Top 10 Tuesday: 5 Characters I Want to Dress Up As

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, we’re talking Halloween! To be honest, I’ve never understood the absolute obsession part of the world seems to have with Halloween -looking at you, U.S. It’s not that big of a celebration here? Anyway, here’s my list!Β 

I don’t really read many horror books, so I figured I’d go a different direction. Instead, I’ve chosen 10 characters I’ve always wanted to dress up as!

TTT halloween costumes

Galadriel – The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien // I think this is a timeless choice. Ever since I first watched the movies, I have loved Galadriel. Her power, her beauty, her grace, her wisdom. She’s so incredible it’s kind of scary. Plus, in every fantasy world ever, elves are my favorite.

Arwen – The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien // Again, an elvish woman by Tolkien. I know I’m boring here, but let’s be real. If you’ve seen the movies, don’t you wish you could be her by the end? HELLO Strider.Β 

Achilles – The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller // Yes, I know Achilles is male -and I am not. But who doesn’t want to be Achilles? Best of the Greeks.

Hermione – Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling // Hermione has always been my #1 idol. When I was little, my mom used to call me her little Hermione. Not only did I have the unfortunate hair from the beginning -not on purpose by the way- I loved books, reading and learning. To be honest, I can’t think of a more wonderful woman to look up to, no matter that she’s fictional. So yes, Hermione costume!

Arya Stark – A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin // Arya has been the character I’ve been rooting for since page 1. I just love her spirit, her strength and her capability to survive.Β 

I know that these may seem like all of the obvious choices ever. But hear me out before you judge! I’ve come to understand that when none of your friends really like to read, you have to go with the famous characters and costumes. If you choose a book, story or character that’s lesser known, you’ll spend the entire evening answering: “Who are you supposed to be?”. Which gets terribly annoying after like, 2 minutes.


If you’ve made a Top Ten Tuesday today, let me know. I’m hoping to pick up some great recommendations for Halloween-ish reads this Tuesday!

27 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: 5 Characters I Want to Dress Up As

  1. PAH. Yeah, I would definitely dress up as Galadriel or Arwen, because of reasons. Hermione is great, but since I’m blond, I’d go for Luna Lovegood πŸ˜€ I would also love to dress up as the Mad Hatter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

