Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Reads from Male Authors in 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today’s topic is a favorite-of-2015 list.

I didn’t want to make it into my absolute favorite reads of the year, because I’ll be making a separate post of that without a predefined amount. I don’t want to have to choose a certain amount, just pick out the most memorable ones to me. So instead, I chose the favorite books of 2015 written by a male author. Also, while I made this list, I noticed that I read a lot of books by female authors… I should branch out more.

The Martian by Andy Weir // I’ve mentioned this book several times before so I’ll be brief. This book is captivating, hilarious and so intriguing. Go read it. 

The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicles #1) by Patrick Rothfuss // Again, I’ve mentioned this a lot, and I don’t think there are many people out there who don’t recognize this book or author. Epic fantasy tale that’s definitely worth picking up -even though it’s not the easiest to read.  

Red Seas Under Red Skies (Gentleman Bastard #2) by Scott Lynch // I have nothing but love for Scott Lynch’s writing. This series is one of my all-time favorites and book #2 was definitely no disappointment. Heists, cons, thieves, pirates and cats. That’s my summation of this book. 

Republic of Thieves (Gentleman Bastard #3) by Scott Lynch // Yes, I am featuring this author and series twice. No, I don’t feel bad about it. Again, book #3, while being really different, was amazing too. Here, you have a dual timeline -AND YOU MEET SABETHA. Finally. 

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson // Brandon Sanderson is the king of fantasy. Or the emperor? I haven’t decided yet. His books are so epic, the world-building is always amazing yet they are so easy to read. Not heavy and easy to grasp. I would really recommend Warbreaker, it’s such a unique story. 

Theft of Swords (Riyria Revelations #1-2) by Michael J. Sullivan // Like I said last week, I can’t believe I only started this series this year. It started my love for his writing, and I have continued on reading both of his Riyria series. I would REALLY recommend his books.  

The Rose and the Thorn (Riyria Chronicles #2) by Michael J. Sullivan // From the Chronicles, this is my favorite book so far (not counting the Death of Dulgath, as I haven’t read that). You really get to know more about Gwen and her girls, as well as Royce and Hadrian in the beginning. It’s so interesting because you can really see the character development between this series (the prequels) and the Revelations series mentioned above. 

Half a King (Shattered Sea #1) by Joe Abercrombie // I actually really liked this book. It was different than I expected it to be, but pleasantly so. I haven’t continued on (no clue as to why) but I should really do so soon. It was also my first Joe Abercrombie book. 

The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg // A non-fiction book thrown in the mix! I read this in November, and highly enjoyed it. I’ve never really considered my habits before, but I do think I’m (much) more conscious of them now. Very interesting read!

Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan // Of course, there had to be a Rick Riordan book on here. As I’m writing this, this is the only Riordan book I’ve read this year. That’s right, I haven’t read Magnus Chase. I’m so sorry. I REALLY want to, I just haven’t bought it yet…


Those are my picks for this week! Have you read any of these books? Do you have any recommendations for male authors? Feel free to leave a link to your TTT, so I can see more favorites-lists. 

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Reads from Male Authors in 2015

  1. I really need to read more male-penned books. I feel as if I’m a bit sexist with my reading habits. I can’t help but feel that women writers do characters of BOTH genders better on the whole… I know! That’s such a problematic way to think! Because obviously that’s not true for *everybody* sigh.

    Like

  2. I saw the title of your post and knew I had to check it out. I read almost exclusively female writers. And while I don’t feel too bad about it (I figure I spent most of my life reading male authors, I’ll just making up for that time), I don’t want to neglect great books by male authors either. Thanks for all the recs!

    Like

  3. Well, this is a great list and given that you’ve got a few of my most favourite authors on here I’m going to have to go and check out the ones I’ve not yet read. In fact I think I already have the Sullivan book lurking around (the first one that is).
    Many thanks.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  4. I don’t read a lot by male authors – I find they often lack the warmth I like to see in fiction – but I’ve heard such great things about The Martian and about Brandon Sanderson that I may have to break down and try them out 🙂 My TTT

    Like

  5. I loved The Martian! My new policy (that I’m not 100% successful with) is not to get involved in any more series until all books are published… which is why I have read Rothfuss or the Gentleman Bastard series yet (although it’s kind of killing me and I may have to break my own rule). Male author — Jim Butcher! I love all of his books — can’t go wrong with Codex Alera, the Dresden Files, or his new book!

    Like

  6. Yes yes yes to The Martian and Warbreaker and just all of the yes. I really need to reread Warbreaker, it was my first Sanderson book and it’s been a few years.

    Like

  7. I love the Gentleman Bastards series – looking forward to ‘The Thorn of Emberlain’ next spring! I’m still debating picking up ‘The Name of the Wind’ – I hear a lot of mixed reviews about it. People do seem to feel strongly about it one way or another!

    Like

Leave a Reply

