Top Ten Tuesday: My Auto-Buy Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, I’ll be talking about my auto-buy authors. This is a very selective club, you see. I may auto-read some authors, but that doesn’t mean I automatically buy all of their books. I might lend it from the library or something. But these are all authors whose new books I will immediately buy, no matter what. 

P.S. The authors’ names will lead you to their Goodreads page!

1. Rick Riordan

Read: Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, Heroes of Olympus series, Kane Chronicles, Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods
Genre: usually YA involving mythology

Obviously, Mr. Riordan was going to be on my list. I can’t wait to read Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes, let alone the first Magnus Chase book. I will read anything he writes. ANYTHING.

2. J.K. Rowling

Read: Harry Potter series, The Cuckoo’s Calling
Genres: YA fantasy and adult mystery

Again, an obvious but necessary choice. You can’t make a list about favorite authors and not include J.K. Rowling. Let’s be real.

3. Scott Lynch

Read: Gentleman Bastard book #1, #2 & #3
Genre: fantasy

I have spoken about my love for Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard series before, and in fact, I recently posted a review of his third book in the series, Republic of Thieves, which I will link up here. I hope he will write for many more books -and years- to come, and I already know I’ll be buying them all.

4. Michael J. Sullivan

Read: The Riyria Revelations (1-6), The Crown Tower (Riyria Chronicles #1)
Genre: fantasy

Michael J. Sullivan has quickly become one of my favorite fantasy authors. I am so attached to the main characters in these series, Royce and Hadrian. I would read 100 books about them. No, I’m not kidding…

5. Colleen Hoover

Read: Confess, Ugly Love, Maybe Someday, Finding Cinderella, Hopeless, Losing Hope
Genre: New adult, romance

Every Colleen Hoover novel breaks my heart. Again and again. She just writes the most beautiful but heart-wrenching romances. I’d find it hard to pick a favorite, but I think I would go with Maybe Someday. It just blew me away.

6. Sarah J. Maas

Read: Throne of Glass 1-3 and novellas, A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Genre: YA fantasy

Aaah, Sarah J. Maas. How I love you and your writing. I am a huge fan of her books, and I’d probably buy every single one she writes.

7. George R.R. Martin

Read: A Song of Ice & Fire 1-5
Genre: fantasy

Yeah, can’t leave out the master of fantasy here. I still need to buy so many things, like his World of Ice and Fire. BUT IT IS SO EXPENSIVE. I can’t make myself buy it. But I want to own it. #bookloverproblems

8. Christopher Paolini

Read: The Inheritance Cycle
Genre: fantasy

Paolini’s Inheritance Cycle is one of the first few series/books that I can remember reading and loving. Together with the Harry Potter series, it started off my love for reading –and fantasy. I’ll always be grateful. I think he’s writing a new science-fiction novel now, and while I am not usually a fan of the genre, I’ll definitely be giving it a go. AND he has plans for a Book V in the Inheritance Cycle? SIGN ME UP. I wish I had a time machine so I could travel to the future and read it immediately.


Those are my picks for this week! Let me know, have you read any books by these authors? Do you make a distinction between auto-read and auto-buy authors, like me? I’m curious! Maybe that’s just me, overthinking it as always. If you’ve made a TTT, let me know as well!
14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Auto-Buy Authors

  1. Oh so many wonderful authors! I wanted to put GRRM on mine, because I love what I’ve read of his, but there are just so many additional books out there that I haven’t even touched upon yet! Give me a little while longer to work through his books and he’ll be up there too!
    My TTT

    Like

  2. Maas mad to go on my list this week because I literally just went out and bought all her books after I read Throne of Glass hahaha. I need to pick up more of Riordan’s books too. I love his writing style. Great list 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! I know right, I was sold after I read Throne of Glass. Then I just needed everything. Yes, read ALL the Rick Riordan! He’s great. I love the way he writes witty banter between characters -and sarcasm.

      Like

    • I only ever use the library near my university, but I use Scribd as well (which is a subscription service) and I don’t count that as buying. But it sucks that your library is rubbish (mine is too…)

      Like

Leave a Reply

