or Africa soon! I also can’t come up with another example than the Lunar Chroniclees -which I love.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t know if I would be able to stomach it either. I have a brother too, and the thought just makes me nauseous. But honestly, I didn’t have any problems during this book. I sort of kept forgetting that they were siblings… Thanks!

      Like

  1. None of the Above, Simon vs and Aristotle and Dante are on my list too, though I haven’t read them yet. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids and The Song of Achilles are on my TBR. Cinder is the only book in this list that I’ve read; it was awesome! Great list! ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

