Top Ten Tuesday: You Need to Write a Novel Together, RIGHT NOW.

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, we’re talking author duos. In other words, these people need to go and write a book together. Why hasn’t it happened yet?

#1: Scott Lynch & Michael J. Sullivan

the lies of locke lamora the rose and the thorn

If these two would write a book together, I would buy like 20 copies. And I’m not even kidding. I think that book would be a beautiful blend of Scott Lynch’s amazing plots and Michael J. Sullivan’s easy-to-read writing. Scott Lynch creates such intricate plots! It’s like a giant spiderweb, and each page you discover a new thread he’s weaving. And while Michael J. Sullivan’s plots and characters are amazing too, his books are just so much easier to read than Lynch’s. A blend of these two writers would be epic. 

#2: George R.R. Martin & Brandon Sanderson

a game of thrones the final empire

So, why did I pair these two together? First of all, both are masters at creating epic fantasy books and worlds. They are kings of the genre! I can’t imagine the type of amazing story these two would create together. While both are epic fantasy and write huge books, Sanderson’s are much quicker reads so I’m excited at how their writing styles would go together… And then we’d get the multiple POVs from Game of Thrones in Sanderson’s work as well, which would be intriguing. I mean, he writes multiple POVs as well, but not in the same way? Plus, Brandon Sanderson writes a hell of a lot faster. SO MAYBE IT WILL INSPIRE MARTIN TO WRITE FASTER.

#3: Amanda Hocking & Rae Carson 

frostfire girl of fire and thorns

Okay, let me tell you why these two authors would create an epic read. First of all, they are both incredible at creating YA fantasy stories. They both write kick-ass ladies who get their skills through practice and training, not just talent. AND they both write fantasy worlds inspired by other cultures! Frostfire’s is inspired by Scandinavia, while Girl of Fire and Thorns has Hispanic influences. I’m really curious at what these two could create together. 

#4: V.E. Schwab & Sarah J. Maas

A Darker Shade final for Irene throne of glass

YES. Am I the only one who thinks this would be a great idea? V.E. Schwab creates some amazing fantasy stories, but her characters are why I love books so much. I feel like she really explores the “grey area” of someone’s character: being both a hero and a villain. Which is kind of what Celaena is too? 

#5: Colleen Hoover & Sophie Kinsella

maybe someday can you keep a secret

Okay, I love both of these romance authors. Their books are quite different styles of romance, but I think they would make for an interesting blend. Colleen Hoover writes really heart-wrenching stories with incredible characters. Sophie Kinsella’s novels are usually more light-hearted and funny. So I’m very curious to see what they could create with that…

#6: Madeline Miller & Rick Riordan

the song of achilles percy jackson 1

These two both write some amazing Greek mythology inspired novels. Madeline Miller’s book was really touching and definitely tugged the heartstrings, while Rick Riordan’s are more light-hearted and funny. But can you imagine the story they could create together? I’m getting goosebumps just thinking about it. 

#7: Rachel Aaron & Christopher Paolini

the spirit thief eragon

This is my last author duo for today! Both of these authors created an amazing fantasy series! They are easy to read, fun and intriguing. I don’t really know why I’d love for these authors to write together, but I do. It would be epic, I’m telling you! 


So those are my Top Ten Tuesday picks for this week- even though there are only 7… What do you think of my choices? Would you buy a book written by these duos? And which author duos have you chosen for this week’s topic?
24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: You Need to Write a Novel Together, RIGHT NOW.

  1. I haven’t read of many as these authors I probably should have—a lot of them are on my TBR. I totally agree with V.E. Schwab and Sarah J. Maas. I haven’t read Victoria’s adult novels, but I loved the Unbound books.

    My list

    Like

  2. 100% count me in for a collaboration between Schwab and Maas. That would be awesome! And I completely agree with Cait @ Paper Fury, George RR Martin and Brandon Sanderson would make an amazing, but extremely long book together, I’d still buy it though 🙂

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Like

  3. Um HECK YES to GRRM and Brandon Sanderson, but can we pause for a minute and think about how big the book would be. IT WOULD BE LIKE A SQUARE CUBE, OMG. It’d be like 9000 hours on audio. XD But I want it. Omg, waaaant.
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t read any of these books, but most of them are on my TBR haha! I especially want to read The Lies of Locke Lamora and The Song of Achilles 😀 great list!! Maybe some of these partnerships will come true 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

