My 2015 End of the Year Survey

2015 end of the year surveyEnd of the Year Book Survey from Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-turner

2015 reading stats

Number of books read: 141 (and 3 DNFs)

Number of Re-Reads: 12

Genre You Read The Most From: Definitely fantasy!

best in books

Best Book You Read In 2015? Wow, starting off with a difficult question. My favorite book of the year would be The Song of Achilles. Or Red Seas Under Red Skies

Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t? Definitely All The Light We Cannot See. I enjoyed it, but didn’t love it as much as everyone else seems to. 

Most surprising (in a good way) book you read?  Maybe The Martian? I am not a huge science-fiction reader, never have been. So the fact that I adored The Martian was quite a surprise to me.

 Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read? I’m not sure whether I truly pushed someone to read a book, but the ones I keep talking about are The Song of Achilles, Quiet and The Others series

Best series you started in 2015? The Riyria Revelations and Riyria Chronicles by Michael J. Sullivan.

Best Sequel of 2015? Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Best Series Ender of 2015? The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson

Favorite new author you discovered in 2015? Michael J. Sullivan

Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone? The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

Most unputdownable book of the year? The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year? The Song of Achilles! And probably Quiet too. And Vision in Silver 

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015? The European cover for Uprooted is absolutely gorgeous. 

Most memorable character of 2015? Hadrian from the Riyria Revelations. There are so many sides to him, he’s such an intriguing character. 

Most beautifully written book read in 2015? The Song of Achilles (seeing a trend in my answers?)

Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015? Quiet by Susan Cain. I’d recommend this book to everyone, even if you’re not an introvert. 

Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? Daughter of Smoke and Bone!

Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015? 

“Nobody admires anyone else without qualification. If they do they’re after an image, not a person.”

From the Republic of Thieves.

Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015? The shortest book was a single issue of the Lumberjanes graphic novels. And the longest book I read is The Heir of Novron by Michael J. Sullivan

Book That Shocked You The Most? The Clique, one of the books I DNFed. Every single character was a terrible person. 

OTP OF THE YEAR? Simon and Meg from The Others by Anne Bishop. I JUST LOVE THEM. 

Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year? Royce and Hadrian’s from the Riyria Revelations. #bromance

Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously? Warbreaker

Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure: The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. It wasn’t solely from recommendation, but it mostly was. 

Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015? I have a soft spot for Hadrian. Again, from the Riyria Revelations

Best 2015 debut you read? Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year? I adore the setting for the Gentleman Bastard series, AND the Riyria series one. 

Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read? The Martian. I laughed so hard the entire time. 

Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015? The Song of Achilles turned into a sobfest. And The Nightingale made me shed a tear or two!

Hidden Gem Of The Year? Definitely The Song of Achilles. Not enough people have read it! Quiet as well though, it’s an amazing non-fiction read.

Book That Crushed Your Soul? The Song of Achilles and The Nightingale.

Most Unique Book You Read In 2015? I think Lumberjanes? It’s a graphic novel series about friendship. It centers around these young girls, who are all so different both physically and mentally, but have such a glorious friendship, don’t judge each other and are always there for one another. It’s sad to me that I find that to be a unique aspect. Every book should have this. 

Book That Made You The Most Mad? The Daredevil volume I DNf’ed. WHAT THE HELL WAS HAPPENING IN IT? 

my blogging-bookish life

New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015? Two blogs I’ve been really enjoying lately are Of Dragons and Hearts, and The Biblio Sanctum.

Favorite review that you wrote in 2015? I don’t really think I have one… 

Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog? I really liked my post on whether our community is missing out on amazing possible reading by tending to focus on the same new releases.

Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?  I haven’t really gone to any author signings or festivals.  

Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015? Hitting the 1 year blogoversary. That was such a great moment for me! AND getting to do a work experience at the Pan Macmillan office in London. Probably the best 2 weeks of the summer for me.

Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year? Combining the blogging and reading life with my increasing work at university.

Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog? By views, bizarrely enough it’s my review of Schizo by Nic Sheff. It’s one of the first reviews I ever wrote. I have NO CLUE why it’s so popular all of a sudden.

Post You Wished Got A Little More Love? Reviews in general. I’d love for reviews about lesser known books to get a little bit more attention.  

Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)? I can’t immediately think of any. Maybe Society6? They have some amazing bookish designs.

Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year? I completed my Goodreads Reading Challenge and the Netgalley and Edelweiss Challenge!

looking ahead

One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016? I’m not quite sure. Maybe Six of Crows? Everyone seemed to love that.

Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)? Probably Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop.

2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating? The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye. 

Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016? Again, Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop. AND Thorn of Emberlain by Scott Lynch 

One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?  I want to keep blogging consistently, hopefully get to go to a bookish event and maybe find a job in the publishing world!

A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone? I haven’t got any, sorry!

12 thoughts on “My 2015 End of the Year Survey

  1. I love these end of the year posts! I have found the most promising things over the last several days to add to my TBR. I am looking forward to getting to All the Light We Cannot See myself. It looks like a great year. Happy reading in 2016!

    Like

  2. I’m really looking forward to The Crown’s Game as well. There are just so many great books coming out this year! I’m so glad I could peer pressure you into reading The Girl of Fire and Thorns, haha. Hope your 2016 is full of wonderful books and bookish opportunities!

    Like

  3. Gosh, I think I’ll have to read The Song of Achilles and Quiet after reading this survey! ;D And OOH, Six of Crows is also on my TBR to read this year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

