Weekly Wrap Up | January #3

What I Read (2)

Rat Queens Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe & Roc Upchurch // ★★★★ // I started this one on a whim. I felt like started a new graphic novel series, and this one just seemed awesome. I was not mistaken. I love the art, I love the story and the characters are interesting. I will write a review on Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 soon. 

Marked in Flesh (The Others #4) by Anne Bishop // ★★★★★ // Aaaah, my love for this series is strong. I can’t tell you how excited I was when I got approved for this book on Netgalley. I started it the next day (as I got the email quite late in the evening). I have written a review on it here, for those of you who are interested. If you haven’t started this series, PLEASE give it a try.

Rat Queens Vol. 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth // ★★★★ // As I enjoyed Vol. 1 so much, I decided to continue with the series. I really liked this one too. It got far weirder, but we also got a lot more backstory to the Rat Queens. I love backstory. Like I said, I will be writing a review on these soon! 

Assassin’s Apprentice (Farseer #1) by Robin Hobb // ★★★★ // 2016 was the year I’d start reading Robin Hobb. She is such a fixture in fantasy, and it was such a shame I hadn’t read any of her books. I decided I wanted to read them in the order of the Realms of the Elderlings, which starts with the Farseer trilogy. I really liked this book! It was definitely different than I expected it to be. It was mainly character-driven, and you know me, I’m all about those character-driven fantasy books. I’ll write a review on this soon too!

What I Watched (2)

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers // ★★★★ ½ // This was a re-watch for me. I have watched the LotR movies many times, but I often skip this one in my re-watches. It is my least favorite of the three. Even though it’s still an incredibly amazing movie. 

Se7en // ★★★★ // I had never watched this movie, even though it’s kind of a classic. I mean, Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman? That seems too good of a thing to skip. I had pretty high expectations for this one, as I had seen so many raving reviews. So while I did enjoy it very much, I was left a tiny bit disappointed. Then again, this movie is from 1995. That blows my mind: it’s almost as old as I am!

I’m writing a post soon on all the ways I organize: from my uni work, to reading, watching TV shows, movies and appointments. I found a system this week that I really enjoy to keep track of movies, which was the only one I was lacking.

In Real Life (2)

January is not my favorite month. At least it hasn’t been for the past 4 years. At university in Belgium, January and June are exam months. Lovely way to start off the new year, no? 

That’s basically what I’ve been doing this week. I’ve had two exams already. On Tuesday, I had Economics and Ethics, and on Thursday I had Taxation and Corporate Policy. Lots of fun, as you can imagine. This week (coming up) I have two more, and then three more the next week. So all I’ve been doing, and all I will be doing for the next two weeks, is studying.


I hope you all had a great week! Did you read or watch anything? Would you be interested in the post on how I organize my life? Let me know. I hope you’ll all have an amazing week to come!

8 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | January #3

  1. OOH yes, I love reading how people organize their lives because that’s something that I’m clueless about XD This week I read two books both which were 4-4.5 cupcakes SO YAY. I’m about to start reading Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame which I’m really excited about! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

