Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Wouldn’t Get Along With

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, we’re talking about characters we didn’t click with. Which in my opinion, means that they would be a character I wouldn’t get along with in real life.

P.S. The titles will lead you to their Goodreads page.

ttt1-09-p1

Anastasia & Christian // Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James // The characters were part one of what I disliked about this novel. I found Anastasia to be boring, naive and ridiculous. And don’t even get me started on Christian. Hell no. I don’t mean to offend anyone by saying all of this, it’s just my opinion.

Lottie // Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella // This was the first Sophie Kinsella book I didn’t like. I just couldn’t deal with Lottie. She’s insane! I actually skimmed so many pages with this one. I just couldn’t deal with it. Her boyfriend suggests a trip instead of proposing so she decides to marry someone else. She’s convinced she loves him. WHAT? I DON’T UNDERSTAND.

Eadlyn // The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass // Two words: spoiled brat. If Eadlyn were an actual person, she’d get a slap for every bratty thing she would say or do. So she’d be slapped constantly. I get that a character can be bratty for a while. But seriously. She was mad when someone didn’t curtsy or stated their opinion when it wasn’t equal to hers. Yeah.

Phoebe // The List by Joanna Bolouri // Nope. Like I said in my review, one of the reasons I didn’t like this book is because I was misled about the plot. I didn’t get Phoebe . She thought she would be happier if she completed a sex bucket list. And the thing with her ex is superweird. I felt like the only things I knew about Phoebe by the end were her preferences in sex… 

Kelsey // Last Year’s Mistake by Gina Ciocca // While I did enjoy this novel, I just didn’t click with Kelsey. I thought she overreacted a lot and her whole misunderstanding, being the school’s joke and leaving David just seemed ridiculous to me. I mean, the whole reveal just left me underwhelmed.

ttt1-09-p2

Anyone -except for Simon // City of Bones (Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare // It’s not a secret that I don’t get along with TMI. I gave up after reading the fourth book a few years ago. I didn’t really like the characters, and the story started to feel stretched out to me. So yeah, sorry to all the TMI lovers out there…

Kathy // Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro // Again, another well loved book that I didn’t love. I don’t know but I felt so disconnected this entire read! Especially to the main character.

Todd // The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) by Patrick Ness // I have a feeling I’m crushing some fangirl-hearts today. This was just too chaotic for me –see what I did there? And I didn’t really click with Todd either. Although I did love Manchee, his dog. The dog was pretty much the only part of the book that I loved.

Adam // Fracture Me (Shatter Me #2.5) by Tahereh Mafi // I’m a definite Warner girl. Adam was just whiny. Sorry. 

Thomas // The Maze Runner (Maze Runner #1) by James Dashner // Another well loved book… SORRY GUYS. I just didn’t really get along with it. 


Those are my picks for this week’s topic! Have you read any of these books? If you have, what did you think about these characters? Feel free to leave a link to your TTT, I’d love to check them out.

31 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Wouldn’t Get Along With

  1. NOOOOOOOOO not Todd! Everyone else I can totally live with, but Todd? Yes, consider my fangirl heart dead 😉

    BUT- so much yes to the 50 shades duo, Thomas, and Adam. I am a Warner girl as well 😀 AND I almost put Jace and Clary on my list too! I kind of ran out of room, but they probably should have been included. They’re so annoying! And I have heard that Eadlyn is the WORST.

    So much love for your list (pretending that Todd isn’t on it 😉 ), fabulous choices!

    Oh, and thanks for bringing up Manchee. Off to the corner to cry. 😦

    Like

  2. Hi! I can’t believe I didn’t think to put Anastasia and Christian on my list. I disliked them both so much. I only got through a few chapters of that book.

    Like

  3. I’m laughing over here because I never realized that the abbreviation for the Mortal Instruments series is TMI until now. I’m not interested in that series because the whole sibling fakeout squicks me out, so TMI the saying is so applicable for my feelings on that one.

    Like

  4. Hahah I think anyone can add any character form Fifty Shades of Grey on their list. Though I am curious about why you didn’t like Thomas? I haven’t read in a while but I remember liking him. And yes, I agree with you on Adam. I’m a Warner fan all the way too, and that’s why I haven’t read the second book yet but I have a deep feeling in my gut that she’ll chose Adam >.< Not a big fan of Juliette either. She's on my list.
    My TTT: http://bookinganadventure.blogspot.com/2015/09/ten-characters-i-just-didnt-click-with.html

    Like

    • In general, I didn’t really enjoy The Maze Runner. Maybe because I couldn’t really connect to Thomas. I don’t know. I did like some of the other characters but their friendships with Thomas just didn’t seem right to me. I know I’m not explaining things right but it’s hard to put my finger on why I didn’t like him. I think you should read on with the Shatter Me series though! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

