Mini Reviews | Graphic Novel Edition

Hi everyone! I’ve been reading some graphic novels this year but I never really made a review on them -and exception goes for Lumberjanes. So today, I’m combining mini reviews on some of the graphic novels I’ve read this year. Let’s do this!


#1: Chew Vol. 1-4

chew vol 1

Graphic Novels: Chew Vol. 1-4 by John Layman & Rob Guillory
Genre: Crime, Fantasy
Rating (average): 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository (Vol. 1)

This graphic novel series centers around Tony Chu, who is a cibopath. What is that, you ask? Well, when Tony bites into something he can tell certain things about it. Like the origin, what happened to it and so on. Now, Tony Chu is a detective, which means he sometimes has to bite a victim to know what happened. 

I quite liked these volumes! It was definitely a fun and quick read, because Tony’s stories are hilarious. Plus, it’s really unique. I can’t say I’ve ever read anything like it. Also in this world, chicken is illegal due to a disease that came from consuming it. So selling and buying chicken is illegal. How genius is that? I mean, I’d be a criminal because I often eat chicken. So somehow this centers around crime, and chicken. There’s really no other way to describe it. While I enjoyed the volumes as I was reading them, I don’t have the compulsion of “I have to read the rest now”. So I enjoyed them, but wasn’t completely captivated either. However, I would recommend them if the story seems like fun to you

★★★★


#2: Ms. Marvel Vol. 1

ms marvel vol 1

Graphic Novel: Ms Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson
Published: October 15th, 2014 by Marvel 
Genre: Superhero comics
Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

Synopsis: Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! When Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them, as well.

Okay, so I had high expectations for this one. Not really sure why because it’s not like I’ve read a lot of Marvel before but it just looked so amazing? Plus, I was happy that they were bringing some diversity to the superhero party. I did enjoy the first volume, although I find it hard to truly form an opinion on just one volume. But I liked the story-line and am definitely thinking of continuing on. The only problem I had with this was the diversity -I know, contradicting myself here. But I felt like it was very stereotypical? Kamala is a muslim girl, and I felt like the way her religion and family was portrayed was very stereotypical. I mean, I’m sure this happens, but not every muslim family is extremely strict like that. I don’t know, I just felt like they were confirming a stereotype… 

★★★★


#3: Daredevil Vol. 1

daredevil vol 1

Graphic Novel: Daredevil Vol. 1 (Hardcover) by Kevin Smith
Published: April 8th, 2003 by Marvel Comics
Genre: Superhero comics
DNF

Goodreads

Synopsis: A tragic accident took his sight-but in return, enhanced Matt Murdock’s remaining senses far beyond human limits. An accomplished attorney by day, by night Murdock seeks justice outside the law as Daredevil, The Man Without Fear.

Obviously, I didn’t enjoy this -obvious because I DNF’ed it… The art-work was good but not my favorite but it really was the story I couldn’t get along with. It was just so… WEIRD. Everyone was crazy! They were trying to convince Matt Murdock that this baby would grow up to be like the devil. And trying to convince him to kill the baby. And then they blackmailed others to kill the baby? WHAT? IT’S A BABY? And then a nun died and I was just freaking lost. Yeah, wouldn’t recommend this really.

DNF


#4: Saga Vol. 4

Saga vol 4

Graphic Novel: Saga Vol. 4 by Brian K. Vaughan
Published: November 25th, 2014 by Image Comics
Genre: Scifi, Adult
Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository 

I really enjoy this graphic novel series. I think this was one of the first graphic novel series that I ever read! I can’t really say all that much about the plot because that would majorly spoil you for the previous books… But anyway, here are my thoughts on this volume! 

I felt like this was the most realistic of them all. Which is ridiculous, because it involves different species and a space war. But I mean, the relationship between the main characters was very realistic. They are going through a rough time at the moment, and are both seeking solace in different -and the wrong- places. So that was really an interesting twist on the story! I do want to continue on with this series, even though the female MC kind of got on my nerves. You’ve got a baby, WHY ARE YOU BEING SO IRRESPONSIBLE? That’s not a spoiler by the way… I would really recommend this series if you’re interested, and can read adult content. Because this series has a lot of it!

★★★★


So those are my mini reviews on some of the graphic novels I’ve read this year! Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? Do you have any other graphic novels to recommend?

4 thoughts on “Mini Reviews | Graphic Novel Edition

    • I would love to help you, honestly. But I haven’t read many graphic novels at all. Especially Marvel & DC! I find it so intimidating because I never know where to start. I did like Ms Marvel though, so if you’re interested in that I’d say check it out. I’ve heard good things about Runaways as well, and I want to check that one out too. So sorry I couldn’t help you more!

      Like

Leave a Reply

