Top Ten Tuesday: 8 Wishes from the Book Genie

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, we’re talking about genies! And all of the bookish wishes…

I WISH…

#1: That there was no such thing as a reading slump

I am currently in a reading slump and it is the absolute worst. I’m constantly thinking: “But there are soooo many great stories I could be discovering right now”. But I can’t actually pay attention to anything I’m reading. So yes, the world would be a better place without reading slumps. 

#2: For an English library in Brussels

This is a wish close to my heart. Honestly. The library here has a little English selection, but not really all that much. And it’s impossible for me to buy every book I want to read! That would cost too much money. So I wish there was a big library filled with only English books in Brussels! I would go there all the time. In fact, I’d probably live there.

#3: That I could go to a book convention like BEA

This is such a dream of mine! I’d love to go to BEA/Bookcon. I’ve been hearing about it ever since I started reading blogs and watching videos and I’ve wanted to go ever since. However, my blog is still a tiny spec in the bookish universe, the timing isn’t great in relation to my university studies and it costs a lot of money to take a plane to the U.S…

#4: To be able to experience books for the first time… again

This is such a dream. There are certain series that I absolutely adore, and reading them the first time was a wonder. So I wish I could just experience them for the first time, a second time -YES THAT MADE SENSE. 

 #5: For ever movie adaptation to be great

I may be asking the impossible here. And I don’t mean for it to be a perfect copy of the book. I just want it to be a good movie. Is that really too much to ask?

#6: For George R.R. Martin to take his books into account more than the series

Okay, hear me out on this one. I know that right now, he isn’t writing for the series anymore so he can work on his book. And while I love the series, I felt like he should have prioritized his books over the show. He did so much writing for it, so many interviews and appearances -which is great, don’t get me wrong. But now we’re stuck, like 5 years later, still without the next book. I absolutely love that his books got famous, and that an amazing TV show was made. But honestly… It’s hard for the fans who’ve been waiting for so long. I know he’ll do us justice and come out with an amazing book, I just hope that it’ll be sometime soon. 

#7: That I could meet my favorite characters -and authors

First of all, I want to meet my favorite authors. It would make my year -or life- if I could meet J.K. Rowling, Rick Riordan, Madeline Miller, George R.R. Martin, Scott Lynch, Michael J. Sullivan and so on. That would be incredible. But don’t you also wish you could meet your favorite characters at least once? Like Locke Lamora (The Lies of Locke Lamora) or Hermione. 

#8: That more people would enjoy reading

Aside from our wonderful community, reading sometimes has a “bad rep”. I mean, a lot of people think of reading as boring and a waste of time. And that makes me sooo sad. Most of the time I think it’s because they were forced to read certain books in school that they hated. And they were never encouraged to find a genre or style of writing that they would enjoy. So I wish that all people could find a genre, a style, an author or even a book to enjoy. I think the world would be a better place. 


So those are my 8 wishes from the book genie! Do you agree with any? If you’ve made some bookish wishes, I’d love to hear about it -so feel free to link up to your TTT!
24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 8 Wishes from the Book Genie

  1. I feel like number 8 is a very important one because I have met countless people who either dislike reading or don’t think much of it. I get it isn’t for everyone but I feel like they’re missing out on amazing stories :/

    Like

    • YES! Gone with the slumps. I’m often disappointed too, which is why I want to wish for this… It doesn’t have to be a perfect copy of the book, but at least make it a good movie, you know? Thanks Alicia!

      Like

    • I know, right? I just can’t deal. I also hate it because there is just no information available. No release date, nothing. One of my other favorite series (Gentleman Bastards by Scott Lynch) got pushed back too, but at least we have a release date for it. And concrete information!

      Like

  2. YES !! I would certainly come and visit you in that English library.
    How I miss the American Book Centre in Leuven…I’ve spent many hours just w(a/o)ndering (see what I did there?) between those shelves.

    I think I have just one wish..bring back Sir Terry Pratchett.

    Like

  3. Great list! And I feel your pain regarding GRRM, it takes AGES for the next one to come out, and the waiting game is so painful XD Fortunately, it seems Winds of Winter is slated for release next year, so hopefully it will come true!

    Like

Leave a Reply

