Review: Honor’s Knight

This is a spoiler free review. 

honor's knight

Honor’s Knight (Paradox #2) by Rachel Bach
Published: 1.01.2014

Genre: Science Fiction, Space Opera
Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

I won’t provide a synopsis, so as not to spoil you for the first book.

review

I really enjoyed the first book in this trilogy, Fortune’s Pawn. It’s about a mercenary, Devi, aboard a spaceship with traders. She wants to move up as a mercenary, and a year aboard The Glorious Fool will look really good on her resume -so to speak. 

This picks up where Fortune’s Pawn left off. I don’t really want to say too much, because I don’t want to spoil the first book for you either. Devi is pretty confused at the beginning of this book due to the ending of the first one. It was hard watching her struggle in the beginning because you, as the reader, do know what’s going on. But as always, Devi doesn’t just sit. She takes action. 

There was definitely action in this book. So much. Devi, as always, gets tangled up in everything. What I did enjoy was to see her moral stand. She looked at both the good and the bad of a situation, and decided what was acceptable to her. And what wasn’t. I know that sounds really vague, but trust me, it’s interesting to see. 

I enjoyed the character development in this novel. I constantly switched on characters: who’s the good guy? Who’s the bad guy? It’s all a very grey area. I always love novels that manage to make every character seem both good and bad.

I know that space opera is heavily influenced by romance, and that’s fine with me. But I did roll my eyes at certain points in this book, much more than in the first one.

Here are some quotes I loved: 

“I usually hate it when people try to take care of me, especially men. I hate the sense of obligation it creates, the imbalance of power.”

“Survival was a prize we all fought for together, not a guarantee bought at the cost of an innocent life.”

“They weren’t even taking me seriously enough to bother removing my guns, which I took as a personal insult.”

I’m looking forward to reading the 3rd book, and see how it all ends for Devi!

2 thoughts on “Review: Honor’s Knight

Leave a Reply

