Weekly Wrap Up | September #4

Another week has passed, which means it’s time for another weekly wrap up! I can’t believe this is the fourth one I’m doing already. I feel like I just got started with the idea, but apparently a month has already passed in the meantime! 

What I Read (2)

weekly wrap up sep-4 p1

weekly wrap up sep-4 p2

  weekly wrap up sep-4 p3

The Rose and the Thorn (Riyria Chronicles #2) by Michael J. Sullivan – ★★★★★ // I’m in love with this one. I adore the characters! I’m so glad Michael J. Sullivan decided to continue writing the prequels, and I hope there will be many more to come!

Rebel Spring (Falling Kingdoms #2) by Morgan Rhodes – ★★★ ½ // I finally decided to continue with this series. I have mixed feelings about it. I’m interested in the story, the world and the magic but I’m not really attached to the characters. And that’s why Rebel Spring was my least favorite of the three so far, I think.

Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3) by Morgan Rhodes – ★★★★  // I liked this more than the previous one, because I feel like it was a lot more action-packed! Looking forward to the continuation of the story in Frozen Tides.

Atlas of Cursed Places by Olivier Le Carrer – ★★★ // This was a curious one! A non-fiction book with gorgeous maps talking about cursed places in the world. My review for this one will be up tomorrow!

Lumberjanes Single Issues #11-18 – ★★★★  // I just had to continue. I couldn’t leave it like that, knowing there were more single issues already out! I am in love with issue #1 through #17. I do feel like #18 disappointed me because suddenly the artwork changed entirely. How the characters looked and everything! And I liked the previous art style much better.

Ice Kissed (Kanin Chronicles #2) by Amanda Hocking – ★★★★ ½ // I’m really intrigued by this trilogy! I find it to be really captivating, and I really enjoy the main character as well.

This Week's #1

 the rose and the thorn

On the Blog (2)

  • Summer has come to an end and I’ve told you all about my summer wrap up. Better known as the FIRST TIME I actually managed to read at least half of a seasonal TBR. 
  • Obviously, as I wrap up one season I need to make plans for the next! So on this week’s Top Ten Tuesday post, I talked all about the books I want to read this fall: Fall TBR.
  • I wrote two mini reviews on non-fiction books! You can see my reviews for both JavaScript for Kids and Ruby Wizardry here
  • IT WAS MY BIRTHDAY! I’m officially 21 years old now. So I made a list of 22 things I want to do before I’m 22. 

In Real Life (2)

This week was the first week of class at uni. It’s so weird to go back! I feel like I’m definitely not settled in yet. I still have to get used to it all. But the first week went okay! I’m a tad scared because several professors have already announced that we’ll have to write papers too and along with our thesis, it seems like a lot of work. 

I FINALLY RECEIVED MY LAPTOP. Yes people, I am blogging to you from my new laptop, which only took like 40 days to get to me. I didn’t receive the backpack that was supposed to come with it but that’s a headache for later, I guess.

The new season of How to Get Away With Murder has begun! AND THE FIRST EPISODE WAS EPIC! I can’t wait to see what the new season has in store for us. Scorpion has started its second season too, and I very much enjoyed the first episode of that too. I watched the first episode of Scream Queens and Blindspot, two new shows, and I’m so impressed. I really loved Scream Queens. I’m so excited for all my shows to come back!  

But obviously, the most exciting thing for me this week was my birthday. On the day itself, I had an amazing dinner with my parents. And yesterday, I celebrated with my friends –which is why this post is going up late, I couldn’t quite manage to do much this morning. 


So that’s my wrap up for this week! What have you read this week? Or watched? Have you seen the new episodes of the shows I mentioned? I’d love to hear about it all! 
7 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | September #4

  1. YAY! Your laptop finally arrived! I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU! .< You've read so much this week – WELL DONE! I really want to read The Falling Kingdoms series as I've heard such good things, it's a pity you didn't enjoy the second one much, but hopefully the 4th book will be better! ❤

    I read I'll Give You the Sun last week and it was AMAZING! I seriously hope you enjoy it! 🙂

    Like

    • THANKS! It felt like a miracle to be honest. I hope you’ll enjoy Falling Kingdoms! I think I may not love it as much as everyone seems to because I’ve read quite a lot of multiple POV fantasy? Or maybe that’s not the reason at all. I don’t know. Anyway, I hope you’ll enjoy it!

      Like

  2. Happy Birthday! (Though I think I might have already said that…)

    So glad to hear that you’re loving the Riyria stories. The Revelations is definitely my favorite fantasy series and I was so thrilled to get to read the Chronicles. Do you know about the third in the Chronicles series coming out? (I think the release date has been pushed back to December now, which majorly disappoints me.) I really like the Falling Kingdoms series, but I know what you mean about the characters. While I do like two of the main characters, there’s at least one more that I truly hate. (I STILL haven’t decided about the fourth one…) Hope your next week of reading is good, too!

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I absolutely love the Riyria series -both of them. I know! I’m really looking forward to Death of Dulgath – I think that’s what it’s called, no? Anyway. There’s also I character I really don’t like in Falling Kingdoms! (not a fan of Jonas, to be honest). Thanks!

      Like

  3. Belated happy birthday! 😀 ACK I wish I had greeted you earlier on your actual birthday! Anyway, I’m so glad you had a great time and week. And great job that you got a new laptop!! That’s always exciting. Ice Kissed looks really interesting, and I applaud you TONS for having read a lot of books lately. I only managed to read 2 books for the entire September 😦 I hope to improve on my reading soon!

    Beautiful post Jolien ❤

    Jillian @ Jillian’s Books

    Like

Leave a Reply

