My Holidays in Books and Movies

Yes, I know that Christmas is not actually here yet. But hear me out! Yesterday was my last day of class, and tomorrow I’ll be going home for the holidays and study period. So to me, the holiday season has begun. And what better way to kick it off than to talk about my favorite books to read and movies to watch during the holidays?

Movies (2)

I don’t think I’ve surprised anyone here… The holidays is a time for your favorite movies and series, which in my case means I’ll be watching  Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings again. This year, I may also rewatch The Hobbit! I know that many people will list Home Alone as their Christmas movie, because it’s so often on TV during that time that everyone associates it with the holiday. But I’ve never been a huge fan of the movie, so I don’t think I’ll be watching it again. 

Books (2)

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson #1) by Rick Riordan // The holidays is really about nostalgia, good feeling and favorites. Percy Jackson falls under all categories. It’s one of my favorite series, and it always brings me back to the joy of reading it for the first time. 

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak // This is such a bittersweet read to me. I love it, but it makes me so sad at the same time. I do associate this with winter and the holidays -and I don’t exactly know why. 

Eragon (Inheritance #1) by Christopher Paolini // Like I said before, the holiday season is all about nostalgia and favorites. I read The Inheritance Cycle for the first time when I was about 13 or 14? I know many people don’t love this series, but I genuinely do. 

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling // I know I already put them in the movie category. But they deserve to be here too! Whether it is a movie format, a hard copy one or an audiobook. You have to return to Hogwarts for Christmas. 


I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing my nostalgic-holiday picks. These are movies and books that truly bring me in the holiday spirit. They make me feel happy, nostalgic and grateful. Do any of these remind you of the holidays? What are your favorite holiday reads/movies?

10 thoughts on “My Holidays in Books and Movies

  1. I always go for Love Actually as my Christmas movie, but I completely understand Harry Potter as Christmassy as well. They just give you that fuzzy feeling. I’m also rewatching LOTR 😀

    Like

  2. I usually have to watch A Christmas Story once. Other than that it depends on how much free time I have. I also love to watch the Home Alones, the Grinch (cartoon), and Elf. I don’t really have any books I’m particular to this time of year, but HP is a good one.

    Like

  3. I never really thought about it, but my family DOES do this! We watch A Christmas Story at least once, often twice or three times. And then we listen to David Sedaris’s narration (found in NPR’s archives) of his time working as one of Santa’s elves in a department store. It’s hysterically funny.

    “I’m going to have you fired!”

    *I’m going to have you killed*

    Like

Leave a Reply

