Book Buying/Requesting Ban

I never thought I would have to make a post like this. However, since I have started my blog, I’ve accumulated quite some hard copies and review books I haven’t read. I don’t mind having hard copies I haven’t read, but I would like to get the amount down. The review copies however, that bothers me. These publishers have given me the chance to read one of their books, and I just haven’t done it. I feel so bad. So in order to get through my pile, I’m putting myself on a book buying & requesting ban. Here’s how it will go!

Hard copies: 5 to 1

Okay. I bought almost all of these books with my own money as all of the review books I receive are ebooks. And while I love gathering books, I need to read them as well. So I’m installing this system: 5 to 1. For every 5 hard copies I read, I can buy 1. That sounds terrifying to me, but it allows me to still buy some while at the same time reducing my physical TBR pile.

I ordered 4 books last week to make sure I can do this challenge to my best abilities. How does that make it easier, you ask? Well, I had a few books that were the second book in a series when I didn’t have the first one and I had a trilogy in which I owned book 1 & 3 but not 2. So for my last book haul before the ban, I bought:

So yeah, these are the books I bought before starting my 5 to 1! 

Review copies: 3 to 1

This is what I feel so bad about. I need to read more of the books I got for review! I still have 2 I received from the author, and TOO MANY from Edelweiss and Netgalley. I have so many from Netgalley… My ratio is 64% so I need to get that up. I’m going along the trend of the physical copies here. I’m going to do a 3 to 1. For every 3 review books I finish, I can request 1. MAKE ME READ THEM ALL. 


So this is what I’ll be planning to do for the next few months. I do think I’ll have to quit this at Christmas because I might want to get some books for myself then –my family doesn’t get me books because I only read in English, not in Dutch, and they don’t want to accidentally buy something I won’t read. They do give me book-money sometimes, which is awesome. Have any of you done a book ban? Was it hard? I’d really love to hear about your experience with it. 
15 thoughts on “Book Buying/Requesting Ban

  1. This sounds like a great idea, actually. I’ve put myself on book buying bans before but I never posted about it so I cheated (a lot). I hope you’ll be stronger than me. 😀 I also have a load of both physical books and e-books (arcs, too) to read at home, I really shouldn’t order or request more…
    I hope you’ll enjoy Rothfuss – I liked book 2 so much! The waiting for the last one is killing me, though. And I loved Laini Taylor’s trilogy, though the last part was a bit too long – but the first two are AMAZING. Such great language.

    Like

    • I feel like I’ll stick to it more once I put in on my blog. Because then it’s “out there”… Thank you! I’m hoping to like book 2 as well, even though it hasn’t arrived yet… I feel like this is another George R.R. Martin situation, where the wait for the next one is just too long.

      Like

  2. I generally try not to overdo it with book-buying and requesting them on NetGalley, but I’ve never officially set myself a ban. Which means I sometimes overdo it because I’m not breaking any promises to myself, hahaha. But I did ARC August in August (wow, really?) and got my ratio up to almost 80%, and I’m now trying to read lots of unread paperbacks! So I do take notice 🙂

    Good luck!

    Like

  3. I really like this idea!! Especially since it isn’t quite a ban, it’s just… an organizational method, if you will. It’s such a good idea! I should probably do the same, considering that I will read three books a week, yet there are somehow like, 10 books on my Stacking the Shelves. That math is overwhelming, and it’s no wonder I have too many books to review and no shelf space! I think I should really try something similar, this is just fabulous! Keep us posted on how it goes, and good luck 😀

    Like

  4. Bleh I hate book buying/requesting bans but it has to be done! I brought quite a few books on the plane with me and I’ve bought a couple in England (I’ve bought 7 books already and I’ve only read 2…but I’M WORKING ON IT) so I’m going to start reading all those before I get any more books. I also have SO many Netgalley/Edelweiss books to review and Jolien, don’t worry, you ratio is MUCH better than mine! ;D

    Best of luck! Perhaps I shall create a post about this too and we can motivate each other to read our books and STOP ACQUIRING MORE (for now) hehe! ❤

    Like

    • Thank you! YES. Motivate me! I’m only doing this for about a year, so already being behind on review books scares me… I’m doing well so far though (even though I only started on Monday). I bought so many in England too because of charity shops and secondhand markets and IT’S ALL SO CHEAP.

      Like

  5. Oooh I loved the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. Wasn’t a huge fan of the first book until about 2/3rds in but after that it was LOVE. Hehe.

    Also I ordered both Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight from Standaard Boekhandel. They are beautiful! I hope they translate all of SJMaas’ books soon 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

