Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Thankful For

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today’s topic is inspired by Thanksgiving. Which I don’t actually celebrate, but we’ll just go along with it. 

ttt thankful 24 11

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling // I don’t think I have to explain this one much. Thank you, for making me fall in love with reading, and with magic. 

Eragon (Inheritance #1) by Christopher Paolini // Thank you, for strengthening my love for fantasy when I was still so young. And thank you, for being the first series I was so impatient to finish that I started reading in English, because I couldn’t wait for the translation. 

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson #1) by Rick Riordan // Thank you for making me realize how much I missed reading. For making me start to read again. For reminding me of my love for the Greek mythology. For letting me love a series even though I was already older than your target audience. 

The Fellowship of the Ring (Lord of the Rings #1) by J.R.R. Tolkien // Thank you for existing, for shaping the fantasy genre, for being adapted so well, and for inspiring me all the time. 

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards #1) by Scott Lynch // Thank you Scott Lynch, for writing. The world would be a sadder place without your genius books. 

ttt thankful 24 11 p2

The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon Sanderson // Thank you, for introducing me to this amazing author and his wondrous worlds. 

Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop // Thank you, for introducing me to this great urban fantasy series. I do love epic fantasy, and so I forgot the wonders urban fantasy could bring. 

Quiet by Susan Cain // Thank you, for helping me both accept and love myself. For letting me know that being an introvert is not a bad thing. Not something to be ashamed of. At all.

Me Before You (Me Before You #1) by Jojo Moyes // Thank you for inspiring me. For opening my eyes to how fleeting everything can be. For inspiring me to LIVE. 

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller // Thank you, for making me fall in love with a different side of Greek mythology. For taking one of my favorite tales, twisting it and force me to love it even more. For asking me to look at an otherwise so overlooked character, and feel for him. For making me cry. And smile.


That was my TTT for this week! What are you thankful for? Do you celebrate Thanksgiving? 
33 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Thankful For

  1. Ok, reading some of your descriptions on why you’re thankful just made me feel all mushy. What are you trying to do to me here!? hahaha 🙂 I definitely agree with a lot of your choices though. Tolkien most importantly!

    Here is my TTT!

    Like

  2. Lovely list! I’m thankful for so many of the books in my lives, including several from your list (especially Harry Potter). I finally got myself a copy of Quiet, and I’m looking forward to reading it over the holidays.

    Like

  3. I don’t celebrate thanksgiving either buuuut IT’S A NICE PROMPT, right?!?! I’m endlessly thankful for everything and anything Rick Riordan. :’) I’ve read 10 of his books this year! Best. binge. reading. decision. EVER. 😀 Here’s my TTT!

    Like

Leave a Reply

