Two Mini Non-Fiction Reviews | Javascript for Kids & Ruby Wizardry

javascript for kidsBook: JavaScript for Kids by Nick Morgan
Published: June 22nd 2014 by No Starch Press
Genre: Non-Fiction, MG/YA
Rating: 3/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository 

I received this book from the publisher -thank you!- via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion in any way.

Description: JavaScript for Kids is a lighthearted introduction to the JavaScript language and programming in general. With the help of kid-friendly examples, author Nick Morgan teaches the essentials of JavaScript. Morgan starts with the basics of strings, arrays, and loops, then moves on to show readers how to modify elements with jQuery and draw graphics with canvas. By the end of the book, you’ll be ready to create your own fun animations and games and you’ll have a solid understanding of the fundamentals of JavaScript.

Review

 First of all, I have to say that I learned a lot while reading this. I had almost no knowledge of JavaScript before, and this is a very thorough guide. It really covers a lot! So if you’re looking for a beginner’s guide to JavaScript I would definitely recommend this. Even if you’re not a kid.

For me, the instructions were clear and easy to follow. Everything was explained thoroughly and the author used easy to understand language. But I have to admit that I don’t really think this is for kids. Which is the target audience here. Yes, they used a few examples kids can understand but I feel like overall, a kid wouldn’t really grasp this easily. It’s a whole lot of theory with a few kid-friendly examples. I feel like young adults would be a better target audience. But like I said, for me this was easy to follow. Then again, I’m not a kid.

Overall, I have to say that I liked it. It’s a really good guide to JavaScript and I do think it’s very suitable for beginners, like me. So if you want to learn about JavaScript, but you find other guides to difficult to follow or overwhelming, I would highly recommend this!   

★★★


ruby wizardryBook: Ruby Wizardry: An Introduction to Programming for Kids by Eric Weinstein
Published: June 22nd 2014 by No Starch Press
Genre: Non-Fiction, MG/YA
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

I received this book from the publisher -thank you!- via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion in any way.

Synopsis: Ruby Wizardry is a playful, illustrated tale that teaches kids how to program in Ruby by taking them on an enchanted adventure. The storybook combines whimsical narrative and fun illustrations with real programming lessons. As kids follow the adventures of young heroes Ruben and Scarlet, they’ll learn about strings, loops, lambdas, hashes, and more Ruby programming skills.

Review

As with JavaScript for Kids, I had no previous knowledge about programming and Ruby. I don’t think I’d ever used it and I sure didn’t know where to start. Ruby Wizardry is an amazing beginner’s guide to programming for kids. I do feel like this is much more kid-friendly than JavaScript for Kids. You’re taught how to work with Ruby through use of a story.

It starts with these two kids who help the King find his string necklace, which is where you learn about strings. Then a pipe in his castle bursts. Then you use a train to go to a breakfast restaurant and the train is stuck in a loop. Every single time they encounter a problem, which they then solve with use of Ruby. It’s a really interesting way to learn, because it keeps you -especially kids- involved in the story. And at the end of every chapter, they revise what you’ve learned so far. 

This is a really kid-friendly way of learning, and it’s a thorough guide as well! I truly learned a lot while going through this. It also gives you links if you need to download something and helps you start up Ruby. If you ever want to teach your kids how to program, I feel like this would be the perfect way!

★★★ ½

One thought on “Two Mini Non-Fiction Reviews | Javascript for Kids & Ruby Wizardry

Leave a Reply

