My Favorite Quotes | Part 1: Fantasy

I’ve been blogging for almost a year now and I’ve never really made a post about my favorite quotes. So I figured it was high time to change that! I really couldn’t choose a reasonable amount of quotes as my favorites, so I just decided to split this post up. This is part 1! You may notice a trend: most of these are from fantasy novels… Let’s look at the quotes!.

The Lord of the Rings trilogy, by J.R.R. Tolkien

“All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.”

I’m not completely sure why I love this quote/poem. I guess because it reveals so much, and not just about Strider. I like that it’s both a prediction about the future and an honest representation of what he is now. I think it has become one of the most famous poems from The Lord of the Rings, and it was also used in the movies. Aragorn is one of my favorite characters, which may explain why the next poem is about him as well.

“Where now are the Dúnedain, Elessar, Elessar?
Why do thy kinsfolk wander afar?
Near is the hour when the Lost should come forth,
And the Grey Company ride from the North.
But dark is the path appointed for thee:
The Dead watch the road that leads to the Sea.”

This is the poem used as a message from Galadriel to Aragorn. Not only do I love Aragorn, but I adore Galadriel as well. The Lady of Lothlorién. Aragorn has so many names throughout this series, but Elessar may be my favorite. 

“May it be a light to you in dark places, when all other lights go out.”

Another one from Galadriel guys! She says this to Frodo when she gives him her present. I feel like we should all get a blessing and gift like this. We all need a light to help us through our darkest moments.

Gentleman Bastard series, by Scott Lynch

“So that makes us robbers of robbers,” said Bug, “who pretend to be robbers working for a robber of other robbers.”

First of all, this sums the Gentleman Bastards up perfectly. Secondly, who doesn’t love this sentence? You go, Bug. I just realized how weird his name sounds together with encouragement. I am not encouraging any bugs out there, okay?

“We’re a different sort of thief here, Lamora. Deception and misdirection are our tools. We don’t believe in hard work when a false face and a good line of bullshit can do so much more.” 

Good to know I’m not the only lazy person here. I would quote every line from every single one of his books if I could. But that’s not realistic. So I just collected the funniest and most witty ones. 

“You’re one third bad intentions, one third pure avarice, and one eighth sawdust. What’s left, I’ll credit, must be brains.” 

Accurate description of Locke Lamora. 

“Stand aside, and try not to catch fire if I shed sparks of genius.” 

Less accurate description of Locke Lamora. Although, I have to admit that he is kind of a genius. 

“What is government but theft by consent?” 

Accurate description of not only their world, but ours as well.

The Inheritance Cycle, by Christopher Paolini

“Perhaps not one religion contains all of the truth of the world. Perhaps every religion contains fragments of the truth, and it is our responsibility to identify those fragments and piece them together.” 

I really love this quote from Eragon -the character, not the novel. Maybe he’s right, you know? How do we know?

A Song of Ice and Fire, by George R.R. Martin

“Why is it that when one man builds a wall, the next man immediately needs to know what’s on the other side?” 

Very, very true.

“When the snows fall and the white winds blow, the lone wolf dies but the pack survives.”

This only confirms that I need to find a pack.


So this was Part 1 of my favorite quotes! I started by picking my favorite quotes from fantasy novels -and these aren’t the only ones. I still have quotes from Anne Bishop, J.K. Rowling and so on, which all fall in the fantasy genre. But I didn’t want to make this post a mile long. So here it is! Part 2 will be up soon! What are your favorite quotes? Do any of these make the cut?
10 thoughts on “My Favorite Quotes | Part 1: Fantasy

  1. I love this post! And I think you’ve managed to select quite a few good ones — I haven’t read all the books you’ve mentioned, but Lord of the Rings definitely has some good quotes

    I personally really like this one, by Cecelia Ahern:
    “Hope like that, as I thought before, doesn’t make you a weak person. It’s hopelessness that makes you weak. Hope makes you stronger, because it brings with it a sense of reason. Not a reason for how or why they were taken from you, but a reason for you to live. Because it’s a maybe. A ‘maybe someday things won’t always be this shit.’ And that ‘maybe’ immediately makes the shittiness better.”

    Like

  2. Squee! I LOVE THIS POST, JOLIEN! I’m obsessed with quotes from books and these are all lovely, especially the ones from LoTR. My favorite quote at the moment is from To Kill a Mockingbird: “Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing.” – ISN’T IT BEAUTIFUL?!

    Like

  3. Wow, that book by Tolien sounds really, really good. I actually got chills from it despite the fact that I have never ever read his work, like ever. Some of my favorite quotes are by Brandon Sanderson, and I pretty much love every book of his, and pretty much every line he writes so it would be hard to pick a single one!! 😀

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

  4. I have to say, my all time favourite: THERE IS NO JUSTICE, JUST ME. Capital letters are compulsory (I don’t mean to shout here). It’s by Death in “Mort”, the 4th Discworld novel, by the late Sir Terry Pratchett. Death is -for me- the best character in the entire history of literature.
    Some others I like:
    – “Then she walked off, swinging those hips like two great warships.” (Orb Sceptre Throne, I.C. Esslemont) –> Great image of beautiful woman walking by.
    – “Coraline’s father stopped working and made them all dinner.Coraline was disgusted. “Daddy,” she said, “you’ve made a recipe again.” (Coraline, Neil Gaiman) –> sometimes I can see my own daughters thinking this.
    – “PEOPLE’S WHOLE LIVES DO PASS IN FRONT OF THEIR EYES BEFORE THEY DIE. THE PROCESS IS CALLED ‘LIVING’.” –> another one by Death (Terry Pratchett). This sums up my take on life: live without regrets.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

