My Summer Wrap Up | A Seasonal TBR Win?

SUMMER IS OVER. Isn’t that horrible news? I don’t hate fall or winter, but it is the return of the new academic year that scares me. As always, at the start of the season, I made a TBR – which you can find here. And as you may remember, it is always my goal to read at least half of every seasonal TBR. Which up until now, I had never succeeded in doing. BUT NO MORE. I DID IT! 

 Summer TBR

summertbr15-1 summertbr15-2

So this was my summer TBR! I didn’t end up reading all of them, but I did read more than half! YAY ME! So let’s see which ones I actually ended up reading. 

What I Read (2)

   summerwrapup15-1

Splintered (Splintered #1) by A.G. Howard – ★★★★★ // I finally read the first book in this famous trilogy. I know, I’m so far behind on the trend. But I really enjoyed it! It actually took me by surprise. I still have to write a review on this one. But I’m wondering whether anyone would want to read it, because it’s such a well-known book it has hundreds of reviews already written.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – ★★★★★ // I actually don’t really know what to say on this one. I absolutely loved it. So I’ll just revert you to the review I’ve written on it (here). 

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde – ★★★½ // I read this one at the beginning of the month. I actually only now remember that it was my goal to read 2 classics this year. One to go! I don’t know about this one. I liked it, but I was disappointed at the same time. I haven’t written a review on it yet, but I definitely want to do so!

   summerwrapup15-2

Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road #1) by Katie McGarry – ★★★★ // A giant yes to this great contemporary novel by Katie McGarry. I already really enjoyed her Pushing the Limits series, so I knew I’d probably like this. I have written a full review on it, so go check that out if you want! I would recommend her books if you’re looking for YA contemporary.

The Master Magician (Paper Magician #3) by Charlie N. Holmberg – ★★★★ // I’m really glad I read this and finished the trilogy! It’s a really fun YA fantasy, really easy to get into. I really enjoyed the final book –even though the main character had me shaking my head a few times– and I can’t wait to see what the author has in store for us next. 

The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles #1) by Patrick Rothfuss – ★★★★½ // I feel most proud of this one. Why? Because this book is a beast. It’s really intimidating! I highly enjoyed it, even though I have a few remarks regarding Denna –the main love interest, I guess


So this is my summer wrap up! As I said, I’m actually really proud of myself. It’s the first time I’ve succeeded in reading half of my seasonal TBR. How did your summer TBR work out? Have you read any of these books, or the ones I didn’t get to? Let me know!
10 thoughts on “My Summer Wrap Up | A Seasonal TBR Win?

  1. SQUEE! Well done, Jolien! I absolutely suck at seasonal TBR piles but ONE DAY I will read the books on them. One day. I’m really glad you enjoyed Nowhere But Here, that’s one of my favorites I read this year! Sorry you didn’t enjoy The Picture of Dorian Gray too much 😦 I’ve only read one of Wilde’s other works and I loved it so I definitely want to give this a go and see how I find it!

    Like

  2. Well done on mostly sticking to your TBR, I’m always so bad at sticking to them! *facepalm* I literally just ordered Nowhere But Here online and now you’ve made me all super duper excited to read this, EEP! *flails* I’ve read Splintered, unfortunately wasn’t an absolute favourite for me, but that cover just makes me want to drool! 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

