Review: Rite of Revelation

rite of revelation
Novel: Rite of Revelation (Acceptance #2) by Sarah Negovetich
Published: December 4th 2015
Genre: Dystopian, YA
Rating: 3/5 stars

Goodreads

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. 

I won’t provide a synopsis, as this is the second book in the series.

Review

I read and reviewed the first book in this series, Rite of Rejection, quite a while ago. In fact, my review went up on November 9th 2014. So it’s been a while! When I saw the sequel on Netgalley, I hesitated. Should I request it? I did enjoy the first book, but my reading tastes and preferences have changed much over the past 1.5 years. But I wanted to give it a try, see if I would still enjoy it.

I’ll start by saying that this book inspired mixed feelings in me. I did enjoy the first half. It was action packed, interesting and new. You got to see the main characters in a different way, to see the repercussions of their actions against the Cardinal in book 1. When I finished the first book, it left me with a feeling of “WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?” because it was such a great ending. And while the first half of this book was to my liking, the second part was not

First of all, I had so much trouble keeping track of time. At a certain moment, a month had passed and it took me a few pages to realize that. I thought it was just the next morning! Sometimes irregular jumps in time, especially unannounced, can leave the reader confused. 

Characters

I think this is where most of my problems with this book stem from. In the first book, I quite enjoyed reading about each character. I said in that review that each character intrigued me, especially Rebecca. That was not the case in this book. I am still interested in most of the characters, but not Rebecca. Or Daniel. 

I especially didn’t like Rebecca in this book. She just feels like she is the only person who can save the world for about 80% of this book. And that just bothers me. Girl, you’re not doing any of this alone. Another aspect she developed in this book, and that I severely disliked, is that she always feels like she is the only one feeling something. For example, there is a funeral in this book. And she destroys property, screaming that she is the only one grieving. While she had only known the person who died for like a month, and others have known said person for years. Who are you to dictate how people can grieve? GET A GRIP.

Lastly, the cheesiness. It was so real. There was a certain line similar to “I didn’t think I deserved happiness. But thanks to you I now know I can live my life and be happy”. That’s not a direct quote, but you get the gist. Please save me from this sentence. Another quote that bothered me was the following:

He won’t meet […]’s hard-mouthed glare and at least has the decency to look embarrassed.

Let me give you some context here. The person who should be embarrassed according to Rebecca did the following: he told the girl he’s dating that maybe they should get married when he comes back. The person who glares is the girl’s brother. Why should he be embarrassed? I DON’T UNDERSTAND! Why is it something he should be ashamed of? 

My impression

Like I said, the first half of the book saved this read for me. That part was intriguing, action packed and gripping. For the second half, I spent a lot of my time rolling my eyes. I’m not surprised I didn’t love this as much, because my reading tastes have changed so much in 1.5 years.

I also thought this would be a duology. Surprise, it’s not. There will be a third book, going from the ending. I really wish it would’ve been a duology. It could have been much more powerful that way, in my opinion.  

If you like dystopian novels, I’d tell you to give this series a go. You might really enjoy it! I definitely liked the first book, and am okay with this one. 

Leave a Reply

