My Favorite Bookish Animals

Hi everyone! So a few days ago, I wrote all about my favorite bookish pets. And I mentioned that that list wasn’t the same as a list of my favorite animals would be. Why? Well, obviously not every animal is a pet. (I’m a genius, I know). So I thought I’d now make a list of my favorite bookish animals. Let’s get started! 

#1: Saphira

eragon

From: The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

Saphira is the primary reason I wanted to make this list. She is one of the first animals I think of, but you really can’t classify her as a pet. She’s far too intelligent, dangerous and impressive for that. She’s basically an intelligent human as a dragon. I kind of wish I could have a Saphira… 

#2: Shadowfax

fellowship of the ring

From: The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien 

I can just imagine the beautiful white horse from the series. The pride of Rohan. The most beautiful and best horse that ever existed. Even though horses scare me a bit, I have nothing but respect for this beautiful creature. And let’s be real, without Shadowfax, Gandalf wouldn’t be able to come to the rescue, ever. 

#3: Fawkes

harry potter and the philosopher's stone

From: Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Couldn’t leave Fawkes out of this list either! I don’t know whether everyone truly realizes how important Fawkes is. Without this beautiful phoenix, Harry wouldn’t even have a wand. Or have become older than 12. 

#4: Blackjack

percy jackson 1

From: the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

Another horse! Kind of. Blackjack is a pegasus, really. And if that isn’t epic enough, he’s also hilarious. Plus, he always calls Percy “boss”. This book really made me wish I was a demigod who could talk to pegasi. Although really, would I have survived all the adventures? Probably not. 

#5: Aslan

the lion the witch and the wardrobe - narnia

From: The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

A childhood favorite! Narnia was one of the first magical stories I was exposed to -although I have to be honest and say I meant the movie. In the meantime, I have read 3 of the books but my love for the majestic lion hasn’t reduced. If only every kingdom had a lion at its head…

#6: Drogon, Rhaegal & Viserion

a game of thrones

From: A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin

Obviously, I couldn’t forget about these three dragons either. They make Daenarys into the badass she is: Mother of Dragons. I have to say that these three are particularly terrifying. I don’t know where their story is going to go but I have a feeling it won’t be bloodless. 

#7: Mockingjays

the hunger games

From: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

As a last choice, I went for the mockingjays. These birds just fascinate me! And every time I hear the name, I have to think of the Mockingjay whistle Rue made up. 


So those are my favorite animals! Did I forget any? Also, as I was making this list, I thought of another one: “favorite shapeshifters”. Would you like to see that? I feel like I can keep going forever with these kinds of lists. I love making lists… Anyway! What are your favorite bookish animals?

12 thoughts on “My Favorite Bookish Animals

  1. YES to Blackjack and Aslan – I LOVE THEM SO MUCH. One of my other favorite bookish animals is Manchee from The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, he’s so wonderful! Looking forward to more lists (lists are the best, aren’t they?!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

