Top Ten Tuesday: Quotes From the Past Year

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, it’s all about them quotes. YES! This is one of my favorite topics. Why? Aside from the obvious reasons, I already know that I’m going to get a tattoo of one of my favorite literary quotes one day. 

ttt quotes 17 11

“When one dream burns to ash, you don’t crumble beneath it. You get on your hands and knees, and you sift through those ashes until you find the very last ember, the very last spark. Then you breathe. You breathe. You fucking breathe. And you make a new fire.” 

From: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids, by Sarah Ockler

 

“Spend your free time the way you like, not the way you think you’re supposed to.” 

From: Quiet by Susan Cain

 

“I’m not going to die,” she said. “Not till I’ve seen it.”
“Seen what?”
Her smile widened. “Everything.” 

 

“I could recognize him by touch alone, by smell; I would know him blind, by the way his breaths came and his feet struck the earth. I would know him in death, at the end of the world.” 

 

“Chiron had said once that nations were the most foolish of mortal inventions. “No man is worth more than another, wherever he is from.” 

 

“Plenty of humans were monstrous, and plenty of monsters knew how to play at being human.” 

 

ttt quotes 17 11 p2
“Have you ever asked yourself, do monsters make war, or does war make monsters?” 

 

“Stand aside, and try not to catch fire if I shed sparks of genius.”

 

“What is government but theft by consent?” 

 

“Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.”

So those are my choices for this week! Do you like them? Have you read any of the books? I’d love to hear about it. And if you’ve made a TTT list, feel free to leave a link!
15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Quotes From the Past Year

  1. I love your selection! Seriously like all of them! I’m kicking myself for forgetting to include V E Schwab on my list. There are so many great quotes in her work. I love Laini Taylor too, so thought provoking. And I am definitely going to have to make time for Scott Lynch’s work next year because those quotes are awesome.

    Epic list, Thank you
    Rachel @ paein-and-ms4Tune.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

