Personal Post #4: Work Experience at Pan Macmillan!

Hi guys! So today, I’m writing a post that is both book-related and personal. Two birds with one stone, right? If you follow me on Twitter/have seen my recent tweets, you may know that I recently did a two-week work experience at Pan Macmillan in London. I wanted to write about my experience today, for any of you considering to do the same –or those of who you didn’t even know the option was there

I had the opportunity to help in the publicity department for two weeks. First off, I want to say that the people were so kind to me. I was most nervous about that aspect beforehand! Because I don’t know anyone in London, I was afraid that I would feel so alone if I wouldn’t get along well or feel comfortable with the people at Macmillan. Being an introvert, that terrifies me. I’m not very good at integrating in new groups and environments immediately, but I definitely didn’t need to worry about that. It was an incredible environment to work in. During the past 3 years, I have seen many different forms of management and culture in my uni courses –as I do study business administration, and they should teach me something. If I had to describe Macmillan, I’d say that it was a trusting environment. Kind, not constantly checking up on you, and so on. 

As for the actual work, I found it so interesting! Before, I didn’t really have a clue what the publicity department actually did. Now, that picture is much clearer. I learned a lot these past two weeks. Both in what a publicity/communications department does, and in skills. What I loved the most is that I got to make some press releases for books for review. I know that may not sound really exciting, but you can be very creative about it, which I very much enjoyed. 

I can’t tell you how grateful I am for this experience. Both to Pan Macmillan, for accepting me into their ranks for two weeks, and to my parents –without them I would have never been able to go. I truly feel like I have grown so much over the past few weeks. I lived alone –which is not new to me– in a country where I don’t know anyone. That alone was new to me. And I got to experience what working in the publishing industry actually is like! I learned new skills, absorbed so much information, met great people and lived in an incredible city. 

If you want to do an internship or work experience but are afraid you won’t get one because you’re not from the UK/wherever the internship is: go for it anyway. I never would have thought I’d be allowed to go, because I’m from Belgium, but it was absolutely no problem. I’m so glad I took a chance and sent in the request anyway!

Not only was I lucky enough to be allowed to do this work experience, I also received some amazing books! I’ll be making a London book haul, which will include quite the amount of books gifted to me by Macmillan. So you can look forward to that!

To anyone out there who is considering doing a work experience: go for it! I can’t express how grateful I am for the experience. It was incredible. THANK YOU, Macmillan, thank you.

7 thoughts on “Personal Post #4: Work Experience at Pan Macmillan!

  1. I was just on the Pan Macmillan website and I remembered that I never got around to reading this post! Ahh, it sounds so exciting and I admire you for going to stay in a country where you don’t know anyone or that for 2 weeks – I don’t think I could do that! The whole experience sounds amazing and I know the Pan Macmillan publicists that I worked with in South Africa were so lovely so I’m glad that the ones in the UK were also so wonderful. Glad you had a great time and looking forward to your haul! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I have to admit that when I arrived I felt really lonely. I nearly cried. But that was actually mostly from exhaustion from the travel and excitement of the day! The next day, I felt much better. Thank you so much! They are really nice, and I’m glad you had a wonderful experience with them in South-Africa. The books have arrived so the haul is coming SOON! 😀

      Like

  2. How exciting doing work experience here! Glad you enjoyed it and had so much fun. How did you arrange accommodation, and will you be doing any further posts about what you learned?? R x

    Like

    • Thank you! For accomodation, I used a website called Wimdu. It’s a bit like Airbnb? I rentezd a room in a house around the Aldgate East area. I might do further posts yes! I’m not sure yet, I don’t know whether I have that much to say. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

