Top Ten Tuesday: A Book-to-Movie Watchlist

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, I’m talking about all the book-to-movie adaptations I really want to watch. There are some new ones on here, some older ones and some I should’ve seen a long time ago… Let’s get into it!

ttt movie adaptations 1

The Martian (by Andy Weir) // I have actually read this book! And I absolutely loved it. So I’m really curious to see how I’ll like the movie. The trailer looked really great -even though I think it was kind of telling already? Like, if you haven’t read the book before, you already learned A LOT just by watching that trailer. Too much, I think. 

The Scorch Trials (by James Dashner) // As some of you may know, I didn’t really like this trilogy in book format. I did however, like the first movie. So I’m excited to watch the sequel! YOU GO DYLAN O’BRIEN!

Still Allice (by Lisa Genova) // This seems very different from what I usually read/watch. I haven’t read this book, but I’ve heard such amazing things about it. So I want to read it, and watch the movie!

Room (by Emma Donoghue) // Same situation as above. I really need to read this book and watch the movie, because everyone seems to love it. 

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (by Jesse Andrews) // I’m not sure about this one… I haven’t really been reading this genre for a bit, and so I’m not sure I’ll actually end up reading the book. But I really want to watch the movie! I know, blasphemy, right?

ttt movie adaptations 2

The Giver (by Lois Lowry) // I haven’t read this book nor have I seen the movie. But in this case, I really want to do both! 

If I Stay (by Gayle Forman) // Probably won’t read the book, but I’m really interested in the movie! 

Wild (by Cheryl Strayed) // I have this one on my shelf, and I’m really excited to read it. But I also LOVE Reese Witherspoon, so I’m incredible excited to watch the movie as well. 

Unbroken (by Laura Hillenbrand) // This isn’t something I would’ve picked up normally. But I saw a trailer from the movie, which looked incredible. Then I heard that Angelina Jolie directed it -I think? So that made me even more excited. 

The Shining (by Stephen King) // I know… No, I’ve never read the Shining. And no, I’ve never seen the movie. I know, SHAME. But I really want to do so! I feel like this is a huge hole in my reading culture. So I have to watch it -unlike his “It” which I will never read or watch. Clowns, hell no.


So that’s my watchlist! I really need to watch all of these movies. Have you seen/read any of them? If you’ve made a TTT, feel free to leave a link. 
37 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: A Book-to-Movie Watchlist

  1. The If I Stay movie is GORGEOUS. But I think the book is better. XD But it’s one of those ones where both are like 4-5 stars for me. XD And omg The Giver…the GIVER IS EVERYTHING. *hyperventilates* I loved the movie a lot and it actually made more sense for me than the book did? I want to see Me and Earl since I read the book particularly so I wouldn’t do the bookworm taboo (ahah and after my post you know how often I do that. :P) Still haven’t gotten to it though. 0-0 SO MANY BOOKS TO READ.

    Like

  2. I finally saw The Martian, and loved it! I should still see If I Stay (I liked the book), and I forgot about Wild, so I should see that too. I loved the book version of Unbroken, and thought the movie was a pretty good adaptation. The Shining is an amazing book! The movie is weird and really different, but also super scary and with so many iconic moments that I feel like it’s a must-see. Great list!

    Like

  3. I have some of the same on my list. As for The Shining- here is my humble opinion- the movie is very good- classic Kubrick- but SO different from the book which is amazing. My husband always loved the movie- I had him listen to the audiobook and he was blown away by how different-read better- the book was.

    Like

  4. I agree with you about The Martian trailer. I’m on the fence still about how I feel with Matt Damon as Mark. Guess we’ll see. 🙂 I also want to read Still Alice so I can watch the movie. And also ditto for Room. lol I’ve heard some pretty fantastic things about Me and Earl and the Dying Girl but eh, I’m not usually big on YA Contemp. Wild and Unbroken are two I definitely want to read soon so I can watch the movies. Great list!!

    Like

  5. I completely agree with the Maze Runner books vs. movies. It’s rare that I like the movie better, but in this case that’s just how it is. I still need to read a couple books from your list before seeing the movie, but The Martian and Wild were amazing.

    Like

  6. I seen if I stay it was pretty decent but I haven’t read the book–so not sure if that counts. The giver was great but the movie looks like it’s far off so I’m not sure. Great list!

    Like

  7. I have to say that I really didn’t care for The Giver movie. It felt too different from the book and I love the book so I wasn’t quite okay with that.
    That said, it is a well done movie if you can separate it from the book it is based on. That’s only my opinion though.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Amanda

    Like

  8. I agree that the trailer of The Martian is a bit too telling. But I guess they had to make it like that to appeal to people who haven’t read the book. It’s a great movie though, you should go see it!

    Like

  9. Nice list. Always tricky, though: reading the book first, or watching the film first? And not get too disappointed when the movie isn’t like the book. The Shining is one of those. Great move! Great book! But please don’t compare the two. Stick with non-horror King-stories if you want good movie-to-book-ratio (e.g. The Shawshank Redemption)
    But I think you left out a few of the classics: Breakfast at Tiffany’s, The Godfather,…The list is endless. My favourite: The Silver Linings Playbook. But I’m a Cooper and Lawrence fan, what can I say 😉

    Like

    • I love Silver Linings Playbook! I’ve already seen and read it though, which is why I didn’t include it.
      I know! I just do whatever I feel like. Feel like watching the movie? So I do :D. Thanks! I’ll keep in mind to not compare the two. Sometimes, that can really ruin one of the two…

      Like

Leave a Reply

