Mini Reviews | Fall With Me & Forever With You

These reviews are spoiler free. As this series consists of companion novels, you won’t be spoiled for the prior books either.

When I started reading Fall With Me, I was in a New Adult kick. I don’t know why, but sometimes the genre is exactly what you need to read. At times, you just need a little bit of romance to cheer you up. So I decided to continue reading the Wait For You series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I read them both quickly, and in succession. So I decided to combine both mini reviews into one post!


fall with me

Fall With Me (Wait For You #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: 31.03.2015

Genre: New Adult, Romance
Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

Synopsis: Eleven months ago, bartender and weird-shirt-wearing extraordinaire Roxy and Officer Reece Anders had a one night stand. Well, kind of. She’s been in love with him since she was fifteen, and he wishes that night they shared never happened. She’s sworn him off forever, but the past and future collide, forcing her to rely on the one man who broke her heart not once, but twice. Her best friend since birth has been in a long-term care facility since he became a victim of a hate crime years ago, and the person who put him in there is out of prison and wanting to make amends with him and Roxy. She’s not sure she has room for forgiveness in her and when she begins to receive frightening messages and is on the receiving end of escalating violence, she thinks she knows who is to blame. The man who already destroyed one life already. But Reece isn’t convinced. The threats are too personal, and even if Roxy doesn’t believe him, he’s not willing to let anyone hurt her. Including himself. He’s already messed up more than once when it comes to Roxy and he’s not going to let history repeat itself.

review

I think this was my favorite book in the series so far. We met Roxy and Reece in the previous book -in Calla’s story. At the time, I was really excited to read Fall With Me, but I never actually picked it up after its release. I have no clue why. But when I felt like reading some new adult, I knew I wanted to pick this one up. Jennifer L. Armentrout’s books are always fun reads -and quick ones. 

This book definitely didn’t disappoint. I knew I’d love Roxy from the moment the book mentioned her shirts. She always wears shirts with fun sentences on them. One of the first ones included Hufflepuff, and she went on to say why Hufflepuffs are awesome people. That kind of character is a win in my book.

I loved Reece as well. He’s a cop, and a good guy. Really. He’s honest, kind and smart. This isn’t one of those I-love-a-bad-boy books. This isn’t the kind of book in which the love interest betrays the trust of the girl, or does something awful behind her back. This is the kind of guy you’d actually want to date in real life. 

When I read the synopsis, I felt a bit worried. This book has traumatic issues from the past, homophobia and stalkers. That sounds like a bit much, no? Yet it never felt that way. It never crowded the story, in my opinion.

The only thing I didn’t get is that Roxy didn’t tell anyone sooner about her apartment. When stuff starts moving around and your dishwasher is on even though you didn’t do it, how can you wait with telling anyone? How could you think it was a ghost? Seriously? 

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. Like I mentioned, this series consists of companion novels. And yes, characters from the previous books do appear in here. But if you don’t want to read those and skip to this one, you could definitely do so without missing out on anything in this story. 


forever with you

Forever With You (Wait For You #5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: 29.09.2015

Genre: New Adult, Romance
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

Synopsis: Some things you just believe in, even if you’ve never experienced them. For Stephanie, that list includes love. It’s out there. Somewhere. Eventually. Meanwhile she’s got her job at the mixed martial arts training center and hot flings with gorgeous, temporary guys like Nick. Then a secret brings them closer, opening Steph’s eyes to a future she never knew she wanted—until tragedy rips it away. Nick’s self-assured surface shields a past no one needs to know about. His mind-blowing connection with Steph changes all that. As fast as he’s knocking down the walls that have kept him commitment-free, she’s building them up again, determined to keep the hurt—and Nick—out. But he can’t walk away. Not when she’s the only one who’s ever made him wish for forever.

review

To be honest, I think this is my least favorite book of the series so far. Not because I didn’t like the writing or such. But because I couldn’t connect to the characters as much.

I am not like Stephanie. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t judge her. I feel like every person makes their own choices. And that’s fine. She enjoys hook-ups, but has never found a person she wants a relationship with. And as long as there are no illusions on either side, that’s great for her. It’s just that I am not like that. So it’s much harder for me to connect to her, than it was to Roxy. The same goes for Nick. I don’t actually know a guy like him. So it’s a bit harder to imagine I guess?

What I liked most about this book is that this situation seems a lot more relatable. I mean, not many people go through what Roxy went through. But many women/couples do go through this situation. And it’s good to see it represented in a book. 

Overall, I did enjoy their story. And I’m glad to have read it. Like I said, I would recommend this series to you if you like new adult. 

Leave a Reply

