Review: Lumberjanes Single Issues #1-18

lumberjanes #1Graphic novels: Lumberjanes Single Issues #1-18 by Noelle Stevenson
Published: April 9th, 2014 – …
Genre: Graphic novel, YA
Rating (average): 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository (Vol. 1) 

Synopsis: Jo, April, Mal, Molly and Ripley are five best pals determined to have an awesome summer together… and they’re not gonna let any insane quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way!

Review

As you may have seen in the title, I am making a review of all of the single issues I’ve read in one. Each issue is only like 24 pages, so I don’t see the point in making a separate review for each. 

I think it’s safe to say that I have fallen in love with these graphic novels. I think they are the cutest, plus they send some great messages along. So, they are essentially about these girls on a summer camp. All of these lumberjanes -which is the name of the summer camp- live together in the Roanoke cabin. And surprise, weird things always seem to happen to them! 

What I love the most is that the central theme of this series is friendship. These best friends all love each other, even though they are all massively different. They take care of each other, and are always there when one of them is in need. Isn’t that a great message? These days, too many books, movies and so on center around love and romance. And while I do think love is an important part of life, so is friendship. I feel like media takes friendship for granted sometimes, and it’s not written about enough. Okay, I’m going to stop my rant now. All I want to say is that their friendship is beautiful!

They go on all these crazy adventures, and as you go along you get to know the characters better. It’s also quite easy to tell them apart because they all look different. No “perfect-tall-blond-skinny” beauty standards here -and I thank you for it. I really like how each of the girls is so different! 

I can’t really talk about the adventures they go on because they change as the series continues, but I have to say that they were really cool. I was definitely surprised at times by the reveals and twists! (And I don’t know whether I would survive being a lumberjane because let’s be real, monsters). But they solve problems through physics, and math and SMART STUFF PEOPLE. These aren’t supernatural girls with special abilities. NO! They are just normal girls solving problems because they are awesome and smart. 

I also really like that every issue shows the badges the girls have earned so far -plus, they all have great names. So during each adventure, they do certain things that will earn them a badge!  Like a cake-decorating contest where they could win “absence makes the heart grow fondant”. I know, I just love silly puns like that. 

The only downside to them is issue #18, in my opinion. Suddenly, the art style changed completely. The characters were drawn differently! I much preferred the previous one! The first 17 issues have amazing artwork. I think that’s even my preferred style for graphic novels -if you’re curious, you can already see it on the cover. So I was SO disappointed and confused in issue 18… I hope they’ll change it back, even though I doubt they will. 


This review in a nutshell: I love all of these graphic novels, and if you haven’t read them yet you need to do so right now! It’s an amazing series about friendship -and let’s be real, celebrating smart girls and women! 

One thought on “Review: Lumberjanes Single Issues #1-18

Leave a Reply

