Review: Warrior Witch

This is a spoiler free review (even for those who haven’t read the previous book).

warrior witch

Warrior Witch (Malediction #3) by Danielle L. Jensen
Publication: 03.05.2016 by Angry Robot

Genre: Fantasy, YA
Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

I received this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. 

I won’t provide a synopsis for this book, as it will spoil you for the previous novels.

review

Last year, I received an e-arc of Hidden Huntress, the second book in the trilogy -and absolutely loved it. I’d been looking forward to the last book, Warrior Witch, ever since. You can imagine my excitement when I got approved for this one on Netgalley. 4 days after being approved, I’m writing my review. I have to say, I was a tad afraid when starting this book, because I didn’t want to be disappointed. As I loved the first 2 books so much, I had quite high expectations for this one. I had no reason to be though. Warrior Witch turned out to be my favorite book in the trilogy. 

PLOT

Can I just say that shit went down in this book? Because it did. A LOT happens in this novel, let me tell you. It’s action scene after action scene, plan and scheme after plan and scheme. Yet it never felt like too much to me. It still flowed beautifully, which made for a captivating read. I read this in two sittings, and I only put it down because I had to get off a train and go home (which you can’t do while reading, trust me). 

This book felt like a roller coaster to me, in the best way possible. So many emotions were felt on my part. I loved how Jensen managed to throw me off still by revealing aspects about certain characters. How she managed to change my mind on characters I felt very strongly about. 

In my opinion, this is a great example of a final book done right. I wasn’t left with any questions -just with a 10 liter bucket of emotions

CHARACTERS

Like I said, the author managed to change my mind on many of the characters. Once I hated prior to this book, I now felt sympathy or pity for. Once I felt “meh” about, I now loved. Such as Sabine. Man, I love her.

I have so much love for many of the characters in this series. I feel like I can’t say much without spoiling, but the character development in this trilogy is incredible. Not just for the main characters either. I really felt for many of the side characters too, because Jensen portrayed them incredibly well. It’s really important to me that side characters are fleshed out too, because it makes the story and the main characters’ journey seem that much more realistic? For example, Sabine, Victoria and Vincent, Marc, Thibault, Roland and so on. All of these side characters are detrimental to the story. 

I’ll give you some of my main findings. Roland creeps the hell out of me. Stay away, you psychotic child. Tristan needs a hug. Everyone needs a hug. Aside from Roland because then you have to get close.

Lastly, can I just say: THAT ENDING. When I reached about 96% in the Kindle copy, I was like: WHAT. EXCUSE ME. WHAT? I do think it’s a fitting ending though. Like I said, a great wrap up of the story overall. 

Danielle L. Jensen, I am looking forward to reading your next works.

7 thoughts on “Review: Warrior Witch

Leave a Reply

