Top (Five) Tuesday: Are You in the Mood for a Fun Urban Fantasy?

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, the topic is “if you’re in the mood for X”. I have chosen 5 books for people who are in the mood to read a fun urban fantasy book! With fun, I mean that I genuinely enjoyed myself while reading this book or found myself giggling or smiling throughout. Mostly, it means the main character is witty and funny.

Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop // This is one of my all-time favorite series. I mention it time and time again (no, I’m not sorry). I just feel like this is such an underrated series, still. It’s such a fun read, and I find myself giggling or smiling throughout every book in this series. The dialogue is just the best. 

Succubus Blues (Georgina Kincaid #1) by Richelle Mead // I absolutely flew through this series. It’s about Georgina, a succubus who works at a bookstore. I wouldn’t really call it high-standing literature, but they are just so much fun! I would say that as this is about a succubus, this is an adult (or new adult?) series too. 

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson #1) by Rick Riordan // I could mention any of Rick Riordan’s books here (aside from the ones I haven’t read, obviously). This is an all-time favorite, even though it’s been a little while since I last read them. Every single one of his series is packed with humor – my kind of humor. I absolutely love them. 

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (DOSAM #1) by Laini Taylor // This one is absolutely beautiful. It isn’t quite as funny to me as The Others, or Percy Jackson, but it’s just such a gorgeous urban fantasy novel. I know, is it urban fantasy? Is it just paranormal? I’m not quite sure. Whatever it is, it is incredible. I only picked this up late last year, and I regret waiting that long. I really need to finish the rest of the series!

Hounded (Iron Druid #1) by Kevin Hearne // This is actually the book that inspired this list! I just finished reading this, and I can’t stop thinking about it. This is about a 21 (centuries) old Irish Druid. He has an amazing wolfhound called Oberon. Everyone needs to read this, it’s just so much fun! I want to pick up the rest of the series now, but I’ve only just bought books...


Which urban fantasy novels do you love? What was your topic this week! I’d love to hear about it!

51 thoughts on “Top (Five) Tuesday: Are You in the Mood for a Fun Urban Fantasy?

  1. Thanks for this excellent list. Daughter of Smoke and Bone looks worth picking up. I’d also recommend anything in TerriWindling’s Borderlands series – they’re a bit dated now (80s & 90s) but still great reads. In many ways, they’re the original books that got the genre started back then.

    Like

  2. Oh I have only read Written in Red, but I so badly want to continue the series, especially seeing how everyone gushes about it 🙂 Daughter of Smoke & Bone was the first YA I read in college, and it ultimately got me back into reading, so it holds a place in my heart.

    Like

  3. The Others has such a unique humour, but I absolutely love it! Particularly when Vlad reflects on how oblivious everyone is, haha. I thought that Hounded was really funny too, but sadly I wasn’t a big fan of the second book. Hopefully you enjoy that one more than I did! 🙂

    Like

  4. I’m kinda new to urban fantasy so I like seeing lists like this one. 🙂 These all look fun, I’ve been wanting to read Percy Jackson for a while and I liked the Star Wars book I read by Kevin Hearne. In fact I’ve heard his Iron Druid series is really good. So I may have to try that… great list!

    Like

  5. YAY! I love Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Succubus Blues!!! Two of my favorite series. The Lightening Thief was really good too! I like how your list is filled with different age groups!
    😀

    Like

  6. YES TO PERCY JACKSON AND DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE!!! Those two are on my favorites shelf – SO GOOD. Will check out the others! Great list, Jolien! 😀

    Like

  7. I have to start the Anne Bishop series – I think I bought the first last year and now need to make time to read it!
    Great idea this week – you can’t fail to have fun with the Kevin Hearne books. I love atticus and Oberon is a riot.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  8. I don’t particularly like the tropes in urban fantasy, but even I enjoyed Daughter of Smoke and Bone (and found the sequels even better than the first book!) Great pick (I’ll take your word on the others 🙂

    Like

  9. Great list! I really had trouble with The Others series. I didn’t hate it. But I didn’t love it. I felt like maybe it dragged a little. I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone, though. Amazing!

    Like

    • Ah, it happens, no? That’s why reading and blogging is so much fun: seeing different opinions! I’m sad to hear you didn’t particularly enjoy it, but I understand it too. Glad you loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone though! That book was beautiful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

