Top Ten Tuesday: Intriguing 2016 debuts

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today’s topic is all about them 2016 debut novels. 

Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers // February 2nd by HarperTeen // The first sentence of the synopsis includes nine assassin families who lawfully kill for a price. I don’t care about anything else anymore because I already know I’ll need to read that book. Plus, the cover is just gorgeous, I love those warm colors. 

Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto // February 2nd by Balzer + Bray // In the synopsis it says that the main character lost her family and her arm because of cannibals. Yup, sounds like a story I’ll have to check out. (I’m guessing she wants revenge…)

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton // March 8th by Penguin // It’s a YA fantasy with Arabian influences, about a murderous Sultan and a sharpshooting girl fleeing on a mythical horse. (I feel like I just made that up, but I swear I got it from the synopsis…) 

The Reader (Sea of Ink and Gold #1) by Traci Chee // September 13th by Putnam // It’s about a girl in an illiterate society, and a book that might save them. I’ll need to read anything in which a book could be the magical object. 

The Crown’s Game (The Crown’s Game #1) by Evelyn Skye // May 17th by Balzer + Bray // This is a YA-fantasy-historical-fiction book. There are only two enchanters in Russia: one who can summon snow and turn ash into gold, and one who can see through walls and conjure bridges. The Tsar needs a powerful enchanter to fend of the Ottoman Empire & Kazakhs, so he installs the Crown’s Game; a ancient duel of magical skill. HELL YES. I am so BEYOND EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK.

The Moon in the Palace (Empress of Bright Moon #1) by Weina Dai Randel // March 2016 by Sourcebooks Landmark // This is an historical fiction novel set in China. It’s about a concubine and the Emperor, divided loyalties and so on. It’ll be a duology I believe. 

This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp // January 5th by Sourcebooks Fire // This is a YA book about a school shooting. What I found most intriguing is that according to the synopsis, it plays out in about 54 minutes. 

Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) by Sylvain Neuvel // April 26th by Del Rey // The first line of the description is: “World War Z meets The Martian”. WELL OKAY. It’s about a girl who fell through the earth, and woke up beneath the ground in a giant metal hand. Sign me up. Well, it follows her when she’s older but I don’t care. I still want it. 

Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman // February 9th by Simon Pulse // Pretty sure this is a retelling of Blackbeard. I’ve been feeling pirate-y lately so this is definitely a yes for me.  


Those are my picks for this week. Do you like these debut novels? Which ones are you looking forward to?

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Intriguing 2016 debuts

  1. I’m excited for Rebel of The Sands, Assassin’s Heart and This Is Where It Ends too! I hope we both enjoy these when they come out 🙂 Lovely picks, I’ll have to check some of the others out 🙂

    Hope you’re well Jolien! Here’s my TTT @ Emma’s Bookery if you would like to check it out 🙂 Have a great day 🙂

    Like

  2. Sleeping Giants seems interesting. A hand? Odd. 😀 & I’m definitely in a pirate-y mood! So many like that are coming out next year!

    Here is my TTT!

    Like

Leave a Reply

