Weekly Wrap Up | February #2

what i read 80c8b0

Sacrificed (Last Oracle #1) by Emily Wibberley // ★★★ // This is a YA fantasy novel I had on my Kindle app from Netgalley. I’m glad I read it as I enjoyed the plot, but I had some problems with the romance and main character. You can read my full review on it here

Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox #1) by Rachel Bach // ★★★★.5 // This is a science fiction book guys! If you know my reading habits, you know that’s quite the accomplishment for me. I don’t read science fiction often. But I loved this fast-paced plot about Devi, a mercenary, and I’d definitely recommend it. I’d already read 5 of the author’s books under her name Rachel Aaron, The Legend of Eli Monpress series. That series is one of my favorite, yet underrated, fantasy series so I was hopeful about her science fiction work. 

Honor’s Knight (Paradox #2) by Rachel Bach // ★★★★ // I had to continue with the series immediately. The first two books in this series are (this book is currently $2.79) quite cheap on Amazon as a kindle version, so I bought those before I started reading. So glad I did! This book really took Devi on a ride, and the reader too. So much is happening! I never thought I’d like a book from the space opera genre, because the name “space opera” doesn’t sound appealing to me. I had a lot of faith in this author though. I definitely want to continue and finish the trilogy.

what i watched 80c8b0

MOVIES

we bought a zoo

We Bought A Zoo // ★★★★ // This movie was on TV on Friday, so I just spent an evening sitting on the couch watching this. To be honest, I didn’t expect to like this movie as much as I did. I mean, the title sounds a bit silly, doesn’t it? But it was a really heartfelt story, and I only learned it was based on a true story at the end! I would highly recommend this movie!

TV SHOWS

As always, I’m just trying to keep up with my weekly shows. This week, I kept up with Agent CarterElementary, Criminal Minds, Shadowhunters and Lucifer. I’ve also started re-watching Buffy The Vampire Slayer! It’s been a while since I watched it, and I felt a nostalgic pull towards it. 

in real life 80c8b0

This week was the start of the new semester at university. If all goes well, it will be my last one. That’s scary. I went to classes (I only had a few this week), started creating my questionnaire for my thesis, made an appointment with my thesis supervisor and generally prepared for the start of the semester. I’m glad I had such a productive start already!

My mom bought a cross-trainer (an elliptical fitness machine) and I love it. I could never make myself go to the gym, but it was one of my favorite machines in there. Now, I can do it at home and watch some Netflix at the same time. I’m really hoping to get fitter in the following months, as lately I’ve been feeling a little uncomfortable in my own skin. 

And lastly, this weekend my grandparents are celebrating their 65th wedding anniversary. Isn’t that absolutely crazy? 65 years! That’s such a long time! There was a ceremony at the town hall on Saturday, and on Sunday (so today) we’re having brunch with almost the entire family. I’m so lucky and grateful to have them in my life still.


That was my week! Did you read or watch anything great last week? Have a great one guys!

3 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up | February #2

  1. Happy anniversary to your grandparents! And I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the Paradox books. I love Rachel Aaron/Bach and I think that trilogy is a perfect way to enjoy the genre especially if you don’t read a lot of sci-fi 🙂

    Like

  2. You had a good week! I have Fortune’s Pawn but still haven’t made time to read it. This is a reminder!
    That film is very touching isn’t it. I also went into it feeling a bit ‘bleh’ but then it just draws you in and it’s great that it’s based on a true story.
    Congratulations to your grandparents!
    And good luck for your last semester at Uni.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

