DNF Review: Don’t Get Me Wrong

don't get me wrongNovel: Don’t Get Me Wrong by Marianna Kavanagh
Published: August 25th, 2015 by Atria
Genre: Adult contemporary
DNF at 29%

Goodreads 

I received this book from the publisher -THANK YOU- via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion in any way.

Synopsis: Kim and Harry are total opposites who happen to have the same favorite people in the world: Kim’s older sister, Eva, and her young son, Otis. Kim has never seen what her free-spirited big sister sees in a stuck-up banker like Harry and has spent her childhood trying to keep him out (must he always drive the most ostentatious cars and insist on charming everyone he meets?), while Harry’s favorite occupation is provoking Kim. Both Harry and Kim are too stuck in their prejudices to care about what’s really going on beneath the surface of each other’s lives. They’ll never understand each other—until the worst of all tragedy strikes. Faced with the possibilities of losing the person they both love most, long-buried secrets come to a head in ways that will change both Harry and Kim forever.

Review

When I requested this, I was expecting a fun romance stories. You know the famous trope “I hate you but I love you”? If it’s done right, it’s one of my favorite romance tropes. But this one… I just couldn’t. I felt really bad DNFing a book I received for review. But to be honest, I couldn’t deal with it. It wasn’t for me. And I knew that if I continued reading, I would become a raging mess. And then in my rage, I would offend everyone who loves this book. By the way, I encourage you to go to Goodreads and check out the other reviews! There are soooo many people who absolutely loved this book. It really just wasn’t for me. So today, I’ll tell you why. 

Kim. There it is. The reason I disliked this from page 1. I get that not every character can be likeable. And that no character can like everyone. Or no person, for that matter. But most people actually have a solid reason for not getting along with another person. And that’s fine. If you don’t have a reason for not getting along however, except for your prejudices, you are a terrible person. And that’s where my problem lies. To show you how much this book unnerved me, here are my Goodreads updates:

 don't get me wrong updates

You see my slow descent into madness? Let me explain. On the first few pages, Kim explains why she hates Harry. He was standing in her sunshine the first time they met. His humor is sarcastic, but she constantly thinks he’s laughing at her. There have been many people who have once blocked the sun for me. I don’t hate them. I just ask them politely to move. Like a normal person. What I understood from the first 30%, is that Kim is jealous. She can’t handle her sister having a best friend if that’s not her. So she hates Harry. Because she adores her sister, puts her on a pedestal. WHICH IS WHERE IT GETS CONFUSING FOR ME. Her sister is exhausted, yet Kim fights Harry because she thinks he is a bad influence. While the only person making her sister sad, is Kim herself. 

Kim made the graduation dinner of her friend Izzie and herself a living nightmare, by fighting out loud with Harry in the middle of a restaurant. He made a few jokey remarks, and she just pounced. Like an angry lion. Until everyone wanted to get the hell out of there. For which she then blames him. Sigh. Another shining example is a flashback to Kim’s 18th birthday, when Harry got her a pair of diamond earrings in the form of daisies. For which she was mad at him. YOU UNGRATEFUL LITTLE… 

My last point on Kim is that she is the kind of person I hate the most: those who claim to know best, yet don’t listen to anyone. Her sister literally tells her a fact, Kim later tells her friend that she suspects the opposite of the fact is true but her sister won’t tell her. (I can’t make that clearer without spoiling you,sorry). SHE TOLD YOU THE TRUTH. YOU JUST DIDN’T LISTEN.

Because I want to end on a positive note, here it is: I loved Harry. I loved his POVs. I’m actually quite sure that if the entire book was told through only his eyes, I would’ve enjoyed it.

Like I said, I’d encourage you to look at other reviews on Goodreads. This book wasn’t for me, but that doesn’t mean you won’t enjoy it! Give it a try. You never know, right? 🙂

7 thoughts on “DNF Review: Don’t Get Me Wrong

  1. I also read this one. I finished it but it was because I liked Harry and wanted to see where it went. Kim bothered me sooo much. If she could have been a tiny bit more likeable, or hell even grew as a character, it would have been a much better book for me. Thankfully Harry was a great and I like his story. Sorry you had to DNF but totally get it!

    Like

  2. So I might be absolutely crazy, but your DNF review made me want to actually check this book out. Harry just sounds so intriguing and swoon worthy! Is he not? I sure hope he is. I’m also really curious to see if Kim is really that annoying. Is it weird for me to want to read books someone else DNF-ed? Maybe, but let’s see! 😉

    Like

    • Nooo it’s a good thing! Because there are so many people who love it, and maybe you’ll become one of them. That’s worth checking it out. And yes, I think that Harry is swoon worthy! Even though I only read a few bits in his POV, I already loved him. I’d love to hear your thoughts about it if you end up reading it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

