Review: the Georgina Kincaid series | Spoiler-free

Today, I’m going to try a different review format. I read the entire Georgina Kincaid series by Richelle Mead in a matter of days as they are such quick reads -and highly addicting. I don’t have quite enough to say about each book to make separate reviews for everything so I decided to make one post with 6 spoiler-free mini reviews.

P.S. I read this entire series on Scribd. I’ve been using it for a month now, and loving it! If you want to try it out, the link I gave previously will give you 2 free months of use. (I also used a link like that from a booktuber). Please know that I would NEVER recommend something I don’t honestly love. I am not getting paid by Scribd. However, I will get a free month if someone joins through the link. If you are curious, I would recommend going through the audiobook section. They have a great collection.

So, about the Georgina Kincaid series! This is an adult urban fantasy series. Mark the word adult. If you loved her Vampire Academy series and want to read this too, I would recommend it but be warned: this is definitely not YA.

Synopsis of book #1: When it comes to jobs in hell, being a succubus seems pretty glamorous. A girl can be anything she wants, the wardrobe is killer, and mortal men will do anything just for a touch. Granted, they often pay with their souls, but why get technical? But Seattle succubus Georgina Kincaid’s life is far less exotic. At least there’s her day job at a local bookstore–free books; all the white chocolate mochas she can drink; and easy access to bestselling, sexy writer, Seth Mortensen, aka He Whom She Would Give Anything to Touch but Can’t. But dreaming about Seth will have to wait. Something wicked is at work in Seattle’s demon underground. And for once, all of her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won’t help because Georgina’s about to discover there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny.


succubus blues

Book #1: Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead
Published: February 27th, 2007 by Kensington

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

This book started my addiction for the series. To be honest, all of these books are kind of interlinked in my mind. It all seems like one giant book to me. They are such quick and fun reads!

I love the different characters. Georgina is a great main character. She reminds me of Rose in Vampire Academy because Georgina is also inherently curious and has trouble listening to her boss and following orders. I love her. And her band of friends too! Peter and Cody -who are vampires-, Hugh -an imp- Carter -an angel- and Jerome -her boss. The friendships are just so fun to read about!

As for the big mystery in this book, I did figure it out beforehand. But I didn’t care! I just liked following Georgina as she slowly figured everything out.


succubus on top

Book #2: Succubus on Top by Richelle Mead
Published:
January 1st, 2008

Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

Again, I can start by saying that this book was highly entertaining. I just really enjoy them! Often, urban fantasy doesn’t really speak to me and most times, I’d choose epic fantasy over it. But these are just fun. I absolutely flew through them. 

As for the second book in particular, I liked the mystery a tad less. It just felt less important and present than in the first book. I did like seeing more of the characters though! Especially the introduction of Bastien, Georgina’s incubus friend. Their dynamics were really interesting. 


succubus dreams

Book #3: Succubus Dreams by Richelle Mead
Published: 
October 1st, 2008

Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

Again, didn’t love it as much as the first book, yet still highly enjoyed it! There’s always some mystery to be solved which I love. It’s like an urban fantasy/mystery series. This mystery was more fun than the previous, because I definitely didn’t guess what was happening. Again, interesting new characters were introduced! I have to say though, that I’m not a big fan of Dante. 

I am a fan of the other new characters introduced –which I won’t elaborate on because I don’t want to spoil anything for you. 


succubus heat

Book #4: Succubus Heat by Richelle Mead
Published
: June 1st, 2009

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

I am torn on this one… While I loved the mystery -again- and general plot, I had some trouble with the romance aspect. There is one “trope” in books that I absolutely hate, and can rarely be justified: cheating. And I felt the same way here. 

But the mystery in this one was great! I felt like it allwoed us to understand the world even more. How the supernatural side works.


succubus shadows

Book #5: Succubus Shadows by Richelle Mead
Published:
March 30th, 2010

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

While I gave the previous book the same star rating, I feel like this was my least favorite of them all. At this point, I’m not into the main ship. SORRY. I feel like I’m the only one in the world who has read these books and doesn’t root for the obvious ship. And because this book focuses so strongly on it, it took away from my enjoyment of the new mystery.

The mystery in this book also wasn’t as intriguing as the others. In fact, I found it quite… weird? I don’t know. Still enjoyable, but not as good as the others!


succubus revealed

Book #6: Succubus Revealed by Richelle Mead
Published:
August 30th, 2011

Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

THE LAST BOOK GUYS. I feel like a lot of the readers of this series will find this to be the perfect ending. I just found it a bit too convenient. It did offer an interesting look on the angel-demon side and hell and Georgina’s life and colleagues.

I did think it was a satisfying ending, but I wasn’t blown away. To be honest, it’s an ending you can see coming from a mile away.


Overall, I really enjoyed this series! It’s fun and enjoyable and you’ll just be flying through them, like I did. I wouldn’t recommend this to a younger audience -because of the succubus side- but if you like Richelle Mead and you don’t mind the more adult scenes, I would definitely recommend this. I’m hoping to one day see a series based on Carter. Has Richelle mead ever said anything about it? I DON’T KNOW! 

Have you read this series? Or any Richelle Mead? Let me know! If you have read this series, do you know anything about a possible book about Carter? You’d make my day if you had any news about that!

P.S. I’ve had a draft for this post for 3 months now. I’M SO SORRY…

3 thoughts on “Review: the Georgina Kincaid series | Spoiler-free

  1. I loved this series, I *think* I have two books left…. think. I find it hard to keep track! They’re such a guilty pleasure.
    I didn’t like the main ship either, so don’t worry! Seth was boring to me and I thought she would be better off with someone with a but more oomph! I was far more interested in the whole succubus life than the relationships. A series on Carter or Roman (?) or the incubus guy would be great too!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

