My 5 Favorite Bookish Pets

As you may have noticed from the title, today is a bit of a different post. I’ve been thinking a lot about pets lately -mainly because I REALLY want a dog- and then it dawned on me. Why don’t I make a post about my favorite pets in books? These are not my favorite animals in books! Mind the difference, guys. I chose these because the characters see these animals as pets. So here it is!

#1: Hedwig

harry potter and the philosopher's stone

From: Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

There was no way I was making this list without making Hedwig number 1. She’s the first pet I think of, always. I wish I had a pet companion like Harry has! Who doesn’t want a beautiful, snowy-white owl?

#2: Direwolves

a game of thrones

From: A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

I guess I could have made this more specific. But then I’d have to choose a favorite direwolf! And I can’t. Maybe Ghost? Or Grey Wind? Or Nymeria? Okay, I’m just listing them all now. Aside from Rickon’s wolf. Don’t want that one.

#3: The Ponies

written in red

From: The Others series by Anne Bishop

I’m not sure these actually qualify as pets. But we’re going to go with it, okay? So, the ponies. Why do I love them? First of all, because I imagine they are adorable. But also because they are elemental ponies! So can you imagine what a pony called Fog can do? Or whirlwind… It’s just epic. 

#4: Turtles

wait for you

From: Wait for You by J. Lynn

I think that one of the reasons I love the main male character, Cam, so much is that he has a pet turtle. And he loves it. He even has a leash to walk it around so it can get some exercise in. How adorable is that?

#5: Chainsaw

the raven boys

From: The Raven Boys series by Maggie Stiefvater

I’m going to be honest, ravens are far from my favorite animals. To be honest, they freak me out. BUT I can overlook that for Ronan’s pet raven, Chainsaw. I can overlook pretty much anything for the Raven Boys to be honest… 


So these are my 5 favorite pets in books! As I mentioned before, these aren’t my favorite animals though. Do you want to see a list of those as well? I’d love to make one if you all would be interested! So, what are your favorite bookish pets?
9 thoughts on “My 5 Favorite Bookish Pets

  1. This was a really interesting post! I’d love to know what your favourite animals are as well. 🙂 Totally agree with you on Hedwig. What there is a series with elemental ponies! I have to read it! Almost any book that has a horse in it is my favourite pet, the Companions from Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar series [although, those are much more than pets actually], Condor from Green Rider by Kristen Britain [a horse with real attitude!], Gwenevar from the Drizzt books by R.A. Salvatore [Yes I want a pet panther!] and does Saphira from Christopher Paolini count?

    Like

    • Thank you! Oh, then I’ll definitely make a favorite animals as well! YES, GO READ THE OTHERS SERIES. I love it so much. To be honest, a pet panther sounds awesome. Well, I didn’t include Saphira because I’d wanted to include her with the animals. I mean, she’s not really a pet, is she? So hard to figure out though…

      Like

  2. Interesting topic. Never really thought about it, myself. I guess, if I have to pick one, I would go with The Luggage, from the Discworld novels. Don’t know if it counts as a “pet”, though. It does have a strong will of its own. However, it does follow its owner (Rincewind) anywhere and is extremely dangerous..I mean: loyal and protective 😉
    On a side note: if you like turtles (or, I should say “tortoises”), try “Esio Trot” by Roald Dahl. Very lovely little book and the movie (with Dustin Hoffman and Judi Dench) is very funny, romantic, exciting,…anything you want from a Dahl-movie, really.

    Like

Leave a Reply

