An Ode to the Characters of Harry Potter

Today is a bit of a different post. While I was writing my Top Ten Tuesday post of this week, I was thinking about Hermione, and the fact that I’ve been looking up to her ever since I was a kid. At first, I wanted to write a post called “Characters I Look Up To” but then I realized that I would have to fill the first part of that with exclusively characters from Harry Potter. So that gave me the idea to write this post, an ode the the characters of my favorite series. 

giphy

One of the reasons I love this series so much, is that you can find something in each character to admire. A reason to look up to them. So today, I’ll be talking about the characters I admire, and why.

P.S. I know I didn’t add Dumbledore here, but there is just too much I’d want to say. Maybe I should make a separate admiration post for him?

Harry Potter // I had to start with the obvious three of course. Where do I even start with this? I look up to Harry for several reasons. It started in the first book, when he told Malfoy he could very well decide for himself who the right people were. That was the first tell of how good a person he truly is. I have so much respect for this character. For most of his childhood, he didn’t know love. He was treated so terribly, yet he remained a loving and caring person. An honest one. Always trying to do the right thing. He loved so much that he would have sacrificed everything. The ultimate selfless act. Which let’s be real, not many of us would do. Even though we like to think we would. 

Hermione Granger // Aaaah, my first girl crush ever. Hermione is everything I aspire to be. Although I have even more love for another character, but I’ll get to that later. J.K. Rowling once said in an interview that she wanted to make Hermione a heroine. Why? Because the studious and smart people usually get portrayed as nerdy and well…a bit ridiculous? You know what I mean. And I love that. She is smart, so very capable, but kind and genuine too. She’s so incredibly loyal to her friends and her family -even though she’s made fun of because she has muggle parents. And let’s not forget about her sacrifice. I think in one way, it was even bigger than Harry’s… 

Ron Weasley // Throughout the books, Ron struggles with something everyone has at some point in their life: having a friend who is always in the limelight. Being an introvert, I experience this very often. You start to feel like you’re actually part of the wallpaper, that no one truly sees you. But does that matter, when the friendship is true? Being part of such a big family, and then being Harry Potter’s best friend, Ron has had to deal with this his whole life. And yes, he has made some dumb decisions because of it. But the most important thing is that he always tries to be the best friend he can be.

Ginny Weasley // Ginny is the woman I look up to most I think. Why? I feel like Ginny is a very underrated person. She is an enormously powerful witch, but next to Hermione, she often gets overlooked. She’s smart and clever, traits she gathered from growing up with Fred & George. She’s loyal, honest and everything I aspire to be as a person. Yet so many people just think of her as Harry’s girlfriend. But she doesn’t complain. Ginny kind of taught me that you can be strong, powerful, kind and loyal, and that you don’t need anyone else’s acknowledgement to be so. Being underrated isn’t always bad, it can give you a great advantage in certain situations.

Fred & George // A lot of people think Fred & George are just the jokers there to lighten up the mood a bit. But they have so many traits I admire! First of all, they see a positive side in everything. Cracking a joke in the worst circumstances, trying to make everyone feel better. Second of all, they know what they want and aren’t afraid to work hard to get there. Even though their mother didn’t approve of their career choices, they knew it was the right choice for them. Knowing what you want and actually going for it? That I admire

Molly Weasley // Family. That is what Molly stands for to me. The strength and power of a loving family. She wants the best for her children, and sometimes that requires getting angry at them for doing something stupid. She may not have a lot of money, but she has raised her sons and daughter well. They are all kind people, smart people. That is the portrait of a good mother to me. You may not have everything in a materialistic sense, but that doesn’t mean you are any less. They are all supportive and strong, and love their family, would do anything for each other.

Severus Snape // I kind of hate and admire Snape. I feel bad for everything he’s been through, but I also think it’s no excuse for what he did, how he treats children. But what I learned from Snape? Love is the most powerful emotion of them all. Time doesn’t change that. 

Luna Lovegood // Luna taught me to always be myself. Other people may think you’re weird as hell, but that doesn’t matter. You should always stay true to who you are, and you’ll make friends who appreciate that quality in you. Everyone should be a bit more like Luna: not afraid to be herself.

Neville Longbottom // Neville can teach us all a lesson on courage. It may be a different kind of courage than Harry’s, but hat doesn’t make it any less important. He’s constantly made fun of, but he grows up to be an incredible wizard, in my opinion. He knows what is right, and learns to stand up for what he thinks. Even to his friends. 

Remus Lupin // Remus taught me that one trait does not define who you are. Being a werewolf wasn’t all he was. He also taught me that looks can be deceiving, and shouldn’t always matter. He often looked disheveled, yet he was a smart, strong and kind man.

Sirius Black // I think it’s safe to say that Sirius can teach us all a lesson in friendship. What it wouldn’t be like to have a friendship like the Marauders did? Friends who would do anything for each other, unconditional love -no matter that one of them was a werewolf.

Hagrid // Hagrid sees the good in everything and everyone. Refusing to accept that something/someone is evil just because that’s the prejudice. Often, that leads to not so great decisions on Hagrid’s part, but still. It’s a attitude to look up to I think. To not assume something/someone is bad just because that is what you were always told

Draco Malfoy // Ah, Draco. I think Draco shows us all that it’s possible to learn from your mistakes, and grow to be a better person. He was raised in a household that didn’t show love, but punishment. A house that admired the Dark Lord. However, when it was finally his turn to inherit the right, he realized it was wrong, a mistake. But once you’re in… His story reminds me that hope is never lost, no matter how awful the mistakes you’ve made may seem.

Dudley Dursley // Don’t get me wrong, I hated Dursley in the beginning. But as he grows up, you start to see he may not be such a bad person after all. After the 5th book, you truly start to see the changes . I love that moment when he shakes Harry’s hand. To see that he grew from such an awful and despicable kid to that, it lightens my heart. 

Dobby // No matter how small the person, he/she can still make a difference. A little bit of kindness shown turned Dobby into a loyal friend. And I think it’s safe to say Harry would never have survived without Dobby. 

Kreacher // Always treat everyone well. Be kind and others will be kind to you. That’s the lesson I’ve learned from Kreacher. 


I hope you’ve enjoyed this post! I know it’s a lot of text, sorry. So here are some of the things I’ve learned from my favorite characters and series. What did Harry Potter teach you? Do you have a series that taught you all those things when you were younger? I’d love to hear about it. Finally, because there was so much text, here’s another gif:

tumblr_mqsari9dSo1s6uscuo1_500

13 thoughts on “An Ode to the Characters of Harry Potter

  1. I literally just wrote a post on my favorite Harry Potter characters 😀

    There’s no series quite like it! I learned a lot from the books: that the easy decision isn’t always the right one and that you can choose your fate, the importance of good friends, that you should always try to be yourself, be kind to everyone but especially people over whom you have power, and to stand up for your beliefs.

    Like

  2. I agree with all of the things — and you’ve managed to nail the exact reasons why the Weasley twins and Sirius Black are my favourite characters. Also Molly, because she’s badass and I want to hug her. Sure, Fred and George are funny and they make me laugh, but they make you laugh during the darkest of times, and that’s what counts. And Sirius is just *swoon*

    Harry Potter has so much depth and so many layers. I could read posts like these forever.

    Like

  3. Hahaha. That last gif always makes me chuckle.
    This is a wonderful post. I really believe that the wonderful characters are the heart of the Harry Potter series and why I love it so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

