Review: The Time Keeper

the time keeper

Novel: The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom
Published: January 1st, 2012 by Hachette Books
Genre: Time travel (science-fiction), adult
Rating: 3/5 stars

Synopsis: The inventor of the world’s first clock is punished for trying to measure God’s greatest gift. He is banished to a cave for centuries and forced to listen to the voices of all who come after him seeking more days, more years. Eventually, with his soul nearly broken, Father Time is granted his freedom, along with a magical hourglass and a mission: a chance to redeem himself by teaching two earthly people the true meaning of time. He returns to our world – now dominated by the hour-counting he so innocently began – and commences a journey with two unlikely partners: one a teenage girl who is about to give up on life, the other a wealthy old businessman who wants to live forever. To save himself, he must save them both. 

Quotes
Try to imagine a life without time keeping. You probably can’t. You know the month, the year, the day of the week.”

“Man alone measures time. Man alone chimes the hour. And, because of this, man alone suffers a paralyzing fear that no other creature endures. A fear of time running out.”

Review
I read The Time Keeper for the #TBRTakedown 2.0. One of its challenges was to read something out of your comfort zone. I’d had this tiny book on my shelf for a while now, and never really picked it up precisely for that reason. It was out of my comfort zone. So it seemed perfect for this challenge -and besides, it’s quite short and tiny as well. 

I haven’t completely sorted out my feelings on this book. Maybe I’ll have a definite opinion when I finish writing this review, and have sorted out all of my thoughts. Let’s see!

First of all, we have three main characters, each of them very different. We have Dor, who lived millennia ago, Victor, the 14th richest man in the world, and Sarah, a high school girl.

Dor was in my opinion, the most interesting of the three. In all ways, he is the inventor of time. He started as a child, interested in finding out how to chronicle important parts of his life, like his relationship with his wife and their wedding. He becomes Father Time, having to listen to each and every person in the world asking for it. More time, less time. We all want something from time. Dor has to listen to all our pleas, showing him the consequences of what he has invented. 

Victor, as I said, is extremely rich. But money can’t help him when he is terminally ill. After all, we haven’t found a cure for cancer yet. I sympathized least with him. He is the kind of person who is never content with what he has, and always wants more. 

Sarah is a high school girl who has a crush on Ethan. Unfortunately for her, Ethan is a terrible person… 

Throughout this novel, we discover what these characters want from time. How they perceive time. Dor is tasked with finding two people in the entire world: one asking for more time, and one asking for less. 

While I think that this book has definitely given me some perspective on how precious we all find time to be, I have to admit that I wasn’t really captivated by the story. If it weren’t for the read-a-thon, I don’t think I would have had the motivation to continue reading. I didn’t think the story was all that thrilling, I didn’t relate to any of the characters and I wasn’t really excited to find out how it would end. However, I did like the ending! 

So while it was definitely beautifully written, it just wasn’t for me. The story didn’t grip me, and I wasn’t invested in the characters. To me, this was an okay read. Definitely not bad, but no exciting or good either. 

★★★

3 thoughts on “Review: The Time Keeper

Leave a Reply

