Top Ten Tuesday: A Spring TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, the topic is “Spring TBR”. You may or may not know, that I am TERRIBLE with TBRs. I never read the full list -and I’ve only once managed to read half of it. So I’m changing the way I’m doing these seasonal TBRs. 

Here’s what I’m going to do: I’ll keep the books from the previous TBR I haven’t read on the new one, and introduce new books for the ones I’ve finished. For example, I’ve read 2 books from my winter TBR. So I’ll keep 8 of the Winter TBR on my Spring TBR, and choose 2 new ones. 

All of these books were on my winter to-be-read list, but I didn’t get to them… Oops.

Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1) by Sara Raasch // I’ve been meaning to read this YA fantasy book for quite a long time. People are so enthusiastic about it, and the concept sounds interesting to me. I already have a hard copy of this, so I should really get to it.

The Demon King (Seven Realms #1) by Cinda Williams Chima // Okay, this has probably been on my shelf for 2 years. I know, I’m ashamed of myself. To be honest, I’m afraid I won’t like it, because of all the great reviews I’ve seen (that makes sense in my head, I promise).

The Emperor’s Blades (Chronicles of the Unhewn Throne #1) by Brian Staveley // Again, this has been on my shelf since the summer. I love fantasy, and this is quite a well-known book/author. So why haven’t I picked it up?

The Way of Kings (Stormlight Archive #1) by Brandon Sanderson // I do finally have a hard copy of this on my shelf, which is even more reason to pick it up soon. I do love the works I’ve already read by Sanderson, so I’m intrigued by yet another fantasy world.

Wolf by Wolf (Wolf by Wolf #1) by Ryan Graudin // This book is everywhere. And I can’t deal with the fact that I haven’t read it yet.

The first 3 here are also from my winter to-read list. Like I said, I only managed to read 2 of the 10 books last season!

Air Awakens (Air Awakens #1) by Elise Kova // I’ve seen some pretty great reviews on this book and series, and the author seems like such a nice person (I based this opinion on her twitter account, sue me). So I want to read it!

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn #2) by Brandon Sanderson // Another Sanderson book. I loved the first book of this series, but I never continued. To be honest, I find it embarrassing. Why don’t I pick it up?

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson // I’ve read a few pages of this and laughed so hard. A humorous non-fiction book about depression? Sign me up. 

The Queen of the Tearling (Queen of the Tearling #1) by Erika Johansen // This book has been massively popular for a while now. So when I won a $5 gift card from Anya @ On Starships & Dragonwings, I decided to pick this one up.

The Black Company (Companies of the Black Company #1) by Glen Cook // I bought this one last month because it was quite cheap on Bookdepository and it’s quite the famous fantasy series. So excited to read it! 


So this is my Spring TBR! I hope I’ll actually pick some of these up this time. What’s on your to-read list this season?

33 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: A Spring TBR

  1. I loved the Demon King series, definitely worth a try 🙂 Snow Like Ashes and Queen of the Tearling have also been on my TBR for ages, I really should get to them! And of course The Well of Ascension – I loved the first book in the Mistborn trilogy and I have the full series on my shelves but for some reason I just did not get around to them yet 🙂
    My TTT: http://www.lindseyh.be/2016/03/15/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-on-my-spring-tbr/

    Like

  2. Air Awakens is awesome! I just read it about a month and a half ago and am hoping I feel like reading the next book soon because I’m very excited for it. And it’s great that the author seems nice. I hope you get to it soon and that you enjoy it!

    My TTT

    Like

  3. Oh, you’re going to love Furiously Happy. It was so funny. ♥

    Also, yes, go read some Sanderson. Snow Like Ashes can wait. 😉

    Like

  4. Snow Like Ashes has been on my to be read list for so long now! I agree, everyone seems to really like it, so I feel I need to read this at some point.

    The Queen of the Tearling was really interesting, it was a lot like A Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. I’ve been meaning to read the second book for a while now, ironically I can’t quite remember what happened in the first book since I read it so long a go…

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Like

  5. I think I have the Queen of the Tearling and Wolf by Wolf – want to read both, but haven’t yet. Even the cover of Furiously Happy makes me laugh! I definitely have to check that one out! Here’s my list: TTT

    Like

  6. Looks like your going to have a fun Spring! Some great fantasy choices here. I loved Queen of the Tearling so I hope you get to read that one soon and I don’t think you can ever go wrong with a Brandon Sanderson book! I’ve seen a lot of Wolf by Wolf recently so I’ll be interested in seeing what you make of it.

    Great list
    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune.co.uk

    Like

  7. I’ve never read Sanderson and should at some point, I guess. 🙂 And The Queen of the Tearling I want to read, I read the sample at Amazon and thought it sounded really good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

