Top (Not Quite) Ten Tuesday: Recent Loves Out of The Comfort Zone

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, we’re talking books out of the comfort zone. For your information, my comfort zone is fantasy. It’s what I read most, and love the most. So here are 5 books I really enjoyed, and are not of the fantasy genre

The Martian by Andy  Weir // Science Fiction // Like the previous section suggest, the Martian was out of my comfort zone because I generally don’t read a lot of science fiction. I don’t exactly know why, but it has never appealed to me as much as fantasy has. But I absolutely loved the Martian. It turned out to be one of my favorite reads of the year. 

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah // Historical Fiction // While I do read some historical fiction, I definitely wouldn’t call it my comfort zone. Especially concerning WWII. I feel it’s a “sensitive” topic in a way, because it happened not that long ago. But The Nightingale is such a beautiful novel, and I am so grateful I picked it up.

Rat Queens Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe & Roc Upchurch // Graphic novel // I don’t read all that many graphic novels, so I still consider them out of my comfort zone. I really enjoyed the two volumes of Rat Queens I’ve read! The artwork is beautiful, the characters are hilarious and sassy, and genius. 

The Secret History by Donna Tartt // Fiction // I labeled this fiction because this book spans quite a few genres, and I didn’t know what to call it. It’s brilliant. It’s unlike anything I have ever read. And I loved it. Plus, I could finally put my basic knowledge of Latin and French (and Greek) to use. 

Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox #1) by Rachel Bach // Science Fiction // Two science fiction novels in only a few months! That’s unheard of for me really. But this author (actually Rachel Aaron) already had my heart because of her “Legend of Eli Monpress” series. And I was not disappointed by this book! 


As the topic is books out of your comfort zone which you recently enjoyed, I don’t have 10 for you. Otherwise, they wouldn’t be recent or out of my comfort zone. But these 5 fit the bill perfectly! Have you read any of these? Which books were out of your comfort zone? 

30 thoughts on “Top (Not Quite) Ten Tuesday: Recent Loves Out of The Comfort Zone

  1. I love The Secret History, such a good book, I was totally pulled into the story.
    And, I have a copy of Fortune’s Pawn and this is making me want to go and dig it out!
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  2. Great list! I really want to read The Nightingale and The Secret History! I read Fortune’s Pawn last year, but I didn’t really enjoy it all that much. Maybe the second book will be better?

    Like

    • I hope you’ll enjoy both! In a way, this is why I love the book blogging community. Because everyone loves/likes such different things in books, it makes it interesting! The second book is similar in a way, with a little more action but also a lot more brooding/emotion…

      Like

  3. I watched The Martian the other night (I can’t believe I watched the movie first!) but I really want to read the book. I also don’t read that much sci-fi and I’m not sure why as the ones I have read I’ve really enjoyed! Great list! 🙂

    Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic
    My TTT Post!

    Like

  4. The Secret History turned out to be one of my favorite books ever, the writing and the story are beyond words. There’s been such a hype around the Martian that I didn’t know if I really wanted to read it or not but it does sound really good.

    Like

  5. Such gorgeous covers! I’ve had The Martian, The Nightingale and The Secret History on my TBR for a while now and I think because they’re out of my comfort zone too, I’ve been a bit scared to pick them up but I think I will try them soon, I’ve only heard positive things! I’ve never heard of Fortune’s Pawn but I’m intrigued so I’m going to add it to my TBR 🙂

    Great List, Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Like

Leave a Reply

