Mini reviews | Rat Queens Vol 1 & 2

rat queens vol 1

Rat Queens Vol.1: Sass & Sorcery
Published: March 26th 2014

Genre: Graphic novel, fantasy
Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

Synopsis: Who are the Rat Queens? A pack of booze-guzzling, death-dealing battle maidens-for-hire, and they’re in the business of killing all god’s creatures for profit. It’s also a darkly comedic sass-and-sorcery series starring Hannah the Rockabilly Elven Mage, Violet the Hipster Dwarven Fighter, Dee the Atheist Human Cleric and Betty the Hippy Smidgen Thief. This modern spin on an old school genre is a violent monster-killing epic that is like Buffy meets Tank Girl in a Lord of the Rings world on crack!

review

I’ve been trying to read more graphic novels in the past few years, and Rat Queens has fascinated me for a while. I have to admit that I didn’t really know anything about it before I started reading. I just read the first two sentences of the synopsis. And it was GLORIOUS. I absolutely loved it. Before the actual story line starts, it has little portraits of each Rat Queen and who they are which is so handy! Each Rat Queen is so different, and I think from a different race (fantasy-wise) and different background. For example, Hannah was raised by 2 necromancers, and she’s an elf. Dee, a human, was raised in a cult that worships a giant octopus? I love the diversity here. 

This was a fun, action-packed graphic novel with beautiful illustrations. I think Dee’s portrait is one of my favorite graphic novel illustrations ever. The Rat Queens are basically mercenaries, taking on a task for payment. This leads to some pretty dangerous (and hilarious) scenes. I loved the interactions between the characters and the overall story line. Plus, their witty banter is genius. I will say that if you are not comfortable with drinking, swearing, violence and/or sex, this graphic novel is not for you. All 4 are present here, so skip on reading this if those topics make you feel uncomfortable. When I finished this one, I couldn’t wait to read the second volume! 


rat queens vol 2

Rat Queens Vol. 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’Rygoth
Published: May 6th 2015

Genre: Graphic novel, fantasy
Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

Synopsis: This booze-soaked second volume of RAT QUEENS reveals a growing menace within the very walls of Palisade. And while Dee may have run from her past, the bloated, blood-feasting sky god N’rygoth never really lets his children stray too far.

review

As I said, when I finished volume 1, I immediately wanted to read volume 2. So I did. 

What I enjoyed most about this volume, is that we got a lot more backstory on each of the characters. We can see each Rat Queen before they actually became a Rat Queen, and why they left their lives somewhere else. It also shows some background dynamics between certain characters who have known each other for a long time. For example, Hannah and Darius. From the first volume, you can see that they have a history. But you never see what happened, or how it played out. This volume, while being action-packed and fun, still gave us insights in each of the women. 


I really enjoyed these two volumes, and I can’t wait for the release of the 3rd. Even though I have no clue when that will actually happen

4 thoughts on “Mini reviews | Rat Queens Vol 1 & 2

Leave a Reply

