Top Ten Tuesday: Finished Series I Want to Finish Soon

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, we’re talking about finished series we have yet to finish. I interpreted the topic accordingly: series that are finished, which I have already started and want to finish soon-ish. So let’s get into it!

While I was creating a list for this topic, I noticed several things. Firstly, I am reading a lot of series currently being written. Series that aren’t finished yet. Secondly, I have finished a lot of the finished series I want to finish –what? 

ttt8-9-15p1

The Scarlet trilogy by A.C. Gaughen // I only started this trilogy in 2015, but quite enjoyed Scarlet, the first book! I didn’t immediately continue on, which as I’ve noticed is a big mistake. I either binge-read a series, or I wait months to a year to read on. There is no in between. But I really want to read Lady Thief and Lion Heart

The Persefone trilogy by Michelle Gagnon // I just looked at my Goodreads reviews for these, and I noticed it’s been a year since I read the second book in the trilogy, Don’t Look Now. WHAT? I really loved the first two books in the trilogy, and I definitely want to read the third one and finish the trilogy. Maybe I should look up what happened in the second one though, not sure I remember it all. 

The Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead // I read the Vampire Academy series in 2013, if I’m not mistaken, and I have read the first book in the Bloodlines series, but I’ve never continued. I don’t actually know why. Maybe because my reading tastes have changed in the past 2 years? I used to constantly read dystopian/paranormal YA in that time and now, I almost only read fantasy. But I definitely want to give the rest of this series a try.

The Gone series by Michael Grant // Another one I read in 2013! I’ve only read the first book, Gone, but I absolutely loved it. So why did I never continue? No clue. I really want to read on because I have a feeling this is a dystopian series I would really come to love.

ttt8-9-15p2

The Shattered Sea trilogy by Joe Abercrombie // I’ve only read the first one, Half a King, and I read it in 2015 but I definitely want to continue. It was my first Abercrombie book, but I can guarantee you it won’t be the last.

The Narnia series by C.S. Lewis // I feel like it’s so shameful to say, but I haven’t read every Narnia novel. I believe I’ve read 3 but I never continued. I REALLY want to finish these! 

The Splintered trilogy by A.G. Howard // Again, a recent read. I finally gave in to the hype and read Splintered, the first book in the trilogy. I LOVED IT. So I’ll definitely continue soon. 

The Fire and Thorns trilogy by Rae Carson // I started this trilogy in 2015 as well and I’ve read book #1 and book #3. So I only need to read The Bitter Kingdom to finish this trilogy. Honestly guys, this trilogy is amazing, I highly recommend it. 


So these are the finished series and trilogies I want to finish soon. Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? Let me know! If you’ve made a TTT, feel free to leave a link down below.
33 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Finished Series I Want to Finish Soon

  1. I also have to finish A. C. Gaughen’s series – I have Lady Thief on the shelf already, just waiting for me to pick it up.
    As for the Bloodlines series – I’d skip that if I were you. Ok if you absolutely LOVED the VA series and the 1st book of Bloodlines, go for it, but otherwise I’d say pass. It’s watered down so much… It should have been a trilogy, I think, if around half the pages were axed, it would have been much better. But that’s just me, probably, I know others who really liked it.

    Like

    • I really liked the VA series, and I liked Bloodlines but I wouldn’t say I fell in love with it. I think I may give the second one a try and then see if I want to continue… Thanks for telling me though! It’s good to hear both perspectives. I may end up feeling the same way about it as you!

      Like

  2. It took me a while to read all the Narnia books too, even though I had all the books for several years and they’re such quick reads! I don’t love all the books equally but I am so glad to have read them all!

    Like

  3. I loved Gone as well, it really was incredible wasn’t it. It’s one of those series that I haven’t finished yet either. I made it to finishing book three but gave up on the series sadly. Splintered is awesome, I absolutely love that series (apart from the third book), I can’t wait for you to continue on with it. I haven’t read ANY of the Narnia books. I’m so ashamed. I don’t even own them, which I plan to rectify shortly. Ahh, so many books and not enough credit cards. Great list Jolien, thanks for sharing ❤

    Like

  4. I rarely finish series but I actually read all of Gone, they’re kind of my guilty pleasure. They might not be the best books ever technically, but they were like crack to me, I read them all so fast haha. I recommend you try the rest out 😀

    Like

  5. I think a few people had that issue with the Bloodlines Series. I liked it but I waited for ages to finish reading it and the only reason I finished it recently was because I was sent an arc I was not up to yet. But they are still worth the read if you like the VA world despite the fact they are not as good. I hope you enjoy them 🙂

    Like

  6. I hope you’ll continue with The Shattered Sea series, the female protagonist in book two is quite awesome! I loved the Gone Series, but stopped reading after the fourth one because waiting for all the books to be released was testing my patience. Series are so hard to keep up with, but I can’t resist them.
    Aentee at The Social Potato

    Like

  7. I love all of the C S Lewis books! That’s a great choice. I wasn’t as impressed with the rest of Splintered. I loved book 1 too but it went down hill after that in my opinion, hope you have more luck with it. I really want to read Scarlet and Half a King! 🙂 Great list.

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

