Top Ten Tuesday: How to Get Away With Theft 101

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, we’re all talking about the books that would be on our syllabus if we taught a certain class.

Now, I was inspired by the TV Show How to Get Away With Murder, because if you haven’t seen it, that’s a class in law school. So here I am today, presenting the books you’ll need for my How to Get Away With Theft class.

P.S. The titles will take you to their Goodreads page.

ttt25-08

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak // I couldn’t leave this out. It’s not strictly about theft, more about historical fiction surrounding WWII but Liesel is learning to read and stealing books to do so. The Germans are burning books that don’t agree with their philosophy. Who can let that happen? Everyone needs to read this one. I won’t be teaching anyone who hasn’t. 

Midnight Thief (Midnight Thief #1) by Livia Blackburne // I don’t quite know how to describe this one. It’s a YA novel, and I quite liked the teenage thieving girl as the main character. It has a lot of other elements to it as well though. An enjoyable read!

The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon Sanderson // Can’t leave the master of fantasy out here either. The Final Empire is a work of art. It’s one of the best fantasy novels I have read. The main characters make up a thieving crew, trying to overthrow the evil ruler. WHY NOT?

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard #1) by Scott Lynch // Next up, we’re learning how to con and plan a proper heist along with the Gentleman Bastards. This band of thieves steals from the rich, against the Secret Peace pact the “king” of thieves has made. You can’t steal from the rich. But who will be smart enough to stop them? THIS SERIES IS GREAT.

The Spirit Thief (Legend of Eli Monpress #1) by Rachel Aaron // This is a highly underrated fantasy series in my opinion. In this world, every single thing has a spirit. A wizard is a person who has the ability to talk to them. Eli Monpress is the most famous wizard of all. Why? He’s a wizard and a thief. He gets away with everything. No one has been able to catch him. How? What’s his secret? We’ll learn it all in this amazing series.

ttt25-08-2

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien // You can’t leave my class at the end of the year if you haven’t read the Hobbit. One of the most famous fantasy novels ever. Let’s learn all about the Burglar, shall we?

Theft of Swords (Riyria Revelations #1-2) by Michael J. Sullivan // Let’s talk about Riyria. A famous thieving duo consisting of Hadrian Blackwater and Royce Melborn. While reading this, we will discuss the advantages of pairing up with someone who is the complete opposite of who you are. Hadrian is a warrior, a soldier. Royce is a merciless thief. But together? Magic. 

Scarlet (Scarlet #1) by A.C. Gaughen // We can’t forget about Robin Hood when talking about thieves either. Does the end justify the means? Is Hood the good guy, even though he’s an outlaw?

A Darker Shade of Magic (A Darker Shade of Magic #1) by V.E. Schwab // Thieving for beginners: start small. Take little things at a time. That way, they won’t notice.

Heist Society (Heist Society #1) by Ally Carter // Teenagers robbing a museum! TEENAGE ART THIEVES.


So those are my picks for this week’s topic. What do you think? Have you read any of these? Am I missing a great book about thieves on my syllabus? If you have made a list, let me know! I can’t wait to see what everyone has come up with.
36 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: How to Get Away With Theft 101

  1. I love this topic, so creative!! Sadly, the only one I have read is ADSOM, but I am really hoping to read The Book Thief ASAP and Scarlet sooner than later. Fabulous list!!

    Like

  2. I’ve seen Gentleman Bastard on numerous lists, so I’ve finally given it a look and put it on my TBR. Some of the others here look interesting, too. The Thieves series by Lexi Blake is the first thing I thought of. It’s a fun UF series with heists and thievery (in case you couldn’t tell by the name, haha), but it has a lot of graphic… let’s call them romance scenes, so it may not be for everyone. You chose such a fun topic though!

    Like

    • Thank you! I really hope you’ll enjoy the Gentleman Bastards. It may seem a bit daunting at first, but it’s so worth it. I’ve never heard of that series! I’m going to check it out on Goodreads immediately. Thank you so much for the recommendation!

      Like

  3. This is such a great list! I read half of these already and they’re wonderful. I wish I knew how to steal and blend into the surroundings like the Gentleman Bastards 🙂
    I’m adding the others to my tbr, I love thieves. I think that if I were to steal anything, it would probably be art.

    Like

  4. What a great idea for a list! The only one I have read is ‘The Book Thief’ as crime isn’t a genre I normally read. Some of these look very interesting. 🙂

    Like

  5. Ha, what a fun topic! I’ve always loved the fact that Bilbo is a burglar. I still need to read Locke Lamora (I picked up a copy years ago), and I have an unread copy of A Darker Shade of Magic waiting for me too. Great list!

    Like

  6. Yes! This topic is awesome and I love your suggestions. Most are either on my TBR list or going on it. I have read A Darker Shade of Magic though and that was amazing. I would definitely take your class although I will have to go and read The Book Thief before applying. I wouldn’t want to be thrown out before it even starts. I’m quite short so I think I would probably have to be a hobbit burglar at the end of it. 🙂

    Thanks for a putting a smile on my face today
    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune.co.uk

    Like

  7. This is super creative! I NEED to read The Lies of Locke Lamora, I missed it when it first came out but I have heard it mention in my blogging circle A LOT this week. It’s clearly a sign from the book gods haha. I love the rest of your selection, all quality books, especially ADSOM!!

    Like

  8. The hobbit is so cunning and the stealing had some dire consequences, it’s only right to include it in this class, 😛 I love the Book Thief!
    Have you read the YA fantasy The Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner? The character, Eugenides, is also an accomplished thief that would fit in your class. 🙂

    Like

  9. I have been planning on reading The Final Empire fro ageeesssssss, it’s just so BIG and THICK and INTIMIDATING. A Darker Shade Of Magic, I have heard so many things about that book and I seriously need to hop on to the bandwagon already! Awesome list! 😀

    Like

    • I know! I was really intimidated by those big books too. But after reading Game of Thrones, it’s all put into perspective. It really doesn’t seem that long when you’re reading!

      Yes! Go read ADSOM. It’s really, really good.

      Thanks 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

