My Favorite Books of 2015

The time has come to show you all my favorite reads of the year. As always, this doesn’t mean that they all were released in 2015. It just means I read them this past year. So, here they are, the best of the best from this year. By the way, sometimes I’ll show one cover from a series, but mention that the entire series is actually on my list.

These are in no particular order.

Quiet by Susan Cain // I’ve mentioned this book several times this year, just because it truly blew me away. I’m definitely an introvert, and that has always seemed as a negative aspect to me. Because people make me feel like it is. But reading this book truly showed me that there is nothing wrong with being an introvert. We just happen to live in a society that worships the extroverts. I’ve written a review on it, so if you want to read that you can find it here

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson // This was my second Brandon Sanderson novel, and it didn’t disappoint. This world was so interesting, with the gods being reborn, colors being magic and countries at war. It’s about politics, magic, intrigue and power. I loved it. And I’d highly recommend it to everyone. 

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah // I only read this one recently, but I immediately knew it had to be on this list. From the first sentence. I swear this has one of my all-time favorite opening lines. It’s a historical fiction novel about WWII, and it’s amazing. I don’t often read this genre, but I’m so glad I read this. Honestly, you need to read this. My review of it can be found here

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas // I don’t think this will be a surprise to anyone. I really enjoy this series, and I’m one of the readers who loves the direction this story is going in. I’m really looking forward to the next novel. My review on it can be found here

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller // Again, not a surprise to anyone. I’ve been mentioning this book as often as I can. I started the year with this book I believe, it was at least one of the first books I read. It was out of this world. I loved it so much. At first, I wasn’t sure whether I would like this, because I love the version of Achilles’ story I already knew. But this one was just, even better. I really think everyone should read this book. My review on it can be found here

Theft of Swords (Riyria Revelations #1-2) by Michael J. Sullivan // By this, I mean the entire series. I read all three of the bind-ups, so 6 books, this year and adored them. Michael J. Sullivan has become one of my favorite fantasy authors, and I’ll probably read anything he’ll write. I have a review on it here.

The Rose and the Thorn (Riyria Chronicles #2) by Michael J. Sullivan // By this, I mean the first and second book in this series, as I haven’t read the third book yet. Like I said before, I love this author, I love this world and I love the characters even more. 

The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns #1) by Rae Carson // Again, the entire trilogy is on this list. I read these in 2015, and loved them. I knew I would because Alicia @ Kernel of Nonsense loves them, and she was write. It’s an amazing YA fantasy trilogy that everyone should read. I have a review on it here if you’re interested. 

Frostfire (Kanin Chronicles #1) by Amanda Hocking // Again, the entire trilogy is on my list. I love it. I feel like Amanda Hocking is kind of an underrated author! I haven’t seen her books around much, especially this trilogy. It makes me kind of sad, because I do love this trilogy. Again, I have a review on it here.

Red Seas Under Red Skies (Gentleman Bastard #2) by Scott Lynch // So, the second and third book are on my list. The first one would be too, but I read that one in 2014 so I can’t really put it on here. I love Scott Lynch’s work. His Gentleman Bastard series is so unique and amazing. I can’t recommend it enough, and I can’t wait to read the fourth book in 2016.  I wrote a review on it, which you can find here

Uprooted by Naomi Novik // This was a very different fantasy read for me. I introduced me to Naomi Novik’s work and I’ll definitely be reading more of it. I have a review on it here

A Darker Shade of Magic (ADSOM #1) by V.E. Schwab // Again, an amazing introduction to V.E. Schwab’s work! This YA fantasy novel has several different Londons, all in a different dimension I think. They all have different colors, different magic, different kingdoms and so on.  It’s all SO INTERESTING. My review on it can be found here

Me Before You (Me Before You #1) by Jojo Moyes // Last but not least, Me Before You. This is one of the best romance books I’ve ever read. Honestly, it’s a must read. My review on it can be found here. 


These are my favorite books I read in 2015. Seeing this list just makes me so HAPPY. Have you read any of these? Did you make a post about your favorite reads of the year? I’d love to see them! 

14 thoughts on “My Favorite Books of 2015

  1. You read so many great books this year! Some of these made it to my top list, too, but I want to read Song of Achilles soon, I’ve seen so many interesting reviews about it.
    And YES, The Thorn of Emberlain is one of my top 5 most anticipated books in 2016, I do hope it gets published on time.

    Like

  2. I really need to read Quiet! I’m an introvert and so many times during my life I’ve viewed being quiet as negative, so I definitely must read it soon! I also really want to read Uprooted, it sounds amazing!

    Like

  3. You have a good taste 😉 Uprooted and A darker shade of magic also made their way on my favorite list. I’ve read The girl of fire and thorns a while ago and it’s such a good series! You definitely need to check out her new book too, Walk on earth a stranger. I loved Queen of Shadows and I can’t wait to finally pick up my first book by Sanderson in 2016.

    Like

  4. I picked up a copy of Quiet earlier this year (yes, I’m an introvert too!) — I’m glad to see it on your list! I needed the reminder to actually read the book. 🙂 I loved Uprooted so much! Looks like you read some amazing books this year!

    Like

  5. DAMMIT ADSOM. Yet another list in which this book turns out be top D: I’m missing out. Hmm, I’m glad that you enjoyed Queen of Shadows – I’ve seen mixed things about this book, because some seemed to love it, other hated it. I can’t offer an opinion since I yet haven’t gotten to it, but I’ll get there 😄 Great list, Jolien ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

