Review: A Gathering of Shadows

This is a spoiler free review.

A Gathering of Shadows Final

A Gathering of Shadows (ADSOM #2) by V.E. Schwab
Published: 23/02/2016
Genre: Fantasy, YA

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository 

I won’t provide a synopsis, as that would contain spoilers for the first book in the series, A Darker Shade of Magic

review

Like I said, I will keep this review spoiler free, so no worries everyone! 

WORLD

The first thing that comes to mind here, is that I enjoyed the fact that this book introduces us to more than just the different Londons. Don’t get me wrong, I love them. It’s a fascinating world, that’s for sure. But there is so much more to this world than just the different Londons! And this book allowed more of a peak into that. Because of the Essen Tasch, the Elemental Games, magicians from all over their world come to Red London to participate. That gives you an insight into what the different kingdoms, and people are like. And, I enjoyed the life Lila lived at the beginning. 

PLOT

I really, really loved the story line of this sequel. At first, I was a bit hesitant because of the reviews I’d read. Quite some people mentioned they found the beginning a bit dragged out, because the Elemental Games only start about halfway in. I didn’t find that to be the case at all! I was intrigued from page 1. I love when different story lines, and different people, are woven together slowly and I believe that Victoria Schwab did a great job here. 

From the moment I hit about 30%, I couldn’t put it back down. I sat in the bath for hours reading this, because I just couldn’t stop reading! I am often hesitant about picking up sequels to books I adore. Why? Because I just expect so much. I’m glad to say the story line of the sequel didn’t disappoint me here. 

CHARACTERS

To me, this is the best aspect of these books. The characters. I have such an attachment to each and every one of them -even the ones who only got introduced here.

Kell. In this book,  I just wanted to hug him. He feels repressed, stuck in this situation and disappointed. To be honest, I wanted to smack the King and Queen. It’s hard not to feel sympathy for him. When Kell is happy, I am happy. I feel like he went through such hard times, and has shown such character development since the first book. 

Rhy. Another person who needs a hug! At first, I was a bit annoyed at Rhy’s behavior in this book. Then I stopped, adn truly thought about it. How would I react in this situation (not that this could ever happen to me)? I could sympathize much more afterwards. He just feels stuck, like there is no escaping. 

Lila. I’ve always loved Lila. She is an amazingly strong and smart person. But she wants to show that she is the bravest, the smartest, the strongest all the time. She feels a need to prove that to someone -although I have no idea who that would be. This leads to some very questionable decisions, in my opinion. I really enjoyed her story line in this book, both before and after the Games. My only remark is that while she accepts the danger of her decisions, she neglects the danger it brings to those around her. That’s not something I easily accept. Of course, I still love her. I just wish she would think about some things more before acting.

I loved the introduction of Alucard Emery! Very intriguing character.


I’m glad to say I loved this book just as much as the first one. The story line, although very different, still managed to grip me and the characters haven’t released their grip on my heart since finished the first book. All that is left for me to say now is: THAT ENDING.

11 thoughts on “Review: A Gathering of Shadows

  1. […] A Gathering of Shadows (Shade of Magic #2) by V.E. Schwab // I’d been looking forward to this sequel for a year, and I’m so happy to say it didn’t disappoint me. I loved the characters’ struggles, new adventures and was even intrigued by the new characters introduced. I can’t wait for the next book! Again, if you want to read my full thoughts on this book, you can read my review. […]

    Like

  2. I’m looking forward to read this one! I didn’t like the first one as much as I expected, but then I had some pretty high hopes for it. I’m glad you thought this was just as good, because then there’s a good chance this book will take off for me. Thanks for the review!

    Like

  3. “When Kell is happy, I am happy.” Yes, Jolien, we are on the same page. I felt Kell’s every frustration in this book. This sequel really convinced me that Rhy really is the only true family he has. I wonder if V.E. Schwab will explore Kell’s origins more, this is something I neglected to mention in my review, but I’ve been thinking about it a lot. Nice review!

    Like

  4. Seriously, THAT ENDING. I don’t trust Schawb enough to not hurt her characters. I loved AGOS even more than ADSOM, though, and one of my favorite parts was Lila pretending she wasn’t thinking about Kell and Kell pretending he wasn’t thinking about Lila. *swoons*

    Like

Leave a Reply

