Mini reviews | Notes on my re-reads of 2015

A few hours before writing this, I went through a list of books I had read in 2015, but failed to review. The list was surprisingly long (I know, shameful). But I noticed that many of them were re-reads! I never know whether I should review the books I re-read, or whether that somehow doesn’t count? So I decided to put them all into one post, so I can talk a little bit about each one, and show you which books I re-read in 2015

Eragon (Inheritance #1) by Christopher Paolini // ★★★★ //
I’ve mentioned several times that I absolutely love this series. It’s one of my childhood favorites. I decided to re-read it, because I just felt like jumping back into the world. I can definitely see now, as a more experienced reader, that this was his first novel. The sentences can be kind of choppy, and they don’t flow as much. Yet I still adore it. I adore the world, the characters and everything else. I know many people don’t agree with me (but I don’t really care). 

Eldest (Inheritance #2) by Christopher Paolini // ★★★★ //
Of course, I had to continue on with the series. Eldest has never been my favorite of the series, although I do love it. I feel like his writing already gets better here, and the story gets even more intriguing. In my opinion, a worthy sequel.

Brisingr (Inheritance #3) by Christopher Paolini // ★★★★ ½ //
The third book in the series, and it only gets better for me. I do feel like you can see his writing evolve in this series. This book is already so much better in terms of writing than Eragon. Like I said, I have so much love for this series. Especially as the world, races, religions and languages become more pronounced, explained and intricate. 

Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee // ★★★★★ //
In preparation for the release of End of Days, I decided to re-read the first two books in the trilogy, as I could barely remember anything. I do love this book. It was such a great starter! The characters are intriguing. Penryn is the kind of girl who can take care of herself, as she trained for years in martial arts. She is the caretaker of her family. Her mother is I believe schizophrenic, which gives quite the different view on the apocalypse happening. And I liked the slow build of the romance. GREAT BOOK. 

World After (Penryn & the End  of Days #2) by Susan Ee // ★★★★★ //
I re-read World After immediately after Angelfall and really enjoyed it as well. Let me just say that this series is DARK. I mean, crazy shit happens. I feel like you can never trust your opinion on where the story will go, because it’ll probably be wrong. Again, loved it. (I did read the third book after this, but won’t include it here as it wasn’t a re-read). 

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling // ★★★★★ //
Of course, I re-read Harry Potter this year. I didn’t re-read all of them unfortunately. This was the first year in which I wanted to give the audio-books a try. So I decided to listen to Stephen Fry’s narration of the books. It’s GENIUS. Everyone should listen to him narrating this amazing series. 

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2) by J.K. Rowling // ★★★★★ //
Again, I listened to the audio-book for this one. I love it so much. I think this is maybe my least favorite book of the series (even though I obviously still adore it). 

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3) by J.K. Rowling // ★★★★★ //
Also listened to the audio-book here! I’ve found a new appreciation for this one. I don’t know why, but I loved it even more than I used to? Plus, I love Remus Lupin. 

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4) by J.K. Rowling // ★★★★★ //
I didn’t actually listen to the audio-book here. It was so long, and it intimidated me. So instead, I read my beautiful paperback which you can see above. LOVE THIS ONE! The Triwizard Tournament always amazes me.

Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop // ★★★★★ //
This is also one of my favorite fantasy series. I discovered it a few years ago, and haven’t stopped gushing about it. I’ll probably re-read book #2 and #3 soon in preparation for the release of book #4 (I’m SO EXCITED!). This is sort of urban fantasy. The Others are all creatures that can both show themselves in “human” form and animal form. It’s all about Meg Corbyn, a blood prophet, who runs away from someone and hides at the Courtyard (which is where The Others live, if they don’t live in the wild) as Human Law Doesn’t Apply there. 

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger // ★★★★ //
I re-read this one because I wanted to make sure I remembered everything before watching the movie. Surprisingly, although they are nothing alike, I enjoyed both formats. I have to admit that I loved this book less than the first time I read it a few years ago. I thought Bianca was dealing with certain things quite badly and treating her friends badly. And it bothered me more than the first time I read it. Still enjoyed it though!

Match Me if You Can (Chicago Stars #1) by Susan Elizabeth Phillips // ★★★★ //
This is a sports-romance novel from a series I started years ago. It’s been so long since I read them. I felt like I needed a fluffy romance and familiar characters so I decided to re-read this. I do love the female main character here. She wants to keep her grandmother’s business, a matchmaking one, open and make it successful again. I both liked and disliked the male main character. I liked him, but hated the way he thought of needing a wife. 


Those are the books I re-read in 2015, and my thoughts on them. Have you read them? Do you enjoy re-reading? 

7 thoughts on “Mini reviews | Notes on my re-reads of 2015

  1. I’ll be honest, I don’t reread much but I wish I had more time to because there are a lot of books I’d love to experience again. The Harry Potter series is definitely one of them 🙂 Lots of other great books on your list too!

    Like

  2. I LOVE re-reading, and find that audiobooks are the perfect way for me to revisit an old favorite and still have time to sit down and read new books too. 🙂 I haven’t listened to the HP audiobooks yet, but that’s something I plan to do this year! It’s been a while since I’ve done an HP re-read, so I’m overdue. Re Eragon — sounds like you recommend the full series? I read the first book with my son, but he didn’t seem all that interested in continuing, and I didn’t go ahead on my own. Should I? Happy New Year!

    Like

    • I agree! Audiobooks are a great way to revisit old favorites. I hope you do listen to the HP ones, especially the Stephen Fry editions. I do! Eragon is a really good series in my opinion, but that could possibly be childhood nostalgia? I’m not sure. I can say that over the next books, it gets much more fleshed out. The world, races, religion and history gets more intricate, and the writing gets better too. Happy New Year!

      Like

  3. I’ve only read the DUFF and that only once. I am not big on re-reading though. I sometimes find myself going back to books to check for certain passages or so, but rarely if ever re-read an entire book. I don’t know why that is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

